We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a good stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I bought a Groupon for this hotel. I thought I got a good deal, would be sort of close to the volcano, and since it was my first time to the Big Island, I would be able to see some sights. Well, I did see some sights and it was closer to the volcano than Kona. But I wish I booked elsewhere. What I wasn't told in the Groupon is that it was undergoing renovations. This meant not only lots of construction, but the pool was closed, the shops were closed, and worst of all, the power went out the one day I needed my alarm clock to make it to a scheduled activity on time. It's also in a dodgy part of town and a building that may or may not be on the same parcel of land looks like it's been abandoned for years.

Apart from that, I was in a room that had been renovated. They are obviously doing the best they can with some very old fashioned rooms. These have the old keys- no card readers. There were sliding wood frames to block the light. While these felt like a fresh touch, they didn't seem to be original since the built in closet/desk left an oddly sized space that was completely unusable. Furthermore, the tv was up above the closet so high that it was practically unusable. And in the bathroom, the tile was cut improperly so there was a slight gap above the light switch. From a design aspect- the tile was also a bad choice. It looked cool at first glance because it looked like it had shells and fossils embedded in it. But when you just catch a glimpse of it, it looks like bugs. :S

Finally, the thing that really irritated me was on the last day as we were checking out, I grabbed some clothes off my son's bed and must have had a handful of the sheets also. They pulled away from the bed and a keycard for Hilton dropped out. A) Like I said, they don't use keycards here. B) This isn't a Hilton property. C) How many guests have slept on top of that keycard and why are they not changing the sheets between guests?! Think about it- if the sheets were changed, that keycard wouldn't be under the bottom sheet of a bed. SO NASTY!!

Room Tip: Book with another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

. Friendly staff. Very old building on bay. Great view but the area had a dirty smell to it. We had an "updated" room which had dirty tile floors, no trim work, no blankets, just white sheets on the beds. Everything in the room looked unfinished. Not worth the money. Felt like a Motel 6 with a view.

Room Tip: Hilo does not have many options. I would stay in a town nearby and drive in to see sites for the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you do some research, you'll find that this hotel was in serious trouble (and looked it!) in October 2013 and was bought by Tower Development Inc. and Wyland Hilo Hotel LLC in November 2013. There are grand plans for this hotel to make it more like a museum experience. It's not quite there yet, but I think it has come a long way in the last few months (based off of the reviews I've read and the pictures of the hotel from before the new ownership).

Backstory: Originally booked a B&B in Volcano through Expedia and they weren't able to fulfill the reservation so they comped us with a hotel of similar value which happened to be Naniloa. We were able to get a corner room with a panoramic view on the bay side for about the same amount as the B&B. All was good, but then I started reading reviews...

I was seriously nervous pulling up to this hotel after all the negative and scary reviews I read.

The hotel could really use a paint job which is probably next on the list of things to do. It just doesn't make a good impression as you drive up to it. I feel like it kind of sets the mood and then you start noticing everything else that needs fixing. It also looks pretty rundown in the hallway that leads to the elevators and the elevators themselves need a make-over.

This hotel is so old school, they still have keys! I don't remember the last time I used a key at a hotel room. I don't know if I ever have, really. That was surprising.

Anyway, we got to our room and wow! It was gorgeous! The view was amazing. Everything was clean (except for the vent in the bathroom that looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the 60's). But everything else was nice and the view made up for anything else the room was lacking. The TV was in an awkward spot but we didn't turn it on the entire time we were there.

By the way, it seemed that the entire third floor had been renovated. I peeked into some rooms as I walked down the hallway as they were getting maid service so you'll be safe on the third floor!

Speaking of maid service...they only change the sheets every four days or something. That's cool- but I think they could go ahead and make the bed even if they aren't changing the sheets. That's kind of the perk of staying in a hotel room - coming back to a clean room and a bed that's made, right? haha. They took the time to fold the end of the toilet paper and the tissue paper so I don't think it'd be that much trouble to just smooth out the linens!

I think this hotel has a lot of potential and will probably be a much nicer place to stay toward the end of 2014. I'd say the rating is more 3.5, but I want this hotel to do well so i'm rounding it up to 4.

For now, if you plan on staying here, make sure you book a renovated room and then close your eyes until you get there.

I didn't check out the hotel grounds or the pool and I didn't partake in the continental breakfast, but it looked alright!

They also have wi-fi, but only in the lobby.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a 3 instead of a 2 because I am a fan. I have stayed here many times and heaped praise on the fantastic oceanfront corner rooms, despite the property's well documented deficiencies. So I am excited that the property has been purchased and there seems to be a plan to restore it to the splendor it deserves. A few comments, though. Not there yet. I reserved a corner king, like always, but upon arrival was told not available but that I had been upgraded to a corner suite. Well, ok. Room was large, but lacked the charm of the king bedrooms. Two double beds, stark white (but comfortable) bedding, but without the colorful sarong fabric at the bottom that grace the bed I had reserved. There were no decorations on the walls and the small fridge stunk. Beautiful room that could be made inviting with some attention to detail...like how about a room number on the door? I figured it out through a process of elimination. The new owners could go far by ensuring the rooms that are being made available are attractively appointed with some color and matched furniture. Don't advertise that rate includes breakfast if it's a low budget continental without fruit or yogurt and finally, make the pool area a priority. Clean it up. Put out some inviting furniture. It would class up the place, and for the long time fans like me, a fun and healthy pool focal point would convey the new owners are really making an effort.

Room Tip: Insist on the corner king size oceanfront rooms until further notice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawi, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

None of the hotels on Hilo Bay are nice, this one seems to be the least-not-nice. Apparently more recently renovated than most, at the time I stayed this hotel had the added charm of being mostly empty. The deluxe suite had tile floors, a well provisioned kitchen and good views of the bay and Japanese gardens from the two spacious lanais.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

OK, the rooms are huge (twice the size of a king in Honolulu). The oceanfront view is incredible. Tilework in current rooms and hall was nice. Deep tub. Fridge in room is nice. Bed comfortable, cotton sheets and blanket. AC works well. Hot water slow, but hot. Ice cream (purchase) in the lobby is REALLY frozen.

Continental breakfast: whole wheat/white bread, two varieties of mini-muffins, mini-croissants, butter pats, strawberry or grape jelly, coffee, POG. No protein in sight. No cereal.

No telephones in rooms, still uses keys, lanai door didn't lock, no restaurant. Tub floor very, very grungy: needs elbow grease and a brush. Television rolls from channel to channel, pixelating at every turn. Internet only in lobby, and often the password/connection doesn't work.

Still, I didn't demand change--because the view is stunning, the Asian style nice. I hope this hotel can make it an survive. She's got good bones, and needs lots of renovations.

Room Tip: High floors, ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in late March. The location is great, waterfront overlookiing Hilo Harbor. No sign for the hotel, which was a little strange...
The public spaces in hotel are in terrible shape -- bars, restaurants and shops all closed. Floor numbers are spraypainted onto the wall. Phones don't work.
We had a corner room on the 7th floor, which was surprisingly nice. Floor to ceiling windows (dirty) and a wrap-around balcony. The room was recently renovated, clean and nice -- big bathroom.
Rumor has it that the hotel would be renovated beginning in April 2014 -- wait till it's done and give it a shot.

Room Tip: corner room and suites are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck & pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.