We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The views from the ocean front rooms with the wrap around balconies are amazing. Very spacious rooms with kitchenettes and living area in addition to king bed. Very reasonable prices for the accommodations and very well located in Hilo.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the water with wrap around balcony. Magnificent room at very reasonable pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalei L, Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha Fred B,

Mahalo for posting a review and for your personal recommendation on room selection.

If you think we are a hidden gem now, I hope you are able to return next year after renovation are complete! With all new guest rooms, a new lobby, and a new restaurant, this hotel will once again become the chosen destination for Hilo visitors.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Kalei Lyman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was a little weary about this hotel after reading the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised with our newly renovated room with a great ocean view. Yes the hotel needs to be renovated and it looks like they are in the process of that, but the room was nice and clean and the grounds were very nice. This is a nice hotel for the money!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalei L, Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha TSW73,

Thank you for your review. We love hearing feedback from our guests.

We agree that our views are great! It's hard to find waterfront hotel rooms in Hawaii at a better value! We hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Kalei Lyman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Honestly, where do I begin? The hotel looks run down. I've never been to a halfway house (thankfully), but based on what I've seen on TV, this hotel resembles one. The hallways, lights and elevators are all run down. There are scuff marks, dirt, grime, and flickering lights like a horror movie. We were on the 6th floor and when we exited the elevator, I seriously told my wife: I've seen horror movies that start like this.

A lot of what has already been said applies here: you're given an actual key, not a key card, there's no wifi in your room -- only in the lobby -- and you only have wired internet. The TV in the room is in the very top corner of the room -- yes, near the ceiling. The TV signal/picture was horrendous (don't tell me it's because of satellite on the island, the place where we ended up staying has crystal clear pictures). There's no phone so you can reach front desk! This is an enormous hotel complex. For me to reach the front desk I either have to go downstairs or search on my phone for the number and dial out from my cell?

Continuing on...my room didn't have an iron/ironing board. The toilet looks like it's from a public school. The room itself was filthy. There was a disgusting sticky substance on the wall. The sheets and pillow case were stained. The fitted sheet for the bed? There wasn't one. When we removed the top cover, it revealed a bed that was only partially made. Either they ran out of linens or room service gave up and stopped. Also, our room only had one nightstand! Our room was literally four walls with a desk and one hanging rack. The sliding wood frames that take the place of blinds or curtains didn't slide smoothly. I literally had to pick it up, one at a time, and then move it over.

The good? The A/C works (kind of). It was very slow to cool things off. The view on the balcony is nice -- but it overlooks the disgustingly dirty hotel exterior. All the pictures you see online were obviously taken when the hotel opened or was cleaned. There is moss growing all over the place.

With all that said, we had to stay the night because we arrived in Hilo at 9 pm and were exhausted so we stayed. My wife and I basically slept on top of each other because we didn't want to roll onto any other, uh, spots on the linen. When we spoke with someone in charge, I guess she was a manager, I explained all this and said we would like to leave. When we mentioned that the room looked barren, the woman said that the room should have a desk, a king bed and two nightstands, so either someone absconded with the nightstand or the staff removed it for another room. I'm not sure which explanation is better.

We canceled the rest of our stay and went to Island Goode's instead. It couldn't have been a bigger godsend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalei L, Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha Joseph A,

Thank you for such a candid review. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you may know, we recently acquired the property approximately six months ago. We have been working very hard to address most of your concerns and prepare this property for renovation.

We intend to restore the beauty and glory to this property and make it the premier destination for East Hawaii visitors. New guest rooms with the latest in comfort and guest conveniences should be available by year-end, and a new lobby and restaurant will welcome our guests as well. We are very excited to transform this previously neglected property into the shining gem of Hilo!

Should your future travel plans ever return you to Hilo, I invite you to give us another chance. I promise you a much better experience. Please feel free to email me directly at klyman@aquaresorts.com so I may personally assure your satisfaction.

Again, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We really do appreciate your feedback.

Mahalo,

Kalei Lyman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights while on the Hilo side of the island. Nice area, but the hotel needs a lot of work. No phones in the rooms because they told us they are upgrading the phone system. WHAT?? No Phone??? Cold tile floors, air conditioning did not work correctly and had to have maintenance come and fix it. Wrote a note to housekeeping the next day to leave air on, but alas it was turned off when we returned late the next evening and room was stifiling. Appears they bathrooms have had a facelift recently but not so for the rooms. Hotel needs to invest in a pressure washer and clean the exterior. Had a room with a King and a twin bed (3 of us in the room), but only 2 sets of bath towels? Would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Great views - crummy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalei L, Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha travelerMary,

Feedback from our guests, good or bad, is always appreciated. Thanks for the review.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We just took over this property in late December of last year, and we too were disappointed in its condition. You're absolutely right that the hotel needs a lot of work. Rest assured that we have been diligently working to address current issues and prepare this property for a much needed renovation and revitalization.
The room interiors will be brand new, including a state of the art phone system, carpeting, an improved, energy efficient air conditioning system, and much, much more.

If you make it to Hawaii Island in the future, we would be delighted if you'd give us a second chance. I'd be happy to give you a personal tour of our renovated property and I'm positive that you will be amazed at the improvements that are coming soon.

Again, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I hope we see you again soon.

Aloha,
Kalei Lyman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, The Big Island and Hilo are laid back compared to Maui and Oahu. After the beautiful garden and the nice swimming pool, and the awesome Reeds Bay at its backyard, the pleasant experience ends. You are given keys instead of cards (you charge it to experience), go up a creaky,old elevator full of scratches, out the elevator and you ask if you are in a parking garage, make a turn and you see an average hotel corridor and enter your room. There are more unpleasant surprises! Roomis not even a 1-star. Furnitures made of plywood (like shelves and cabinets) with the TV at the topmost layer near the ceiling. No wastebaskets! Attempted to call front desk--no telephone in the room! Got a cleaning woman to give wastebaskets and she gave more towels (only 2 given). Room dusty. Ncie garden view but they nailed wood to prevent you from going to the balcony. No curtains or drapes! If you needed to block the sun they had sliding raw plywood doors(not painted) but closing them feels so claustrophobic and like you are locked in jail. The washroom was good though. Are they still renovating? Looks like no construction going on. What a waste of the nice surroundings!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I bought a Groupon for this hotel. I thought I got a good deal, would be sort of close to the volcano, and since it was my first time to the Big Island, I would be able to see some sights. Well, I did see some sights and it was closer to the volcano than Kona. But I wish I booked elsewhere. What I wasn't told in the Groupon is that it was undergoing renovations. This meant not only lots of construction, but the pool was closed, the shops were closed, and worst of all, the power went out the one day I needed my alarm clock to make it to a scheduled activity on time. It's also in a dodgy part of town and a building that may or may not be on the same parcel of land looks like it's been abandoned for years.

Apart from that, I was in a room that had been renovated. They are obviously doing the best they can with some very old fashioned rooms. These have the old keys- no card readers. There were sliding wood frames to block the light. While these felt like a fresh touch, they didn't seem to be original since the built in closet/desk left an oddly sized space that was completely unusable. Furthermore, the tv was up above the closet so high that it was practically unusable. And in the bathroom, the tile was cut improperly so there was a slight gap above the light switch. From a design aspect- the tile was also a bad choice. It looked cool at first glance because it looked like it had shells and fossils embedded in it. But when you just catch a glimpse of it, it looks like bugs. :S

Finally, the thing that really irritated me was on the last day as we were checking out, I grabbed some clothes off my son's bed and must have had a handful of the sheets also. They pulled away from the bed and a keycard for Hilton dropped out. A) Like I said, they don't use keycards here. B) This isn't a Hilton property. C) How many guests have slept on top of that keycard and why are they not changing the sheets between guests?! Think about it- if the sheets were changed, that keycard wouldn't be under the bottom sheet of a bed. SO NASTY!!

Room Tip: Book with another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

. Friendly staff. Very old building on bay. Great view but the area had a dirty smell to it. We had an "updated" room which had dirty tile floors, no trim work, no blankets, just white sheets on the beds. Everything in the room looked unfinished. Not worth the money. Felt like a Motel 6 with a view.

Room Tip: Hilo does not have many options. I would stay in a town nearby and drive in to see sites for the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
61.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
61.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#9 of 15 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 15 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.