We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Delicatessen - CLOSED

Lighthouse Delicatessen
55-3419 Akoni Pule Hwy, Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-889-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had to try this place after reading the reviews and wasn't disappointed. Friendly, no-frills service and excellent food. The sandwiches are substantial, and there is lots to choose from for food and drinks. Outside tables are in the shade and great for people-watching. Perfect place for a lunch stop while driving around the Big Island's northwest corner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food off the beaten path.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in Hawi to check out the art and the funky atmosphere. Dropped in to the Lighthouse deli for lunch (BBQ pork and a Rueben) and a beer. The food was excellent. The beer was cold and refreshing. The atmosphere was comfortable and funky. Sat next to a human-shaped hole in the wall. All the while locals are in and out getting deli meats and cheeses. Highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best sandwich place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We found this great place last year on first trip up to Hawi. (Hawi is where IronMan bike course turns around.) We love sushi and poke but were craving a good sandwich. It was the same this year - the owner is originally from NY and after living here a few years missed pastrami, cheeses etc. so opened this place. He also owns the liquor/beer store next door so if you buy a beer there you can eat outside - if you buy a beer in the deli you have to eat inside? Good selection of typical deli sandwiches and option to make your own with choices for meat, cheese, condiments, and lettuce, onion etc. Baquette was very fresh and warm - lettuce was fresh baby greens. Interesting sodas such as ginger beer, lemon-lime with bitters, and grapefruit.
Since it was late for lunch three of us split a sandwich with turkey and brie - it was just enough and turkey was good Boars Head - not turkey ball/roll. We will be back before we leave - worth the drive from Kona. Hawi is cute little town with a few nice shops so nice outing after day at beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious (and HUGE!!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had lunch here on our way to the valley, extensive menu, super fresh food, great sandwiches. Try the New Yorker, fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great spot for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I found this restaurant on trip advisor and decided to make the journey here. It was about 40 minutes from where we are staying but it was worth the drive! The menu is unique and amazing. Prices were very reasonable for the amount of food you get. We got the pretzel after reading reviews on here and we were not let down! I'm glad we found this place. There are a lot of cute little shops around the restaurant too. It's a good find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Delicatessen also viewed

Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.