We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable and acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what people are complaining about. If you want nice, resort style hotel then you shouldn't come to Hilo. All the resort style hotels are on kona side.

Uncle billy is slightly old but clean. We stayed one night and didn't spend much time in the hotel, since my main purpose is to see big island, not spend time in the hotel.

If you are like me who just want a affordable and comfortable bed after a long day of activities, then this hotel is for you. It also provide free breakfast and free wifi which is great value for $90. I can save some money and spend them on other activities such as the helicopter tour for the volcano.

Hilo is close to rainbow falls, zip line, Akaka falls and the helicopter for volcano departs from Hilo airport, so I definitely recommend people to spend at least one night at Hilo.

Uncle billy meets all my needs and I will come back when I visit big island again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    90
    52
    73
See reviews for
66
104
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

check in was at 3:00, we didn't get in the room until 4--and it was horrible. It is cheap and if you don't mind old and worn out, ceiling tiles open above, wasn't sure what was in the ceiling??? I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is quirky and old, but in a charming kind of way. We liked it because it was inexpensive, friendly, and the only hotel in Hawaii that is Hawaiian family owned. The provided a simple breakfast, which is helpful. The location is great, walking distance to old town Hilo and the charming bay, Farmer's market, Coconut Island and the beautiful Queen Liliuokalani Gardens. If you aren't going to spend all day in your hotel and want to save money, like we do, Uncle Billy's is a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We are currently on third of 4 days. I was pleasantly surprised with the room, since others said it was so bad. Our number one thing in a hotel is cleanliness, and it is clean. We reserved a garden view room and were given an ocean view corner room at the same price without even asking for an upgrade! The view is amazing. Perhaps you complainers should have stayed at the Hilton down the street at three times the price. And complaining about breakfast!? Come on people. It is free. Again, if you want something nicer, go down the street and spend twelve dollars or more per person. To sum it up, if you are here to sightsee like my husband and I, and not spend time sitting in a hotel, I suggest staying here and saving your money to see the many great things Hawaii has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The best part of the entire stay is listening to the Coqui Frogs all night long. Other than that the place is a dump. It's old, run down and nasty. Mosquitos in the room. The breakfast in the morning is terrible; english muffins, papaya, juice and coffee. You can definitely do better than this place, but not price wise. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only stayed 2 night at Uncle Billy and it was too much. There was moisture in the room, leaking from the ceiling and going down along the wall. The day we left I checked under the bed to make sure we didn't forget anything and found empty beer cans that were there before us. eeew...

The only convinient thing about this hotel is its price and location (Hilo is close to Volcano) and that is NOT enough to warrant a stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I love how Uncle Billy's feels like the 70's. It is part of feeling like I am in old Hawaii, not in new slick shiny tourist Hawaii. The warm breeze and rain wafts in right between the two wings of the hotel, along the tropical garden walkway and rushing stream, buffering the rooms on each side from each other. I feel like i am part of the island. Our room was clean and comfortable.

It really depends on the room. My boyfriend had gotten the cheapest room, and I upgraded for $20 to an ocean view room, which turned out to be the corner above the pool on the second floor. It had a big picture window with a view of the bay, and a balcony on the side that the sun reached, so I could sunbathe in private. There was a big desk and comfortable chair, so i spent many hours writing and looking out the window while on rainy days. On sunny days, I was out running or walking. Uncle Billy's location on Banyan Drive is perfect for a run or long walk (1 mile?) to town along the bay and under the banyan trees. The pool was good for a quick dip, and it was possible to just sit by the bay water on the rocks.

I felt safe there, because the housekeeping staff was omnipresent, and watched all the comings and goings. The people in the connected grocery store were not very friendly, but there was good snack food there.

Uncle Billy's is in walking distance of 2 good dinner places - Coconut Grill to the left at the end of Banyan Dr, and Nihon, the Japanese restaurant to the right at the other end of Banyan. Nihon has great Japanese food, is upstairs with a view, but closes by 8:30. Coconut Grill has a variety of good Hawaiian food, with a friendly staff, and is open later.

The plain continental breakfast is saved by the papaya and guava juice. We kept other breakfast food in our fridge, which came with the room. We stayed 3 days, and I was sad to move on to Kona...this was such a pleasant experience of Hilo.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with view of the bay. The higher rooms aren't necessarily better, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel

Address: 87 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uncle Billys Hilo Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.