We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilo Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Wi-Fi, NO RESORT FEE
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
BabyBoomer56
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great Hilo hotel. Staff very accommodating. Property is a bit dated, but high end resorts is not what Hilo is about. Stayed for one week with hubby and had a great time. Our room had a small lanai that over looked the drop dead fish pond. I've been to a few other hotels in Hilo, and this is my favorite. We will be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    204
    175
    58
    31
See reviews for
97
241
50
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel for one night. We were not looking for anything with frills, just a clean place to sleep and shower, before continuing on the next morning. The hotel is very cute and clean, just a little dated. It was great for a one night stay, and if staying in the Hilo area longer, it would not be a bad place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of June. It was very clean, inexpensive and comfortable, with a great location. We were within walking distance of several restaurants – delicious Mexican food at Pond’s and abundant breakfasts at Ken’s – but the best meal we had was right at the hotel, at the Coconut Grille. The hotel is at a busy intersection so there is traffic noise, but we enjoyed time on our lanai overlooking the bay, a small beach and the hotel's large, well-stocked koi pond. We watched planes land at the nearby airport. We walked along Banyan Drive past Liliuokalani Gardens and all of the immense banyans, watching local fishermen at the pier. Our first day in the rainiest city in the US was completely sunny and dry, but we did experience the warm misty rain eventually. Hilo has a nice little downtown area, and it’s big enough to have all of the conveniences of a city. We used it as our base to visit Mauna Kea, Rainbow Falls and Akaka Falls. I recommend the Hilo Seaside and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room was nice. Be aware that there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I will admit that when I first drove by the hotel (too early to check in), I was worried. But honestly, nothing in Hilo looked very nice. :(

The hotel allowed me to check in 2 hours early... and that made me super happy. The lady working the registration desk was very friendly and cheerful. In fact, every time I walked by the desk, whoever was working was super friendly. It made me feel welcome.

My room was pleasant. It was very clean. Understand that this is an older hotel... so I was expecting grime or just bad stuff. But everything worked perfectly, there was no grime anywhere, the bathroom was one of the cleanest bathrooms I've ever had in a hotel. They even have a cover over the drain that catches your hair so they can clean it out and prevent clogging. Perfect!!!

My room was also situated right by the pond, so I had the sound of running water...lovely. I was a little concerned that it might be too loud at night. But surprise! They turn the running water off! :) Perfect!

The room had an air conditioner that cooled the room nicely. I loved the balcony. I just really liked this little hotel.

There is also a restaurant onsite that is pretty good. Happy hour until 6pm, so I got some cheap beers and appetizers. The main entrees were pretty good too.

Room Tip: I didn't get to choose my room. It was ocean side and was noisy from the people enjoying the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Customer Service was outstanding. On the fourth of July weekend, I was traveling with a family member needing an accessible room. For this years trip, we tried a different room than we normally book. When that room did not work out for us, Karleen at the front desk was able to move us to a room that suited our needs despite a very busy weekend. She and the rest of the staff at this hotel are the true embodiment of the Aloha spirit! They made us feel right at home.

Regarding noise:The Hotel is not far from the airport so you may hear an occasional Hawaiian Air Boeing 717 flight overhead during the day. There are not that many flights into Hilo, so I wouldn't really worry too much about that. Unlike the other Hotels off Banyan Drive, you will not have to worry about the Coqui frogs keeping you up all night.
Despite the age of this hotel, the rooms have been well maintained are quite pleasant.Each room has a coffee maker and small refrigerator for your convenience. Because of the older design. there are some quirks in the placement of the light switches, but all in all the rooms provide great value for your stay.

The Coconut Grille restaurant located off the Hotel lobby.is one of the best restaurants in the area. The wait staff are fast & friendly. The food is excellent and you can taste the love and care the chef puts into each and every dish. If you love omelets in the morning, then their seafood omelet is jam packed with scrumptious shrimp and crabmeat. The prime omelet is equally jam packed with tender and juicy chunks of slow roasted prime rib that when combined with fluffy eggs, onions and mushrooms, is a flavor explosion of joy that is not only delicious but also should satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Don't overlook their heavenly banana bread, sweet bread french toast along with their other breakfast offerings. Their lunch and dinner offerings are equally delicious and satisfying.

As of this visit, they now offer free wi-fi internet access. Connection instructions are given to you at check in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were only here for one night. The rooms are very clean. Get a room on the fern hall or by the pool. Both have peaceful views. The pool area is very nice. It is near the airport, so you do hear the planes. All in all, great place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

On vacation, we don't spend our time in the hotel -- there's too much to see and do -- I want to absorb God's creation (and what He allowed mankind to do). So this hotel met our needs. I can see this having been THE place 40 years ago. (Unless I'm mistaken we were told it was built in 1956. THat's okay. I love the open lobby and the access to the restaurant. Our room actually had an outside entrance, which again is okay -- the only access is through the lobby (it appeared). The room was dated, but upkeep was good. Value was good. Walked around a little outside and down the street and it actually seemed a little rough. We had a fern wing, which again, seemed 1960's but I was happy. Good stay for the value.

Room Tip: I couldn't detect where one area would be better than another -- roll the dice and enjoy the rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.