We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our large group!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Save Saved
You added Arnott's Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnott's Lodge
98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for our large group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Our hula group housed 58 people here comfortably. There was plenty of space for our catered meals. The staff was friendly. The Arnott's were very welcoming. Mahalo.
The location is very convenient for Hilo town, several beach areas and to drive to Volcano.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha Ammakauai!! Thanks for the excellent review!! It was a pleasure hosting your hula group at Arnott's Lodge and mahalo for the wonderful performance at the Palace Theater. We enjoyed the nights of music, laughter and sneak peeks of your hula practices at the lodge. It's nice to see Arnott's Lodge liven up with your energy and spirit. We wish your halau all the best and we hope to see your halau soon in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    74
    26
    12
    29
See reviews for
38
60
54
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had an amazing time at Arnotts!! I highly recommend it and I will definitely return!

Lodgings:
Arnotts offers a variety of lodging options at a very reasonable price. Those who are accustomed to staying at Hostels will consider Arnotts a definite step up. I had a private dorm room and it was a really great place to unwind from all of my Big Island adventures - quiet, clean and comfortable. Bathroom is clean and well-designed. The Kitchen was also kept clean and came in very handy with all of the great local organic produce available in Hilo.

Staff:
I'm reluctant to call them 'staff'; I think 'ohana' (family) is more appropriate. All the staff are super friendly. Doug, Gloria and Dino really made me feel like part of the fold. My big tip is to get to know the staff well - they are full of great advice and have such interesting stories to share if you're willing to listen. Special mention to Leena for being the most cheery and helpful person on the planet. She fielded my incessant questions with a genuine smile and a frankness that one will only find in Hilo.

Tours and Adventures:
This is where the Arnotts team really excels! I did three tours: Mauna Kea, Valleys and Volcano. I can't fault any of them. The tour guides really know their stuff and are awesome people too! Also, if you let them know what kind of stuff you'd like to see, they are always willing to give you advice. I particularly enjoyed my customised adventure tour, lead by the adventurous Lauren.

Overall, Arnotts is a great place to be if you're open to adventure and meeting wonderful people. I will definitely look them up when I'm back in Hilo.

Mahalo!!
Artie.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha Artie!! Mahalo, for your positive review. It was a pleasure meeting you as well and thanks for choosing Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures for your accommodation and tour experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the future with your family and friends.

We were touched that you called us your "ohana" as we strive to treat our guests as family and make them feel at home.

Thanks for acknowledging our fine team and yes, they are filled with knowledge about the island. Some of us have made Big Island their home for 10-30 years and there are some on our team that was born and raised on the island so talking to our local staff can prep you to what you really want to see. Lena, was born and raised on the island and Lauren is originally from CT but LOVES Hawaii.

We are glad you took all of our tours!! We take pride in our guides and their passion and knowledge in sharing about the Big Island. By taking all tours you got a sense of what the east side of the island has to offer. Of course you can always rent a car and do it on your own but why not have a local guide that can offer insight and adventure on your tour? And yes, we can also customize your tour to your time and needs.

Artie, we look forward to your next adventure with us at Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures. We wish you all the best in your career in AUS. Aloha and Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights. It was pretty empty when we were here, however we did not feel welcome by the management. We got the feeling that they would rather not have anyone stay so we left sooner than expected...and it felt great to leave. Everywhere else we stayed everyone was so friendly. Don't know what their problem was! Can't say I will ever be back. You want to feel like your welcome...and you will not get that feeling here!

Room Tip: Prepare to be ripped off, especially if you are a "main-lander"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Danny, it's unfortunate that you felt that way at Arnott's Lodge. I'm not sure what the problem was but we don't treat anyone differently if a guest comes from Timbuktu, Brazil, Australia or Maui nor do we raise the price for "mainlanders" or try to rip them off. Our prices are one of the lowest in Hilo!!

We're very surprised by this review as we go out of our way to make our guests welcome and without knowing the circumstances we are unable to give a specific response however in general whether full or in a lull we try to make every guests welcome and wonder if there was not some special circumstance that you did not advise us about. As you can see by other reviews we are normally given a top rating and like to have enough specifics of any problem so that we can make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here two separate times when I was visiting with my buddy. We stayed in the semi private room as the deluxe room was sold out on both visit. The rooms are super clean, bathroom and kitchen is newly renovated. Checkin was painless and the staff are very helpful.

The location of the hostel is great, it is about 10min drive from Hilo Airport. Since I don't feel comfortable staying in downtown Hilo (downtown hilo is a little sketchy at night) so this is perfect. The only complain i have is the bed during the first visit, the mattress feel a little weird.. kinda like sleeping on a layer of plastic.

I would recommend staying here if you ever visit Hilo, and make sure you check out Richardson ocean park, nice spot to see turtles and occasionally the Hawaiian monk seal if you are lucky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Toronto!! Thanks for choosing to stay with us twice on your visit to Hilo. Our deluxe units are our most popular accommodation but I'm glad we were able to accommodate you with our semi-private units. We recently added air condition in a few of our semi-private rooms.

Thanks for your feedback on the comfort of the bed. I will look into it. We've been getting new mattresses for some of our units.

Arnott's Lodge is located in a beautiful area along the coast. This is whale season for us and you can see them from shore and we can't forget the turtles!!

We hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a delightful surrprise to open the sliding glass door in my Deluxe room to hear the ocean pounding the shore. Unfortunately, due to the high humidity, I had to close the door and turn on the A/C to sleep comfortably. Nice to see the in-room coffee pot for the morning. Also a mini refrigerator. The bed was extremely comfortable! Small shower stall, but it was fine. Loved the Tea Tree Oil body wash. I just needed a one-night stay before continuing onto the south of the island.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5 and it was great for one person. No chair or desk, but there was a plastic table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha to our friend from Albuquerque!! Mahalo for writing a review on Arnott's Lodge. Hearing the sound of the ocean are one of the wonders of staying at Arnott's Lodge. I'm glad you enjoyed the Kona coffee and tea tree body wash. There are some deluxe units that are slightly bigger and has table and chairs in them. Deluxe 3, 5 and 6 are our smaller deluxe units. All of our deluxe units includes air condition. We hope to see you again on your next stay in Hilo!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here expecting a clean bedroom and no frills--which we got.

Some things i remember:
-Check in was smooth and people were very nice and helpful
-This place is close to the airport and is also a great place (it seems) for backpackers so noise levels are high.
-There are hawaiian style windows so we were woken up at 5 am by someone living below us (OK--it happens...)
-The beds are lined with some sort of sanitary cover which is probably great for cleanliness but which is less than comfortable to sleep on
-The furniture is very "hardy" which also is great for cleanliness but not very nice

Overall an average stay as expected. Great for backpackers who just need a bed. Not recommended for couples with very small kids.

Note that check out is at 10am. A little early I think.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha snabelfisk, thanks for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge. We are glad that your expectations were met. We are a no frills lodge made for guests to have a nice, pleasant stay without paying an arm and a leg. We are sorry you were woken at 5am but as you noted this can happen anywhere, we are strict about our 10:30pm- 7:30am noise curfew and not being a "party" hotel as stated on our website. The lodge can get a bit noisy when we are full and when guests need to leave in the morning for their early flights. We are sorry you found our bedding less than satisfactory however in this business we provide mattress pads/covers for our beds.

We've had numerous families stay with us and would request a folding mattress for the floor or would book a 1BR or 2BR suite so that families could have the suites to themselves. We renovated majority of our bathrooms and kitchenettes and will be working on furniture soon. We hope to see you and your family soon in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at Arnotts Lodge It is a great place to stay. Is close to the ocean and to downtown Hilo. Rooms were clean, the staff was veryyyy helpful. We arrived under a lot of rain and the receptionist at front desk made a very nice colorful map so we could find a place to eat.
Having breakfast with the rain faling and he birds singing made my mornngs unforgettable.
I definetely recomend Arnott's Lodge

Room Tip: Rooms at upper level have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha to our friends from LA. Mahalo for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The colorful map was made by one of our front desk staff, Lauren. We are located within walking distance to the ocean and not too far from downtown. Hearing the morning birds, the sound of the ocean and the rain is what makes Arnott's Lodge the place to stay when you're in Hilo. We hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Address: 98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for tenters. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea and Volcanoes National Park. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnott's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.