We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, spacious room, and..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, spacious room, and..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

OK, the rooms are huge (twice the size of a king in Honolulu). The oceanfront view is incredible. Tilework in current rooms and hall was nice. Deep tub. Fridge in room is nice. Bed comfortable, cotton sheets and blanket. AC works well. Hot water slow, but hot. Ice cream (purchase) in the lobby is REALLY frozen.

Continental breakfast: whole wheat/white bread, two varieties of mini-muffins, mini-croissants, butter pats, strawberry or grape jelly, coffee, POG. No protein in sight. No cereal.

No telephones in rooms, still uses keys, lanai door didn't lock, no restaurant. Tub floor very, very grungy: needs elbow grease and a brush. Television rolls from channel to channel, pixelating at every turn. Internet only in lobby, and often the password/connection doesn't work.

Still, I didn't demand change--because the view is stunning, the Asian style nice. I hope this hotel can make it an survive. She's got good bones, and needs lots of renovations.

Room Tip: High floors, ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
We appreciate your comments and hope you can return to see a completely renovated resort that will be the showcase of Hilo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    42
    28
    27
See reviews for
35
48
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in late March. The location is great, waterfront overlookiing Hilo Harbor. No sign for the hotel, which was a little strange...
The public spaces in hotel are in terrible shape -- bars, restaurants and shops all closed. Floor numbers are spraypainted onto the wall. Phones don't work.
We had a corner room on the 7th floor, which was surprisingly nice. Floor to ceiling windows (dirty) and a wrap-around balcony. The room was recently renovated, clean and nice -- big bathroom.
Rumor has it that the hotel would be renovated beginning in April 2014 -- wait till it's done and give it a shot.

Room Tip: corner room and suites are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
We appreciate your positive comments and will be pleased to know that we are currently under full scale renovation and will have a top quality product once finished towards the end of 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay. Staff are wonderful and the view is worth a million dollars. It is excellent value. It is an older property in the process of being renovated so the exterior is a bit dilapidated and the hot water runs slow but for value, friendliness, location and authenticity this place is great! The air con was not running well in my room initially but staff were very prompt and efficient and it was repaired immediately. The partial ocean view rooms have stunning vistas of Hilo, Mauna Kea, Pele (when she shows her face), Moku Ola and the west ocean. I spent a beautiful memorial day listening to the happy voices of families in the hotel pool and surrounding ocean pools. A wonderful spot.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the ocean view. It is glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Excellent in Service, Room type. Swimming pool is not good. But this is the best hotel in hilo. Rest of the hotels are not that much good. You can get beach view Room (any floor > 2). It is good to spend with family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, friendly staff, and a MOST comfortable bed, this is the place for you. We arrived to a front desk person that was very cordial despite the fact she was trying to handle 3 things at once..She never became angry and had a smile on her face the whole time...I do wish I could remember her name.She worked evening shift if management reads this..Kudos to her! The room had a spectacular view from our balcony! And the place was very peaceful!! The grounds were well kept and were popping with color.. I would highly recommend this hotel..I will stay here again! If you do stay here, eat at Kens pancake house..It was a great find on our trip to Hilo...

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view..Bay views have no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Thhotel is old, in need of
an entire renovation. The out side building looks like a project apartment housing. Poor check in service not friedly. No phones in room, mildew on lani walls and roof. We had a room on 4th floor that over looked the lobby roof that was also full of growing moss and black mildew. We had prepaid for our stay 2nights so needless to say we where held hostage. I

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
We apologize for your disappointment in your stay and will be pleased to know that we are under full renovation to entire resort and will be a first class product once completed in later 2015 and hope you can visit once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

At one time this was a top of the line resort near downtown Hilo. It is in a great location. It is being renovated and brought back to its previous condition. Excellent internet via Ethernet cable which hotel provides. I had forgotten how nice Ethernet can be. Continental breakfast in lobby. Beautiful grounds. Elevators were smooth and quiet. Sometimes a little slow to start. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront rather than bayfront. Only a little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
61.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
61.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel each guest receives a free round of 9-hole of golf for every day of your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.