We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Concerto

Cafe Concerto
808 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4215
808-934-0312
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 205 Restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Pahoa, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Terrific authentic Italian food where you might not expect it. The chef/owner makes some specialties you won't find elsewhere in Hilo. Comfy casual atmosphere and friendly waitstaff.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

seats are limited. If you are a big eater I suggest you look somewhere else or order a salad also. small menu, only a couple of dishes with meat. I ordered the caprese salad, maybe like 5 or 6 tomato slices with fresh mozzarella with salad. dressing was good. This is a full salad. Comes with 2 pieces of bread which taste good but it is the size of your pinky. I ordered the four cheese ravioli that is stuffed with spinach and cheese and its in this creamy sauce that also comes with bread. Ravioli was good. I ate every little thing on the plates I was just right not stuffed. They had three choices for dessert, panna cotta, tirimisu, and ice cream. you can bring your own wine, they provide wine glasses and uncork it for you. Waitress even offered to take the second bottle of wine and put it in the fridge. Waitress was nice and came to check. Cook/owner came out several times and asked how we were doing. one friend i was dining with been to Italy and she said the food tasted like in Italy. At the end of our dinner waitress brought out this digestif in a shot glass.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh pasta cooked by owner. Limited menu some dishes just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are coming to this restaurant I highly recommend the gorgonzola ravioli. Chicken with angel hair not so good. Salad needed better dressing. Very good prices.

I would return but would probably only order the ravioli. Probably would not venture to other menu items.

Cute little place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise. Tasty food and friendly owner and server for a bargain price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed pesto ravioli for under ten bucks. Nice enough atmosphere ate outside in a secluded area. My husband had angel hair pasta with a red clam sauce. They don't serve wine but were happy to uncork ours at no cost. And we enjoyed the liqueur digestive complimentary.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, decent and inexpensive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I like dining at Cafe Concerto because one can eat a fairly priced dinner in a comfortable setting. My wife and I prefer to dine outside under the canopy and take our chances with the rain. Unless the wind is blowing there's no problem with getting wet most of the time. The food is decent, not great, but who can complain when most entrees cost less than $10? And the after dinner digestive drink tastes wonderful and costs nothing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Concerto also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Concerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Concerto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.