We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here because it was inexpensive, we were staying in Kona, and wanted to see HIlo, so we cheaped out.It was a million dollar view. We stayed in an ocean view room, it was affordable and I have stayed in much worse rooms for much more money. The grounds of this former show stopper are awesome. The location is incredible. Our room was pleasant. In April the desk clerk (who was lovely) said they are starting a huge remodel. My sis used to party at this place back in the seventies and remembers it as the best place in Hilo, it would be nice to see the place restored, you can tell it was an amazing place at one time. We have no complaints, and wonder when you pay a hundred bucks for a beachside room what people are thinking! C,mon folks there is no free lunch! That said, the breakfast buffet was coffee and squishy bread....on a beautiful terrace surrounded by anthurium, water and the lovely grounds...what a juxtaposition...we thought it was hysterical. Next time when we are in Hilo we will definitely stay here, it was overall a good experience and everyone we came in contact with was so nice.

Room Tip: We got an ocean view room on the fourth floor which had been renovated, but saw the suite next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    17
    18
    11
See reviews for
20
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great stop for a night. Could have been cleaner, but nice view and lots of places within walking distance.Nice park right next to the hotel and a nice small store for snacks in the next hotel over. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I'm giving them 3 stars for the potential. We stayed there the weekend of March 7, 2014.
The view was beautiful! My husband spent every daylight minute we were there out on the balcony watching whales and trying to get a picture.
The hotel and rooms left a lot to be desired. The phones weren't working so they asked that if you need anything to please use your own cell phone to call the main line. Elevator was pretty slow, there was mold on the bathroom ceiling, bathroom door doesn't close tight so you can smell whatever is going on in there-reminded me of The California Hotel in Las Vegas.
There was a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. :)

We loved the view so much we're giving it another try next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Good Bad and the Ugly.

I have never in my life been in a hotel that fits this description. I truly loved and hated my 3 days here and only a detailed description can explain. You really need to read the whole review
This hotel was built about 1965, I think an additional wing was built in the 70’s, it replaced another that had been here since the 40’s and had survived two tsunamis. It is built on an old burial ground and some say it is haunted. If Stephen King ever wrote a sequel to The Shinning and instead of a seasonal isolated Maine hotel he choose a dilapidated run down southern Hawaiian hotel this would be the place, carpeted and wood halls are replaced with two types of tiled designs….redrum, redrum.

The Good
Price, View, Room, Balcony, Location, Golf course, Staff
The Bad
Breakfast, Cleaning, Workmanship, TV
The Ugly,
The Overall Hotel Appearance, the Elevators, Hotel Condition

The Good,
The price was $99, I upgraded my room to a bay view for another $20 it was upgraded when my bay room was in disrepair. I ended up in a corner room with a view of the harbor and ocean. The balcony was 24 feet by 20 feet, all patio windowed with sliding panels to keep sunlight out. Day one a cruise ship came by within 300 yards of the hotel. Day two we watched dolphins and whales, on day three it was whales and sea turtles. All I can say about the views were wow; you face the east and watch the sun rise. IT has a cheap $10 buck a round golf course as part of the property. It is also is a group of rundown buildings but the course is better I have played worse courses in Florida for more money. The bottom line is a hotel built at the same time up kept well three doors away from this hotel charged $500 a night for a single room. My room was clean and I could not find any bugs and I looked. The staff went out of their way to help me.

The Bad
Breakfast which is free is basically toast and coffee, for some reason they keep it set up in the lobby. My first room had stained walls, stained with what; your guess is as good as mine. Wired internet was broken and the tv reception was snowy. They had the tv mounted on the wardrobe and not directly facing the bed. The small table and chairs were missing from the room. Microwaves are extra but there is a coffee maker. The workmanship in the upgraded rooms is poor and mixed. They redid the floors and walls but leave old doors or shower rods that are stained and rusted. The air conditioning vent is beside your head on the bed and it is dirty. Housekeeping forgot to make my bed on one occasion.

The Ugly
When you walk into this place with the outside half painted and a 72 room structure boarded up makes you want to leave right away. I almost did. I checked in then got into the elevator oh my, dirty and slow. Apparently one only starts up if another is running, then into the stained room.

PS
All that being said, All these problems are due to an owner who sold this property in December. I am told that starting on April 1 (Anniversary of the 1946 Hilo Tsunami) 200 workers will descend on this property to renovate it. It will remain open during these renovations with soft opening in November and a grand opening for New Years Eve. I would love to see the final results as this is a really neat historical property with so much potential.

If you get a room here in 2014 be ready for workers, use the hotel three doors down to you for meals they are very good. Rooms on floors that end with a 36 have the double view, rooms ending in35 have the ocean view and 34’s are suites. If you book here I would call directly and make all your arrangements by talking to them in person so you know what you are getting. This is not a resort but it might become one.

Bottom line was I had a clean room with unbeatable views and I used the $1000 I saved on 3 days of rooms to have a great Hilo experience.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 35 and 36 have the best views, do not get a garden view, it is a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

this hotel does not look like pictures on the website. Nice view from the rooms but the hotel seems is not well mantained or maintaned at all. It looks like an old deserted building. Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We live in Kona and were meeting friends arriving on a cruise ship so we went to Hilo a day early so we would be fresh in the morning. We selected the Naniloa because of location and price. Our room was clean and reasonably comfortable. The negatives were mainly noise. The TV from the next room was loud enough almost to follow the program. It was a Saturday so about 1:45 am there were loud partiers in the parking lot who also gave us a blast from their auto stereo. After the security went out with a flashlight, they left. Then about 4:45 am a woman left shouting at someone about something. Our windows were closed and the AC was on. Continental breakfast was minimal, but the coffee was very good. From our Hilo experience since 1984, Banyan Drive has declined. Other than the pricey Hilo Hawaiian, some of the older hotels are now condo and mixed hotel/condo, and appear to be low rent. They do seem to be making an effort to improve the Naniloa. It desperately needs sound absorbing materials in the rooms and halls and the pool needs cleaning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rooms were ok but this hotel is in a terrible state. Front desk was not friendly and the entrance was in a terrible state. Elevators looked really old and the hallway to our room looked like a hostel dorm hallway. Not worth more than 50 bucks. These guys are just cashing on the fact that there are no other good hotels in hilo except Castle hilo hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.