We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Quickie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilo Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOT SALE $85!!
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just a Quickie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

For a one night stop before an early flight. The location was good and close to the airport. Located on the Bay with plenty of area to walk around and some restaurants. Would want to spend more time here, basic and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    178
    162
    62
    29
See reviews for
86
206
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Hilo Seaside Hotel is pretty basic, but it's reasonable, and it's in an absolutely lovely area. The street it's on--Banyan Way--is lined with incredible banyan trees, and it leads to a large, manicured park. It's also near the water and the sunset and sunrise views right outside the hotel are perfect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is motel-style accommodation: nothing fancy but it seems there aren't really fancy hotels in Hilo anyway! The room was basic but comfortable and reception was friendly. Had breakfast at the restaurant one day which was nice and decent service. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby. Some people have commented there weren't many car parks available but we never had an issue with this even late at night. Hotel is closely located to airport and short drive to town centre. Good for short stays but probably wouldn't spend longer than a few nights here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had requested cheaper type of accommodation from travel agent in Australia who was unsure of recommending this hotel. We were only staying one night and doing a helicopter flight over The Volcanoes National Park. Hotel was close to the airport and very easy to locate with a map. Was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Presentation was very nice with the fish pond out the front and the garden. Gardens inside the hotel were green and attractive. Lobby and rooms had fresh flowers that were colourful and charming. Room beside the pool was clean and comfortable and as the hotel appeared quiet when we were there we were not disturbed at all by being so close to the pool. The restaurant at the front of the hotel, was friendly reasonably priced and the food was good.

Hotel is located across the road from a lovely bay area and we had a view of the Pride of America which was in port as we took a pleasant walk. I left my camera in the lobby while using the foyer wifi and in the morning it had been handed in by the security guard.

Hotel decor was a bit dated but comfortable and homely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

To me, this is more a motel and not a hotel.
Rooms were OK. The building is from the 50's and you'll see it.
Internet is only free in the lobby. For the WLAN on the room you've to pay extra.
The restaurant from the hotel is also OK. For Breakfast, we took the car and went to the next Starbucks or bought some breakfast the day before (Safeway/Wallmart about 3 miles).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I live in this town and have in the past frequently used this facility as well as their Kono hotel for friends, family and self but, since new ownership raised prices without added renovations... better to seek out hostel-type accomodations eg. Hilo Tropical Garden, Arnott's Lodge, Backpackers, Wild Ginger. Crummy as some of these are...at least the dollar hit isn't as painful!

Room Tip: Overlooking koi pond are more expensive, next to pool can be noisy. Top floor is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimiwoodd, Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your business, as well as your comments. You are mistaken in that the Hilo Seaside Hotel is under new ownership and management—The Hilo Seaside is Hawaiian Family owned and operated, celebrating over 50 years of Hawaiian Hospitality. We are in the process of renovating all of our guestrooms, and guest areas. We know our guests will enjoy the outcome. I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent just one night after arriving at the airport in the evening. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. The shower was excellent. The view from the balcony was very nice (ocean). The Coconut Grill restaurant (attached) was also very nice for breakfast (try the banana bread!). I agree with one reviewer that the parking was not the best. There are limited spaces on the grounds (I found one of the last two spaces open at 9:30 pm). Others have to park on the street in front of the lobby. There's a nice walk along the ocean from the hotel around the Banyan Peninsula. Overall we were happy with the choice and wouldn't hesitate to return. Note: if you have a lot of luggage be aware that they have two floors and no elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.