We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arnott's Lodge to your Saves list
Arnott's Lodge
98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is an awesome place. If you want a nice, clean place with friendly people this is it. We stayed in the private deluxe room with private bath. The price was reasonable. They provided sheets (the bed was already made) and towels. The room had a small fridge and an AC, shared kitchen with supplies for cooking (pots, pans, dishes, stove, microwave and toaster, etc.) and a shared living room with lots of books (if a person wanted to read) and it was smoke free! There was laundry facilities, a smoking area, and a hang out room with a large TV (I never saw anyone actually watching TV). We ran into only a few people and exchanged ideas of places to visit. The staff was very friendly and answered all sorts of questions. We did the "top of the mountain" tour and really enjoyed that. Our tour guide David was very knowledgeable about the area, the observatory and area history. Bottom line - if you want a clean nice place to stay while you play, this is it. If you want people to make your bed and take more of your money then go somewhere else. And yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are smoke free rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your positive comments. We aim to provide quality rooms and great customer service at Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures. I'm glad you were able to take our Mauna Kea Sunset/Stargazing Tour as we are the only tour operator on the East side of the island that has a Mauna Kea permit. We also started doing custom tours for those that are here in Hilo for a short amount of time and would like to see as much as they can.

Yes, our rooms are non-smoking but we do provide a designated smoking area. Let's not forget our wifi that is free to our guests. Mahalo for taking the time in writing this review. We look forward to seeing you in the future and making your next stay as great as the last. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    80
    26
    13
    29
See reviews for
39
64
57
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I did not mind staying here for a week, it was cheap, but no way my wife would stay here with me, and if there is 2 people it's better to get a hotel room anyway, if your single, and can put up with a lot of noise and a very strange owner, you will save money, tenting is $10 (or $11) per person, so again, 1 person it's cheap, showers are very gross for tenters. I stayed in a dorm room, but I was the only person, if there had been more people in the room I would not have liked it.

Very strange people hang out at this place, but I liked that, again, my wife would have been uncomfortable, all in all I enjoyed this place, but it is not for everyone, it is out of the way, you really need a car of your staying here

Room Tip: owner is very moody
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your feedback. Arnott's Lodge is not for everyone but those that appreciate a unique Hawaiian setting away from downtown traffic. We were curious about your comment that your wife might not like to stay here as you chose our minimum priced male dormitory whereas we have several additional classes of accommodation including our deluxe units across the street which account for much of our #2 TripAdvisor rating for Hilo. Of course minimum price dormitiories will attract a different demographic than would either our semi-private or deluxe units.

Many travelers come to Arnott's Lodge to meet people and talk about their latest adventures. Not everyone can possibly appeal to everyone else and as we encourage a one week turnover any bad apples are quickly moved along.

Seeing all of Big Island does require a vehicle if you are wanting to see the island extensively however it is hard to consider Arnott's Lodge "out of the way" with hourly bus service or inexpensive bicycles. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room, which had its own bathroom and a small refrigerator, a shared kitchen and living room. We rarely saw anyone else, and managed to microwave our oatmeal and reheat dinners. They had laundry facilities, and provided the detergent for you. Good chance to chat with others on the patio to get travel tips.I went on their tour to Mauna Kea--you can't go on your own without a four wheel drive vehicle--very well done, awesome stargazing, Dave incredibly knowledgeable.

The staff, especially Christy, was incredibly helpful, going as far as to bring in their scale from home to let me weigh my suitcase before departing. The excellent prices allowed us to save money so we could splurge on a helicopter trip to the volcano!!

We went to the Kona side for a few days, and chose to come back to Arnotts Lodge for the last few days of our trip--excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Hilo and came back to Arnott's Lodge at the last leg of your trip. We aim to provide our guests a nice place to stay at a budget price. We are happy that you enjoyed our Mauna Kea tour as well. We will relay your positive comments to Dave and Christy. We hope that you will visit us in Hilo in the near future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Arnott's in March, 2012. I booked our reservation without consulting Trip Advisor or any similar site. We were only staying in Hilo for four days, and wanted to take the Mauna Kea guided tour and the Volcanoes tour, so it made sense to stay in or near Hilo. As we were departing Maui for the Big Island, my wife checked the place out online, and found some scary, negative reviews (along with some good reviews), so we checked in with some trepidation. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the 'deluxe' rooms that share a common kitchen with four other rooms. It's not the most private accomodation - if people are using the common room, you can hear them plainly. But everyone was very friendly and considerate, and it worked very well. We met some good people. The room itself has a small refrigerator and small, but adequate bathroom with shower. The location is a bit out of the way, but the neighborhood is nice and it's a short distance from town and from an excellent local park along the shore that only the locals (who are unfailingly friendly) seem to know about.

The tours were very good, and we were impressed with the way the staff handled them. I had screwed up the date for the Mauna Kea tour when I booked it. They held the bus for us as long as they could, but we didn't show, thinking it was another day. They rescheduled us when we got back to the hotel, and didn't charge us for the error, which they certainly could have. The Mauna Kea tour was excellent. The guide was Eldridge, who is extraordinarily knowledgable. The stargazing portion of the tour was great. Their tour is far cheaper than any other operator. The only difference that I could see is that the van is a bit older and has smaller windows than the others, but was still very comfortable; and that, instead of a box lunch being provided, we stopped at a 7/11 along the way, and bought our own food. I actually prefer that to some sandwich made hours before.

The Volcanoes tour was also impressive. It turns out that I was the only person who signed up for that day. They didn't cancel the tour. In fact, they contacted me and told me that, since I was the only one going, that we'd leave whenever I wanted to, and go where I wanted to go. The tour guide was Yoko. She was so happy that the tour wasn't cancelled, that she bought me breakfast - it was only the drive-through at Jack-in-the-Box, but it included one of the best cups of coffee I've ever had.

All in all, Arnott's is a very good bargain, especially if you want to take any of the tours. Mauna Kea, Volcanoes Park and the waterfalls and rain forests are much closer to Hilo than to Kona. Hilo is not the deluxe side of the Island, and it can be rainy. But you get a great vibe from being in a part of the Island that's not dominated by tourists and resorts.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We appreciate your faith in our most recent reviews as we have striven mightily to upgrade and refurbish every aspect of our lodge to reflect our #2 rating in Hilo on Trip Advisor. The negative reviews of the past were our incentive to provide a superior product and constantly improve it so that all future reviews are positive, as yours turned out to be. Having several different classes of accommodation and tours means we have to be on our toes to try to please everyone and our reviews reflect that we are achieving this aim.

Hilo is not as touristy as the west side of the island. But we are the closest city to the Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea and waterfalls. We provide discounted rates for our tours for a 2 night minimum stay at Arnott's Lodge. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Island.of Hawaii. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for one night in July, in the deluxe room, with a private bath. A good size room, bed was comfortable. However, as soon as we arrive and sat on the bed, something made us itch! We finally realized it was the comforter, it must have been stored next to insulation or something like that. Once we removed it we were fine the rest of the night. We took the Mauna Kea Sunset and Stargazing tour, Daniel was our tour guide. We can't say enough good things about him, he was very informative, he knew a lot about the island as he grew up there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your comments. We apologize that the comforter caused you to feel itchy. If we would've known this then we would've happily given a new one as we are regularly replacing linens at guests request. We are glad that you enjoyed our Mauna Kea tour with Daniel. He is a knowledgeable guide that has been with Arnott's for almost 6 years and continues to enjoy sharing the Big Island with visitors. Mahalo again for your review. We hope to see you again on your future stay here in Hilo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while traveling by myself on the Big Island. I stayed in a private room in their dorms. This is listed on their website as private lockable dorm room for $40/night. Their rooms are simple but clean. In the dorms, they provide you linen and towels and then you make up the beds yourself. The shared bathroom was also very clean. I did not spend much time in my room or at the hotel as my trip was pretty booked, but found the hotel staff friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located a bit far from the center of town if you do not have a car. I rented a car and found that the location was very convient when driving. There was ample free parkign on site.

Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a simple and clean place to stay on a busy trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. Thanks for choosing Arnott's Lodge for your stay in Hilo. We clean our dorms daily due to the popularity and the price of those rooms. We are about a 5-7 minute car ride from Arnott's Lodge to downtown Hilo, 15 minutes by the hourly $1.00 County Bus and 30 minutes by bike. We hope to see you again in the future on your next trip to the Big Island of Hawaii. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I camped here for just over $11/night. The location is far from the city center, so you would need a car to stay here. All of the common areas (tv room, dining area, bathrooms) are outside, so bring mosquito repellant. Because the showers available to campers are outside and there is only a cloth curtain for privacy, you will need to shower in a swimming suit (the wind blows the curtain open). I found the absence of plumbing to be a bit gross; the gray water from the showers and sink drain onto the rock walkway, so you end up walking in whatever was spit into the sink. All of the areas available to campers were extremely clean, the staff was friendly and the kitchen was well equipped. They have an excessive number of signs with rules, the strangest was a sign requiring campers who snore to get a room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. Doug Arnott our owner would like to respond to your comments. Our showers and toilet facilities are truly second to none for tenters on the Big Island. The choice to put gray water back into the ground is an important part of ecotourism and this is the first comment we've had have on this matter. We are considering weights on the shower curtains although again our facility at least has curtains as most others don't. Where in Hawaii can you have full use of hot showers, flushing toilets, free wifi and computer, HBO and washer/dryer facilities all for $10 a night? The reason we ask for snorers to take a room is we've had one person keep the entire tent ground awake and so we consider this a reasonable request. Mahalo again for your review. We will take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Address: 98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for tenters. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea and Volcanoes National Park. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnott's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.