We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wait till renovation is finished” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wait till renovation is finished”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

renovation is ongoing
there are no phones in room
pool area is not usable
elevator is very slow

rooms have problems, such as missing furniture, bathroom doors that don't close

towels are very thin and bottles of shampoo not enough for two people (everything is meager)

Room Tip: had free wired internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Aloha,
Our apologies for the limited services while we renovate with major improvements to the entire resort. During this time we have been offering the best value in the area and hope you will return in the sring when we will have an entirely transformed and full service resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    22
    21
    15
See reviews for
21
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. Our room was on the 8th floor and overlooked the bay. It was renovated, and about what I would expect for this hotel. Our experience here was a nice one. It is obvious they are trying to renovate a hotel that had fallen on hard times. It still has a long way to go. If you stay here I would suggest you ask for a renovated room that looks at the Bay. I would stay here again, but I would expect it would improve.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Make sure you get a renovated room. I've stayed twice on the ocean side and the rooms are really nice. Modern and clean. If you can get an end room even better. The hallways and lobby are not great. There wasn't much for breakfast either. I travel for business and usually stay 1-2 nights. I also stay at the Castle which has better amenities but the rooms are just ok. I hope they renovate the rest of this hotel soon!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a renovated room which I believe are on the ocean side. It's still not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place reminded us of the movie The Shining ! Glad we made it out !! Room clean but hotel very rundown. Only stayed 1 night but wouldn't go back.only stayed here to visit volcanoes national park, 40minutes away so easy to get to. Find somewhere else to stay not nice at all.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha,
Please accept our apologies for our renovations that are in progress and unfortunately this has temporarily limited our facilities and services on the property. Once completed in the Spring we will have a like new full service resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful location and the rest was terrible...I understand there are renos being done but there was mould on the sliding glass doors, all over the balcony railings, The light dome on the ceiling was full of bugs.....no phone in the room. ,sheets were clean and bathroom also...would never stay here again

Room Tip: Check trip advisor and listen to previous guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha,
Thank you for communicating this to me and as explained to you previously, the deficiencies have been corrected and believe you were satisfied with the actions taken regarding your overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Although the hotel is currently being renovated, it compensates with the great hospitality service. The hotel has a great location and the views from the rooms are breathtaking. There is nothing more relaxing than waking up and listen to the morning waves! The surroundings have plenty of dinning options and you have quick access to the main roads. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Dirty, light switches falling off the walls, doors that don't lock properly. Nice locations but desperately needs renovations badly. Staff were nice, got moved rooms, still problems, lucky it was only for one night

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha,
We appreciate you making the time to share your comments and will be pleased to know the property is currently in progress with a comprehensive renovation and once completed next summer will be a showcase resort for Hilo and hope you will check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel each guest receives a free round of 9-hole of golf for every day of your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.