We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay House
Save Saved
You added The Bay House to your Saves list
42 Pukihae St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fifth night free!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 Star Plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

“Five Star Plus!!”

We spent 3 fabulous nights at this exceptional bed and breakfast. The setting is lovely, overlooking Hilo Bay. Breakfast on your own private balcony facing the ocean is relaxed and peaceful. Breakfast includes any or all of the following, being papaya, pineapple, scrambled eggs with potato, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, toast, and a delicious banana bread. This B&B is set up as a private wing of a beautiful home. This allows guests to interact with one another or maintain one's space. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable. TV and wifi are available.

Bay House is an easy walk to town. It is centrally located whether heading to the Volcano National Park, Akaka Falls, the spectacular Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens, or to the Pacific Tsunami Museum and fun farmers market. We would have loved to stay longer and would readily return. My husband considered this or a hotel stay. He made a great choice!!

Stayed January 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    28
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
135
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

spent 1 night in July of 2009 with some friends. Hosts were very nice, even made up popcorn with furikake for us. Had pleasant conversation with the Hosts and then they let us be. Convenient enough to walk across bridge to Hilo in the morning to see the canoes for a race. the B and B had a genuine "feel" to the place. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Bay House for 5 nights in early October and really enjoyed the stay. We were met by Christine who explained where everything was and how breakfast was served but we were left alone for the rest of our stay which suited us fine.

The room was lovely, very comfortable and a fantastic view across Hilo harbour. Breakfast was served daily with small variations every morning but there was always plenty and the kitchenette had facilites and food provided to make extra toast and drinks which was useful.

The whole place was kept very clean and our room was always serviced very quickly while we were out and about during the day. The box of chocolates was a lovely little extra.

I'd point out to anyone staying that there is the occassional aircraft going over but that's the same in most of Hilo as the airport is adjacent to the city. The frogs are noisy but I had 5 wonderful nights sleep and found the frogs and the sound of the waves outside seemed to help me nod off every night! It's a 5 minute walk from the B&B into downtown Hilo (where most bars and restaurants are), this is next to the main road and across the bridge but there are torches provided in the room for walking after dark.

Well recommended to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harbour room, lovely view across the bay. Palm room has less of a view across the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great view of the bay and morning sunrise. Bay House is located across the bridge and is within easy walking distance to the main tourist area near Hilo Bay. This is a great place for a romantic couples getaway and you're not really forced to interact with the other guests. The Palm Room has a private lanai so you can enjoy the terrific breakfast Host Tina serves promptly at 7am-- the papaya, dragon fruit, rambatan, mango fruit trays and baked goods are excellent. She also has cold hard boiled eggs, toast or instant oatmeal if you prefer. If you stay in the other rooms, you have a common lanai that is partitioned off, but you don't get that feeling of privacy (just something to consider when choosing a room here.) This is a great central location just off the main highway in terms of accessibility to Volcano National Park, or the Botanical Gardens, or Akaka Falls, or even the Black Sandy Beach at Punaluu. You can't go wrong with the location while visiting the Hilo side of the Big Island. Beds are soft, cozy and comfortable. Tina has complimentary ear plugs on the night stand, if you can't get used to the cocqui frogs that sing from about 8pm to almost sunrise at about 5am, oh and let's not forget that you are on a bluff about 30 feet above the Pacific Ocean-- so along with the frogs, you hear the soothing sound of waves crashing along the beach all night too. The Palm Room has a TV so you can listen to the local news in the morning to get a idea of what the weather will be like to help you plan your day. Tina is super friendly and prepares an awesome fruit tray for breakfast. Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Tom because he was away during our stay at Bay House. Overall, the rooms are clean, bug free, quiet and mostly private, and the linen and towels are fresh. My only caveat is the Cocqui Frogs that sing all night. If you are a light sleeper, this may pose a problem. Otherwise, this is an excellent B&B and definitely worth the highest rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Making our eighth visit to the Hawaiian Islands, my wife and I have recently spent a week at this wonderful B&B. Our hostess,Tina, was charm personified. She, and her husband Tom, provide a first class service with beautiful furniture in a modern home. We stayed in The Harbor Room where the bed was very comfortable and although the noise from nearby koki frogs may effect some light sleepers,Tina has thought of that and provides complimentary ear-plugs for those who may require them. Tina and Tom provide a healthy and wholesome breakfast to die for. Old Hilo town is a short walk away over the 'Singing Bridge', so there is no need to drive in to town. For anyone wishing to experience old Hawaii, well away from the now rather false, touristy Waikiki, and wishing to stay in first-class accommodation, then we would recommend that you stay at The Bay House and visit Hilo and the Puna District - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Excellent lanai overlooking Hilo Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Really glad we chose this B&B for our stay in Hilo. Easy to find from the airport and an easy walk back over the 'Singing Bridge' to downtown shops and cafes.
Tina is a lovely host who went the extra to assist with any queries etc., and the home is clean and fresh. Great view of Hilo Bay from the lanai. Stayed in Palm Room, great atmosphere and despite being given earplugs to combat the nighttime frog singing, we survived without using them!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights in the Harbor Room at the Bay House B&B earlier this month. There is a lot of great things about this place.

The room is very clean, and fairly spacious. King sized bed was nice and comfy. You can hear the sound of the waves hitting the shore from the bed, which we loved. The frog noise at night can be quite loud. As a light sleeper, I had to utilize ear plugs to keep from waking up. If you are a light sleeper, and haven't used ear plugs before, I would recommend giving them a few practice runs at home before you get to your vacation. That way you aren't adjusting to them in addition to a new place, time zone, etc.

Tina's breakfasts were always right on time and delicious! I don't know where she gets her fruit, but it was hands down the most consistently amazing pineapple and papaya we had during our 2 week stay in Hawaii. Her baked goods were also yummy, especially the banana bread. I loved starting our morning with breakfast on the lovely lanai. We watched the cruise ships creep by most mornings. You'll need some bug spray if the bugs find you easily.

The location is great if you're planning to spend time in Hilo, Puna, and the Volcano National Park. We found it to be a good home base for exploring. Downtown Hilo was about a 15 minutes walk for us. It took around 40 minutes to get to Volcano.

Overall we had a great stay in the Harbor Room. Thank you Tina for all your help and wonderful breakfasts!

Room Tip: It didn't bother us much, but the lanai is somewhat shared between the Harbor Room and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Address: 42 Pukihae St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.