We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap...that's about it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap...that's about it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you're wanting to spend any time in your room other than to shower and sleep, do not stay here! My husband and I stayed in Kona and Waikoloa for most of our trip but stayed 2 nights in Hilo so we could enjoy the volcano park. We didn't want anything fancy in the first place but our room was bare minimal. It was completely tiled. I kinda felt like I was in a Dr's office. There needed to be some carpet of some sort. It was so slippery when walking around the room after showering. And the bathtub didn't drain, by the time we were done taking a shower the tub was almost completely full. But the worst part of it was the air conditioner was sooooo flippin noisy at night....I ended up having to wear earplugs! I am glad we only stayed 2 nights and after the first, we considered not staying the second. Luckily we spent as little time as possible in the room so we lived with it for 2 nights but I wouldn't stay there again....even for the price.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    35
    27
    19
See reviews for
28
40
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ok.....heres the skinny:

First, those of you who read my reviews know I hit the islands of Hawaii every year. Very hard to be objective about places that have a hold over my heart (guess I should just move there eventually!) but when it comes to the Big Isle, I admit I have a bit of a "love-hate" thing going on with the Kona side, which is why I decided to spend more time on the Hilo side this past trip, hence our decision to stay at the Naniloa.

After spending 4 days on the Hilo side, I can safely say the following about Hilo, and the Naniloa:

"I DIG this hotel, and this side of the island!"

Facts:

Kona is ok if you sportfish or want to spend time touring coffee farms, but the daily car traffic, in and out of Kona??????? I gotta admit we havent visited Kona in about 7-8 years and it truly took some time getting used to... sitting at stand stills on the highway, every day, regardless of the time of day.

Kohala and Captain Cook were much better, traffic-wise, but Hilo was a little, slightly-off-center, rough-around-the-edges, gem of a location, and the Naniloa seems to fit that bill perfectly as well.

No beaches on Hilo side, so dont expect a beach vacation. But the Naniloa has a GREAT location on the waterfront, steps away from a beautiful walking park, and steps aaway from Ice Pond (I know, I know....there aint no ice, so dont ask, but thats the name of the park and the swimming area to the right of the hotel). The water clarity in the tidal pools and the surrounding lava formations at the back of the Naniloa isnt 100% crystal clear, but the fish and turtles dont seem to mind, and snorkeling is about as easy as it gets anywhere on the islands.

The room we had was ocean/bay front, so the view was to die-for, and the room itself was clean and functional, with maid service that was was spot on, and reeked of the "Aloha" spirit I live for on the islands.

Are the rooms 5 star quality? No. I did not see any $10,000 furnishings or paintings in our room. Then again, I do not go to Hawaii to spend 24 hours in my hotel room, so I might have missed some in lobbys, or hall ways.

The building infrastructure is going through what appears to be a massively-planned rennovation, and I feel I can safely say that overall the building could use some sprucing up (like I said: rough around the edges), but Lord Knows Ive seen worse, and thats what rennovation is for, right?

Check in was a breeze, and the women at the desk were about as friendly and welcoming as any place I have visited.

Here, for me, is the bottomline about the value at the Naniloa:

GET THERE NOW WHILE ITS SO DAMNED REASONABLE! Dont even start me on the prices versus the Kona side. And while I dont golf, I heard one of the guests mention that the hotel is currently offering free rounds of golf at the course across the street to Naniloa guests. To me, thats a damned good value!!!!!!!

Hilo has great food....40 minutes from the Volcano, and 30 from the incredible Kapoho tidal pools (best damned snorkeling on the whole island, IMHO), and cheap, cheap, prices with acres of Aloha at the Naniloa.

What are you waiting for???????!!!!!

Room Tip: Gotta get a water view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honomu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is undergoing significant construction so there are some definite rough spots and the bars are not open, but rooms are clean and recently remodelled with no carpeting so no musty smell. Hotel was quiet, conveniently located, and has AWESOME ocean views for a very reasonable price. Free WIFI in common areas. Best place I have stayed in Hilo

Room Tip: ocean view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

fantastic location with the ocean views and balcony off the room
large room but like the rest of hotel is dated is in state of renovation with the outside and lounge areas to get the first attention room had a 70's feel but very comfortable and clean would stay again in a heartbeat!! great staff but if your looking for 5 star you will be disappointed but 2-3 is OK. good value for money wifi is only in lounge and lobby at this stage does not have any meal facilities or coffee bar etc at this stage but is close to others walking distance (100 yards) good restaurants nearby

Room Tip: get the ocean view rooms with the balcony great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interesting Hotel ... it has this simplistic feel to it. Ocean view is amazing! However, hotel itself does not have much to offer except a quiet and reasonable stay. Front desk workers are amazing; they are extremely helpful and nice. Despite the renovation going on, the hotel is pretty quiet. Price is reasonable -- take the ocean view! It is worth it. I rated 3 stars because I only stayed for 1 night, and it was not enough to really experience the hotel. I will update my rating if I stay at the place again. 3 stars because the hotel itself did not have much to offer.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the room had a beautiful view the room was clean and comfortable the staff was awesome on return trips to the big island I would only stay at the naniloa. we enjoyed celebrating our 66 wedding aniversary

Room Tip: the view was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Go with the renovated rooms. I had an ocean view room and everything was as in any other hotel. The lack of a phone in the room is no big deal to me. I have stayed at over 75 different hotels and don't remember ever using the phone. I love it.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel each guest receives a free round of 9-hole of golf for every day of your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.