We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem (in the right room)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Davis
2 reviews
“Unexpected Gem (in the right room)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has been a few decades since I last stayed at the Naniloa and because I had heard it had fallen on hard times. So I had not stayed there on my annual trip to Hilo. Aqua Hospitality started sending me promotions for the Naniloa with very enticing photos and with a little research foundd found that the Ocean View rooms are the remodeled rooms. Very friendly staff. Outstanding, huge, tile bathroom. Comfortable beds. Outstanding view. But while the hotel is getting things back in shape there are some inconveniences. You are told up front that there is only Wifi in the lobby area ( I could get a signal on my balcony) and that sheets are only changed every four days though mine were changed after three. Neither were issues for me since I was out photographing from before dawn until after sunset. I was very pleased and at $89/night for a view of Hilo Bay, it was a bargain!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are the remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    17
    19
    11
See reviews for
20
21
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice hotel with all the standard amenities. A nice ocean side pool and beautiful sunsets across the bay. Room was well equipped and clean. Staff is friendly and efficient. No frills but a good location and standard hotel and at a great price. Hotel is being remodeled.

Room Tip: A great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this online at nonrefundable site. We were given "glow sticks" at check in. All power would b out from 12 am - 4 am. Our room was poorly renovated! Some kind of stuff in bathtub. A/C did not work even when electric was on! Free wifi only in lobby! I would NOT suggest this hotel to anyone. Staff was very very nice but poorly run hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Great location and the staff is wonderful, the outside grounds is gorgeous.The rooms are just like a college dorm room, lacks everything. They have a bed and a small coffee maker, a TV and a small fridge,that's it. No phone, no soap, no shampoo.I give it a poor overall rating.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seegraeben, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed to night in this hotel. Renovations strongly recommended...dirty floors, terrible elevators. Some rooms are renovated, these are ok. Ask for oceanview rooms these are mostly renovated and the view is really nice. We paid for the breakfast, but as we arrived the lady in the lobby told us, that they don't provide breakfast anymore!!!!
The good news...almost all hotels in Hilo are in the same condition, due to a governmental problem, so its your choice...

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOWIE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The bathroom was gorgeous. The room and furniture looked like a college dorm room. The beds were very small. Was fine to sleep for a night if just stopping over in Hilo, but wouldn't want to stay longer. Pool was small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The outside may not be too shabby but the room was very nice and modern. The corner room with the wraparound balcony was nice. No restraint onSite was a downfall but places to eat are nearby. Can't wait till all the renovations are done. I will definitely be staying here whenever I come to visit my brother in college.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.