We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arnott's Lodge to your Saves list
Arnott's Lodge
98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here two separate times when I was visiting with my buddy. We stayed in the semi private room as the deluxe room was sold out on both visit. The rooms are super clean, bathroom and kitchen is newly renovated. Checkin was painless and the staff are very helpful.

The location of the hostel is great, it is about 10min drive from Hilo Airport. Since I don't feel comfortable staying in downtown Hilo (downtown hilo is a little sketchy at night) so this is perfect. The only complain i have is the bed during the first visit, the mattress feel a little weird.. kinda like sleeping on a layer of plastic.

I would recommend staying here if you ever visit Hilo, and make sure you check out Richardson ocean park, nice spot to see turtles and occasionally the Hawaiian monk seal if you are lucky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Toronto!! Thanks for choosing to stay with us twice on your visit to Hilo. Our deluxe units are our most popular accommodation but I'm glad we were able to accommodate you with our semi-private units. We recently added air condition in a few of our semi-private rooms.

Thanks for your feedback on the comfort of the bed. I will look into it. We've been getting new mattresses for some of our units.

Arnott's Lodge is located in a beautiful area along the coast. This is whale season for us and you can see them from shore and we can't forget the turtles!!

We hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    80
    26
    13
    29
See reviews for
39
64
57
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a delightful surrprise to open the sliding glass door in my Deluxe room to hear the ocean pounding the shore. Unfortunately, due to the high humidity, I had to close the door and turn on the A/C to sleep comfortably. Nice to see the in-room coffee pot for the morning. Also a mini refrigerator. The bed was extremely comfortable! Small shower stall, but it was fine. Loved the Tea Tree Oil body wash. I just needed a one-night stay before continuing onto the south of the island.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5 and it was great for one person. No chair or desk, but there was a plastic table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha to our friend from Albuquerque!! Mahalo for writing a review on Arnott's Lodge. Hearing the sound of the ocean are one of the wonders of staying at Arnott's Lodge. I'm glad you enjoyed the Kona coffee and tea tree body wash. There are some deluxe units that are slightly bigger and has table and chairs in them. Deluxe 3, 5 and 6 are our smaller deluxe units. All of our deluxe units includes air condition. We hope to see you again on your next stay in Hilo!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here expecting a clean bedroom and no frills--which we got.

Some things i remember:
-Check in was smooth and people were very nice and helpful
-This place is close to the airport and is also a great place (it seems) for backpackers so noise levels are high.
-There are hawaiian style windows so we were woken up at 5 am by someone living below us (OK--it happens...)
-The beds are lined with some sort of sanitary cover which is probably great for cleanliness but which is less than comfortable to sleep on
-The furniture is very "hardy" which also is great for cleanliness but not very nice

Overall an average stay as expected. Great for backpackers who just need a bed. Not recommended for couples with very small kids.

Note that check out is at 10am. A little early I think.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha snabelfisk, thanks for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge. We are glad that your expectations were met. We are a no frills lodge made for guests to have a nice, pleasant stay without paying an arm and a leg. We are sorry you were woken at 5am but as you noted this can happen anywhere, we are strict about our 10:30pm- 7:30am noise curfew and not being a "party" hotel as stated on our website. The lodge can get a bit noisy when we are full and when guests need to leave in the morning for their early flights. We are sorry you found our bedding less than satisfactory however in this business we provide mattress pads/covers for our beds.

We've had numerous families stay with us and would request a folding mattress for the floor or would book a 1BR or 2BR suite so that families could have the suites to themselves. We renovated majority of our bathrooms and kitchenettes and will be working on furniture soon. We hope to see you and your family soon in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at Arnotts Lodge It is a great place to stay. Is close to the ocean and to downtown Hilo. Rooms were clean, the staff was veryyyy helpful. We arrived under a lot of rain and the receptionist at front desk made a very nice colorful map so we could find a place to eat.
Having breakfast with the rain faling and he birds singing made my mornngs unforgettable.
I definetely recomend Arnott's Lodge

Room Tip: Rooms at upper level have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha to our friends from LA. Mahalo for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The colorful map was made by one of our front desk staff, Lauren. We are located within walking distance to the ocean and not too far from downtown. Hearing the morning birds, the sound of the ocean and the rain is what makes Arnott's Lodge the place to stay when you're in Hilo. We hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed to spend 6 days here and we'll come back once more!
Clean, calm, well located, friendly, nice place to stay. They have good kitchen and laundry facilities and free access to internet.
They also organized our visit Manua Kea, many cultural informations and cool guide, nice experience!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Rapperswil, Switzerland!! Mahalo for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures. We appreciate your stay with us and glad to hear that you will be returning to us soon. We have a lot of repeat guests that return and stay with us and with upgrades ocurring frequently there is always something new at Arnott's.

We are happy that you also took our Mauna Kea tour. Mauna Kea Sunset/Stargazing is one of our most popular tours. We also do custom sunrise and daytime tours as well. See you and your family soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Arnott's lodge is a great place to stay in Hilo, possibly the best for travels on a budget. It was safe, clean, and VERY affordable. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I only stayed one night, but it seems like the lodge would make a nice base for a few days on the big island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Austin, Texas. Mahalo for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge!

Yes, we are an affordable lodge that caters to all types of travelers. We have tent space, dormitories, semi-privates, suites, deluxe units (with air condition) and our newest category deluxe suite. We are a clean, simple, affordable lodge that caters to every travelers needs. Free wifi, a TV room (with HBO) free computer for you to use, walking distance to couple beaches and bike rentals.

I know that there were other hotels/hostels that you could've chosen but we appreciate YOU having chose us!! We hope to see you again soon in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was a great, clean hotel. We had an excellent stay here. We stayed for one night during our visit to Hilo and Mauna Kea. The hotel and room were clean, very comfortable, and economical. The hotel is located near the ocean, and we walked to to a nearby beach park. It was great to walk around and see the turtles in the beach park.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is somewhat far away from the downtown area, but it didn't bother us much. We loved the rural surroundings and the ocean beaches (though rocky, not much of sand) nearby.

Overall, it was a great hotel, great stay and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha to our friend from San Jose, CA!! Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you had an excellent stay at Arnott's Lodge. One must see the turtles in Keaukaha and swim in this area. Carlsmith Beach is one that has a sandy bottom, awesome for swimming. Although the path to the swimming spot is lava. This is one of my favorite spots to have a dip on a hot sunny day.

Arnott's Lodge is about a 5-7 minute drive to downtown by car. But we also have our hourly public buses that run everyday except Sundays and holidays from 7:00 am-4:00-5:00 pm for just a $1.00!! You can also rent our bikes that range from $7-$20 a day (guest rate). Non guests bike rentals are from $14-$40 a day. Our staff strive to make your stay comfortable and pleasant.

I'm proud of the staff that we have which consists of housekeepers, front desk staff, maintenance, mechanic and tour drivers. They continue to do an awesome job!! And I'm glad that they are representing Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures. We hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Address: 98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for tenters. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea and Volcanoes National Park. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnott's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.