We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a JOY!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
1 review
“What a JOY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Naniloa for the second time and we had a beautiful Ocean View room. It was a treat. Even though the hotel is being remodeled, there was no noise at all. The staff was very friendly and there was complimentary coffee and lemon water. The perfect getaway to relax. Very clean!! We watched the whales from our deck! We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    30
    27
    18
See reviews for
26
35
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights. We were told there was wifi in the rooms - False. We were told the rooms were recently updated - False. The bed skirts were filthy. The next day after our first night when they had made up our room they picked up the towels and rehung them wet. No new ones.

Now for the plus side. $95 a night was not a bad price. The view out our balcony was beyond awesome. The grounds were very nicely kept. While this place is not a 3 or 4 star place I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel doesn't pretend to be a 5 star hotel and was actually better than we expected, especially after reading the reviews. It is well positioned on the water and within walking distance to some nice restaurants and park areas. Yes there are renovations going on but it does have the potential to be a good hotel (hopefully they don't put up their tariffs when they are done!!).

We decided to go for a corner water front unit and are glad that we did, the view is fantastic and we enjoyed watching dolphins and turtles swim and whales breach from our balcony. The cost of this room is not much more and is worth the extra just for the view. The room is sparsely furnished and could do with a mat or something on the floor but other than that it was a really good size and the bathroom was nice. The position of the aircon duct though was behind the pillows on the bed so if you have the aircon on you end up with a very cold head!!

They are updating the wifi and although on the first night we were unable to get wifi in our room we could on the second night.

Like other reviews we did find it a little frustrating that there was no phone in the room and the position of the TV is unusual. Every time you needed to ask reception something you had to leave your room and go downstairs and the lifts are not that fast. We decided to have drinks in the room but there were no wine glasses or bottle opener so we had to go downstairs to reception to ask for some but were told that they don't have wine glasses (even though they give you an ice bucket) so we had to drink from plastic cups they provide in the bathroom. I find this a little strange for a hotel. I also found it a little stingy that you get plastic disposable cups in the bathroom to use and not glass.

There was no ironing board or iron in the room nor is there a compendium telling you what is available for use in the hotel (such as a laundry room) or amenities in the area. These items would be a helpful addition.

Our fridge broke down while we were there but it was promptly fixed and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Hilo is definitely not known for upmarket accommodation so you really are not going to get much better anywhere else. Overall we were very happy and would definitely stay there again as the rate was reasonable.

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite with ocean view, especially if you are staying longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel was not my choice but a hotel picked for my 2 days island adventure with taketours.....and I was happy I only had to stay 1 night.

Upon check in you felt you were on a school outing as you had to sign a contract that you would comply to hotel rules, one of them not smoking on the balcony...LOL....love my ciggys on the balcony...

Hotel is a dump, treework rotting, elevators, gangways reminds you of an institution...Room was of good size, dirty and full of long black hairs- not mine I am bald- had to sweep floors. coffemaker, cable tv. no phone no wifi. bathroom good size. the pics you see on the webpage shows you the beds, which was very soft and uncomfortable. rest of room has a workdesk which you would find in a school dorm, same goes for the blinds and in the bathroom. Ugly.

I did not find staff at the hotel friendly

wifi in the lobby was weak, no restaurant on the premises.

one good thing is the view, best thing was to leave

Room Tip: guess they are all ugly and expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've read comments of the hotel being under renovation but how long it would take to complete? From what I saw when I stayed there 3 months ago, it wouldn't be too soon. There was no phone in the room. The bathroom was only 70% done. No wifi. Everywhere was quite dark after sunset. And I could see only one staff at the front desk all day.

It had some good points though. It's quiet at night. The surrounding was wonderful especially in the morning; as the hotel was next to the sea. It's relatively cheap.

So it shouldn't be too bad to just spend a night visiting the volcano. And it should be better when the renovation is complete in future.

Room Tip: The early morning walk around the seaside was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'd read many mixed reviews of this hotel but went regardless. Yes it is still being renovated, yes there is rust everywhere - it's about 4m from the ocean, yes the tiled floors are noisy and there's no phone or wifi in the rooms...but I liked it a lot! It felt more like an old fashioned guest house. At night there were lots of people in the common room using the wifi. It was nicer than sitting in the room. The bathroom was good but the bed a tad hard. The staff were great. You've got to wander around the gardens as they are lovely. Be careful walking through the carpark as the trees have lifted the asphalt creating lots of trip hazards. Can I suggest that the tv be moved from on top of the cupboard right behind the small light! A quaint, convenient well priced location to explore the big island.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We responded to the hotel survey received after we departed. I commented that the rooms need updating by getting rid of the dormitory style desk, add a phone, install carpet on the floor. I failed to add that the door to the room is not tight as one can see light around it when closed. The door to the adjoining room was paper thin as we could hear our neighbors whether we wanted to or not.The hallways are tiled so sound like echo chambers when people talk in the halls. Need carpet or sound deadening. Elevators are probably original from the early 60's and show their age (very old). I would replace them first. Manager responded to my survey comments. The first areas to be updated are the lobby and meeting rooms. Elevators to be updated in the 3rd quarter this year. (Why wait?) The inland tower will be the first tower to have rooms renovated.
My suggestion to anyone considering staying at this hotel is NOT to stay here until renovations are complete, sometime after 2016. Comments made by others are right on. We wouldn't consider staying here again given the current condition of the hotel..

Room Tip: None to be had as of the date we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha,
As I shared with you in your first survey, we are currently undergoing complete top-down renovation of the property that will renovate all the guestrooms, public areas, restaurants, bars, lobby, showroom, banquet spaces and will correct each of the current conditions you identified. Target for completion is 4th quarter of this year, 2015.
We hope you will return to experience a like new repositioned first class resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel each guest receives a free round of 9-hole of golf for every day of your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.