We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst case” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Seegraeben, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The worst case”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed to night in this hotel. Renovations strongly recommended...dirty floors, terrible elevators. Some rooms are renovated, these are ok. Ask for oceanview rooms these are mostly renovated and the view is really nice. We paid for the breakfast, but as we arrived the lady in the lobby told us, that they don't provide breakfast anymore!!!!
The good news...almost all hotels in Hilo are in the same condition, due to a governmental problem, so its your choice...

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    16
    17
    9
See reviews for
19
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BOWIE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bathroom was gorgeous. The room and furniture looked like a college dorm room. The beds were very small. Was fine to sleep for a night if just stopping over in Hilo, but wouldn't want to stay longer. Pool was small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The outside may not be too shabby but the room was very nice and modern. The corner room with the wraparound balcony was nice. No restraint onSite was a downfall but places to eat are nearby. Can't wait till all the renovations are done. I will definitely be staying here whenever I come to visit my brother in college.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights here, it is very old dilapidated building. No phones in room or wifi. All cleaning staff did was fold the toilet paper over on the holder, even after I added to have it cleaned . Pool was not clean, and oh the bugs! I know they are renovating, but give your guests a more clean , updated room. Don't put paying guests in the getto!!!!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is, if there is they certainly didn't let you know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't stay at the Hilo Naniloa hotel. First issue we had was upon checking in was that our room still occupied! So we were. "Upgraded" to a ocean view room. Room had no microwave, coffee maker without complimentary coffee and no phone. Apparently they don't make your beds here. Also unless you put your rubbish in the tiny trash cans, housekeeping won't throw it away. While Hilo is not known for its great hotels , this one has to be rock bottom!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an extremely happy experience staying here for a week in February. We had a beautifully designed Danish minimalist-looking room/bathroom/balcony - the balcony overlooked the ocean and provided a gorgeous view. We came here by process of elimination because we couldn't find a room anywhere else on the spur of the moment for under $250 a night. We got an excellent price and an upgrade probably BECAUSE of shoddy areas - near the pool, near an elevator exit - in places that didn't affect us or bother us at all. We preferred staying at this almost empty place (with beautiful views of Mauna Kea, the bay, and the ocean and a quirky and sweet atmosphere) to staying at one of the hotels next to it - in one of the places that were more than twice as expensive and had less attractive rooms and public areas in our opinion. Those hotels were also teeming with tourists while the Naniloa was under the radar. The Naniloa may finish its renovation soon and then it may no longer be a place to get a great deal. In any case, for now, because the property has flaws, our experience with the room, the balcony, and the price was five stars +.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The ceiling right above my son's bed leaked in the middle of the night waking him up. The leak was so bad that in 12 hours I got a gallon of water inside the trash can from the room(this by the way was their "fix" the problem). When I went to shower after a dusty and tiring hike at the volcano national park I noticed that the drain in the tub did not drain at all and after just couple minutes the dirty disgusting water was up for 4" inches, no wonder the tub floor is black due to grime accumulated over time.

If you plan to stay here I recommend that you stop first at target and buy a plastic stool so you shower on it that way you avoid getting fungus in your feet like happened to me.
Also if you stay here make sure you only go to sleep because the place in itself is depressing and run down.
I ask about the internet promised in the description, and I was told that they did not have more internet cables and once one becomes available I will get it, that they will call me to pick up that cable...that never happened. I stayed there 3 nights because I felt I was going to waste more time moving to another hotel due to my short planed vacation there.

Overall I don't think this hotel is no where near to be a 4 or 3 star level.

Room Tip: ask to see that there is not ceiling leakage and that the tub drains properly or bring a plastic sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.