We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice laid back vibe and even better sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Rock

Sushi Rock
55-3435 Akoni Pule Highway, Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719
+1 808-889-5900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A 5 star casual experience expanding the horizons of sushi featuring locally grown and raised mostly organic products and ingredients.Plenty of offeings for non fish eaters,vegetarians and those needing gluten free dining.Owner operated ,friendly and welcoming.Amazing house made desserts,salads,sandwiches,broiled items and, of course,world famous sushi!
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really nice laid back vibe and even better sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Exceptionally fresh food, friendly and attentive staff, and decent prices make this well worth the stop. I've lived in Japan and am more of a sushi purest, but the menu has some intriguing and imaginative choices like the "Neptune's Delight" featuring mahi mahi ceviche (my choice) and the "Magic Dragon" (husband's choice) featuring ahi (tuna) and unagi (eel). The menu is quite extensive and is filled with nearly something for everyone - noodles, salads, vegetarian choices, and dinner entrée options. The four of us ended up stuffing ourselves because we were tempted by too many great menu choices - some of which were surprisingly filling. As a note, the dining room is small and cozy, but we found a seat anyway. You might have to wait, but it's worth it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
How great to wake up to your wonderful review this morning.We at Sushi Rock and Trio are working so hard to enhance your experience.It is so gratifying to read your commentsThanks so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    58
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palatine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you get to the big Island of Hawaii, it's a must trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were on the Big Island of Hawaii for a week and had many wonderful experiences but our lunch at Sushi Rock was near if not at the top. The creative menu choices, the attentive service, tasty drinks along with memory jarring music made for a delightful lunch. If anything, we over ate at no fault of anyone but ourselves because we couldn't get enough of the great combinations assembled by the chefs. Yes, if you're on the Big Island of Hawaii, don't walk run to Sushi Rock.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Wow.thank you so much.We really care about people feeling the love we put into the Sushi Rock and Trio experiences and Im thrilled you felt it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very inventive sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have been meaning to try this place for some time. We finally made it and were intrigued by the menu. This is not your normal sushi! Local ingredients put together in ways I had not imagined. We decided to go with the chef's choice platter and were not disappointed. We were especially surprised when our 5 yr old daughter, who normally does not eat sushi, asked to try it all, and even liked most of it! That's high praise.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Back again for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

As I posted one year ago, this place has THE BEST sushi! Couldn't wait to get off the zip line tour to get here!

My wife and two girls are not fans of sushi so they went down the block for a bite. I sat at the small bar and enjoyed a couple of beers and a Rising Sun roll.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for coming back and thanks for your kind review.Always appreciated!I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lunch at the top of the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

So often we hit a restaurant because we've been out exploring, we've extended well past lunch and we have no idea where we should eat. Such was the case last week and we were pleasantly surprised. Good sushi with a Island twist, good local beer and tasty grilled fish sandwiches served up by friendly servers in a funky little, brightly decorated restaurant. It was exactly what we were hoping to find!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your reviewItotally agree with you about the plattersThey are chefs choice and not for everyone.Thanks so much for your praise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Rock also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sushi Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.