We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Chill Place Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Save Saved
You added Arnott's Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnott's Lodge
98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Wasilla
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most Chill Place Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This place rocks! During our camping trip in Hawaii this place was a god send! Warm showers, laundry, and clean facilities. We did not rent a room, only a camping spot. We stopped here twice in 7 days. Walk down to the end of the road and you will find a hidden little gym of a beach. Hospitality is great here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review!! We are glad to hear that you camp at Arnott's twice. We have an array of accommodations from tenting, dormitories, semi-private, suites, deluxe and deluxe suites. And we continue to upgrade our units constantly. Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures have been in business fro 22 years and we strive to always upgrade and improve our facilities. We've just added a new Ipad kiosk for quick email and web searches for our guests.

We are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the beauty of our location. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    74
    24
    12
    29
See reviews for
37
59
53
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in March, and while the season may have been responsible for the slight lack of atmosphere, our stay was perfectly nice.

We got a good deal in the end because no other guests stayed in our apartment, which had two double rooms, so we had the kitchen and living area to ourselves. The living space was clean and had everything we needed to cater for ourselves.

The lodge is quiet and peaceful, near the beach, with bicycle hire if you fancy a day of exploring the local area. We had rented a car and there was a space for us every time.

The staff were polite and able to answer every enquiry, and well-informed about tours and the area.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Aloha Charsley!! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Arnott's Lodge.

You were fortunate to have the unit to yourself as when it's busy you would have met other travelers. We are glad that you had a restful time and that you got to experience the pace of Hilo. Our location is prime with walking distance and bike rides to whales, turtles and monk seals (if you're lucky).

Thanks for recommending Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures to others. We hope to see you again your next trip to the Big Island of Hawaii. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just as warm and friendly as the first time I visited, 17 years ago! Staff are great, the kitchen was clean and stocked as expected for hostel-type accommodations. I'm glad that Doug's operations have expanded to include more tours with more vans, which remain great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Oakland!! Thanks for the wonderful review!! We were privileged to have you come back after 17 years!!!! Doug and his team continues to expand and see how we can better serve our guests and those that are wanting to have an adventure. Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures also does custom tours in addition to our regular tours that we provide. We understand that travelers are here for a short amount of time therefore we will do our best to accommodate their travel needs.

Hopefully we'll see you sooner than 17 years!! Aloha and Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

after spending 3 days in hectic Honolulu, this was such an amazing break, relax, beach 1 block away, a few beers in a nice place. Very nice. The bathroom was far better than usual hostels. And the reception girls were really kind and most helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Oliver!! Thanks for an awesome review. I'm glad you were able to relax and chill at Arnott's Lodge. Big Island pace is a lot slower then Oahu and that's why we love it!! We can't complain with our location and the numerous outlets to different beaches. You can't find a place like Hilo elsewhere nor can you find a place like Arnott's Lodge. We've made some upgrades in our dormitories and continue to make some changes. Thanks for the compliments on our front desk staff. They're doing a great job and they're a great team that I'm so proud of.

We hope to see you again soon Oliver. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay here. We needed a room on hilo side for one night to see volcano at night. Staff was very friendly and room was economical and clean. This is a "no frills" establishment, but was comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Delaware!! Thanks for taking the time in reviewing Arnott's Lodge.

Yes, we are a "no frills" establishment but conscientious of the needs of our guests. We are aware that connecting with friends and family and organizing travel plans are important therefore we provide FREE WIFI, fresh bananas when available and air condition and kitchenettes in our units. In addition, we provide tours for our guests at guests rate!!! What other hotel offers that??

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 9 nights in the Deluxe suite ($75 plus tax). I don't understand the negative comments re. staff as we found everyone to be meticulous and helpful. Our room was clean and the grounds adequately kept ... as a home base it suited our needs beautifully. All the sites of interest to us - Mauna Kea (discounted tour if you spend a couple of days here), lava flowing into the ocean (amazing sight), lovely coastal driving on a full moon night, were close at hand. Multiple thanks to staff - I spoke to Lena and a big thanks to the cleaners - for finding my apartment keys!

Although Hilo is apparently the rainiest city in the US at 132 inches we saw very little in Feb/March. The town is old style (slower) Hawaii as opposed to Kona on the drier (30 inches or so) western side (an approx. 2 hour drive over Saddle Road). The farmers market was great on Wed and Sat with the occasional vendor during other days. Moonstruck Patisseries (open Sun - Wed) was brilliant for a European breakfast - croissants, cakes (no bread) bar none! I lived 10 years in Europe and my wife is Hungarian - this place is the real deal!

The really astonishing impression I got of the big island of Hawaii was the dearth of overt policing unlike in so much of the mainland US where the heavy hand of "security" can be uncomfortable. Oh and now I know where all the aging hippies went ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Vancouver!! Thanks for your positive review and choosing us during your stay in Hilo. Our staff strive to make your stay special and assist in sharing with our guests sights to see on the island.

Thanks for sharing your experience with the Moonstruck Patisseries. I've heard good things about them but haven't tried it. I'll check it out this weekend.

We hope to see you soon at Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Our hula group housed 58 people here comfortably. There was plenty of space for our catered meals. The staff was friendly. The Arnott's were very welcoming. Mahalo.
The location is very convenient for Hilo town, several beach areas and to drive to Volcano.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha Ammakauai!! Thanks for the excellent review!! It was a pleasure hosting your hula group at Arnott's Lodge and mahalo for the wonderful performance at the Palace Theater. We enjoyed the nights of music, laughter and sneak peeks of your hula practices at the lodge. It's nice to see Arnott's Lodge liven up with your energy and spirit. We wish your halau all the best and we hope to see your halau soon in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Address: 98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for tenters. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea and Volcanoes National Park. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnott's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.