We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilo Seaside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOT SALE $85!!
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Redlands, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

The hotel has a nice lagoon front location and is off of the main road while still being close to the airport. We had a nice dinner at the hotel grill for a reasonable price. The room was clean but was space and very outdated. The only problem at this hotel is the parking! Be prepared to park on the street or squeeze into the tiny parking lot if you can find a space.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    178
    162
    62
    29
See reviews for
86
206
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The hotel staff were very friendly. I didn't see any elevators, we walked up to the 3rd floor, I think there's only 3 floors. The "Superior" room that we got from the website for our special internet rate of $79/night was pitifully small. See my pictures.

It looks like an old apartment building. The inside was clean but sooo old! We could barely reach the air conditioner, the coqui frogs were not as loud as the people slamming the wooden doors.

The beds were very hard and uncomfortable, the drawers didn't open. I wish we had stayed where my sister stayed at the Hilo Hawaiian, it was a lot nicer and a real hotel.

We didn't eat at the Coconuts Grille downstairs. the minimum price for breakfast omelettes was around $9.

The pool was ok but in a weird location. in the middle of all of the apartments. If my kids splashed too much they'd splash people walking by their rooms.

I will probably not stay here again. There really is no reason to go to Hilo except for the volcano is only 30 minutes away and worth it. If you have to go to the Big Island, stay in Kona.

  • Liked — The people were nice
  • Disliked — Pretty much everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

The Hilo Seaside is in desperate need of a facelift, but if you're into the "retro Hawaii" thing, this is it!
Be sure to ask for a deluxe room/ocean view - with a balcony. You really won't get that much of an ocean view, but as long as you're overlooking the huge koi pond, it'll be ok.
I rate this stay at "above average" because we were able to score the deluxe room/ocean view at 50% off - thanks to the Entertainment book -- got it for $70, not too shabby, though certain parts of this property are...
Still...it's fine for what it is. Fairly clean, TV, A/C, phone, but no fridge. (Kona Seaside, its sister property had one.)
Noise: bring earplugs - the non-native (and despised) coqui frogs (I'm almost certain that is what was making the incessant nighttime noise!) are really here and are LOUD!
Last thing: stay away from the Coconut Grill downstairs -- SO OVERPRICED for what it is...go down to Ken's House of Pancakes instead -- amazing selection, great food, cheaper prices.
We love Ken's!! Get the coconut cream pie!

  • Liked — the great rate, helpful front desk staff
  • Disliked — outdated furnishings
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

We had very good service here....they allowed us early check-in at 1pm, got a very quiet room away from traffic and the hotel pool area, provided us with extra towels for the use at the pool, they found a corkscrew for us to open our bottle of wine.
The room itself was small but adequate.

It was close to a variety of restaurants and also the airport. The only negatives were that they closed the pool at 6pm...that parking was limited.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

This is a nice, small, locally owned place (part of a local chain of hotels on each island) by the bay in Hilo. A basic hotel with not many amenities. No wireless internet, no good layout for working on laptops. The deluxe rooms have more space and nice views of the bay. Good spot to go exploring all the Hilo area has in store. It is right by the airport as are all the other Hilo area hotels. Plenty of food places nearby including one in the hotel (This last trip we didn’t eat here as it’s getting into the pricey altitude).

Rooms are very basic with limited electrical outlets. The rooms have always been clean but sparse on amenities. Be aware that while you are given soap & shampoo when you first check in, if you say more than 1 night, these are not replenished. First time in 15+ stays there this happened, but it did. Maybe even the “best places” are giving in to “progress”. (hopefully this was a one time oversight).

Overall, we have found the Seaside chain to be reliable accommodations and we continue staying here each time we visit. If you expect the Ritz-Carlton, you’ll be disappointed. If you just need a basic room convenient to Volcano, Zoo, Waterfalls, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — Convenient to everything
  • Disliked — Not many electric outlets
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

A tired old hotel of the 1970s, It was clean, and had hot water. Parking is difficult but the location to Kens House of Pancakes is redeeming. Staff is indifferent., but for its cost its average. There are many steps so this is not for the handicapped.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

It is a good bargain to stay here if you want to visit Hilo and the nearby volcanic sites. At such good rate, you still get to stay in a big room with cable tv and private bathroom, even beside the duck pool. The staff are friendly and chatty, not to mentioned helpful as well (when I requested for a electric kettle). One bad thing to stay here (and any other hotels in Hilos) is the daily rains, sometimes heavy downpours for hours, which might hurt your planned itinerary.

  • Liked — Price and comfort
  • Disliked — Weather
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Seaside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.