We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilo Naniloa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hilo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

First off let me say I'm not one to EVER write a review. Usually when reading reviews I think people over exaggerate. But let me tell you this, THIS PLACE IS RIDICULOUSLY HORRIBLE. Don't be fooled by the pictures. The pictures are only a corner in the room. It looks nothing like the actual thing. We found a bug in our bed and when we complained they said "it's part of our disclosure" does that make any sense? We replied you mean bugs in the bed is part of your disclosure? She answered no. Staff has no idea what they're talking about. In the middle of the night we needed drinking water. When we called their so called "front desk" (by the way their phones don't work so you need to up call the hotel with ur cell phone) the man who answered the phone suggested for us to WALK to the hotel next door in the rain. Why in the world would someone in their right mind stay at a hotel who's referring you to another hotel for water? I always research before I stay and it stated that the hotel had all these amenities. IT'S WRONG. Management (wendy) didn't help in any way her answer to everything was "that's unfortunate". C'mon really?so we call and asked for towels because our room was out of towels. The guy who answered the phone told us to "come pick it up" umm? No. After repeating to him a gazillion times that were not picking it up he brought it up. The room? like someone mentioned before they have a pretty good photographer as it looks like nothing in the pictures. Everyone just stay away. No food no water nothing! Horrible service and rude. Never have I experienced a hotel stay like this one. Save yourself while its not too late. STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times. If you like modern shapes, unusual design, this hotel is a change of pace. It has a cold and spacious feel, probably due to the white color everywhere. In the room it's like being in a modern art museum. Very different than your common chain hotel.
Room charge is reasonable, but breakfast prices seemed steep to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was a nice place to rest for overnight. It is clean. The staff was friendly. There are restaurants, bars, and a grocery store near by. It is by the sea so you can still enjoy a view. There are not much facility there. No restaurants inside the hotel per se. Overall, it is Ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

In major need of a do up! Has so much potential to be an amazing resort but we found it to be just an average hotel. Rooms were very basic, paper thin walls. Would recommended this place to anyone on a budget, but don't expect too much as its very very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Address: 93 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations, sundeck and pool, golf course, business center, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel you'll receive a free round of 9-hole of golf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Naniloa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.