We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel despite reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel despite reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, friendly staff, and a MOST comfortable bed, this is the place for you. We arrived to a front desk person that was very cordial despite the fact she was trying to handle 3 things at once..She never became angry and had a smile on her face the whole time...I do wish I could remember her name.She worked evening shift if management reads this..Kudos to her! The room had a spectacular view from our balcony! And the place was very peaceful!! The grounds were well kept and were popping with color.. I would highly recommend this hotel..I will stay here again! If you do stay here, eat at Kens pancake house..It was a great find on our trip to Hilo...

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view..Bay views have no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    17
    18
    11
See reviews for
20
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Thhotel is old, in need of
an entire renovation. The out side building looks like a project apartment housing. Poor check in service not friedly. No phones in room, mildew on lani walls and roof. We had a room on 4th floor that over looked the lobby roof that was also full of growing moss and black mildew. We had prepaid for our stay 2nights so needless to say we where held hostage. I

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

At one time this was a top of the line resort near downtown Hilo. It is in a great location. It is being renovated and brought back to its previous condition. Excellent internet via Ethernet cable which hotel provides. I had forgotten how nice Ethernet can be. Continental breakfast in lobby. Beautiful grounds. Elevators were smooth and quiet. Sometimes a little slow to start. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront rather than bayfront. Only a little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We are staying here for the second time in two weeks, so that should say something.

Great value - not romantic.

Internet in the room only w/ an Ethernet cable they provide. Wireless in the lobby and they will print documents for you if you email it to them.

I'm traveling w/ my good friend and business associate.

Good: the prices are amazingly reasonable. Staff is willing to help and kind.
Bad: the exterior and much of the interior is VERY dated. The elevators are mid 70s?? and scary, HOWEVER there are new owners and they are getting ready to put a large amount of $$ into the place.

Bottom line: great value - we got a clean, basic room, for 77-88/night base before taxes. Very good. Also, pay laundry machines on site which was nice

Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

the check in time is 3pm that's pretty late I arrived at 5:30 am in Hilo I stayed at the airport waiting for sunrise then waiting for 9 am to go kill sometime at museum at the tsunami museum i recommend pretty nice , i found this brochure of adventures and hikes so i booked a hike same day and i took my mini Luggage with me to the hike if i can only drop my luggage at the hotel then hike it will be nice i hope they change the check in time cuz the check out is 12 noon Nonsense . hotel is nice quiet nice view saw some whales and turtles from the hotel free continental breakfast staff are nice and helpfull hotel under construction and because hilo is always rainy and foggy there is mold in the hotel not a lot just a little was in my room ceiling , hotel is in a good location so yes i would go again .

Room Tip: top floors for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here because it was inexpensive, we were staying in Kona, and wanted to see HIlo, so we cheaped out.It was a million dollar view. We stayed in an ocean view room, it was affordable and I have stayed in much worse rooms for much more money. The grounds of this former show stopper are awesome. The location is incredible. Our room was pleasant. In April the desk clerk (who was lovely) said they are starting a huge remodel. My sis used to party at this place back in the seventies and remembers it as the best place in Hilo, it would be nice to see the place restored, you can tell it was an amazing place at one time. We have no complaints, and wonder when you pay a hundred bucks for a beachside room what people are thinking! C,mon folks there is no free lunch! That said, the breakfast buffet was coffee and squishy bread....on a beautiful terrace surrounded by anthurium, water and the lovely grounds...what a juxtaposition...we thought it was hysterical. Next time when we are in Hilo we will definitely stay here, it was overall a good experience and everyone we came in contact with was so nice.

Room Tip: We got an ocean view room on the fourth floor which had been renovated, but saw the suite next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great stop for a night. Could have been cleaner, but nice view and lots of places within walking distance.Nice park right next to the hotel and a nice small store for snacks in the next hotel over. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.