We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable place in Hawi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kohala Village Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kohala Village Inn
Save
You added Kohala Village Inn to your Saves list
55-514 Hawi Rd., Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawi
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Affordable place in Hawi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

Don't expect alot from the Kohala Village Inn in Hawi Hawaii. It is a very small town and the inn is not impressive. But the rate $65-85 per night is reasonable. The room we had was decent, clean and Hawaiian plantation style. Nice television with several channels. There is no room service, so make the soap, towels and toilet paper last if you are going to be there more than two days. There is no air conditioning but the ceiling fan will help keep the room cool and you can open the windows also. If there is any noise in adjoining rooms or outside you will hear it. The inn had its own restaurant but they are in the process of slowly remodeling it, so it is gutted and you will have to eat somewhere else in town. The town closes down around 9 p.m. so be sure to get whatever food and supplies you need early in the day. There is not much to do in Hawi, you can see everything the town has to offer in about 20 minutes. You are probably better off just driving through instead of staying over night.

  • Liked — Rate
  • Disliked — Sound carries through walls and windows, feral cats on property, unproffesional staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay only one night
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
38
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

Although the wind at night cools the area, the rooms are designed so you do not get any of this breeze. They don’t believe in air conditioning and so you will roast all night looking forward to a shower in the morning. But be careful – you get one bar of soap for the sink AND the shower and it has to last at least three days (a small bar so use it cautiously). No room service, beds are never made, garbage stacks up, no clean towels, etc. But than there is breakfast – English Muffins and ??? Well that is it. Don’t bother to complain – they don’t care.

  • Liked — The room was nice but extremely hot with no air conditioning
  • Disliked — Extremely hot, no air conditioning, breakfast was sad and they didn't care
  • Tips/Secrets — Find some where else - even the beach would be a better place to stay
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

We stayed at this inn in May for one night on our trip around the big island. The room was clean, not at all musty, and comfortable. The internet access and continental breakfast was a plus. The restaurant was closed for renovation so we ate at a nice little place in Hawi called Auntie's. We were treated very well by the staff and it was an overall pleasant stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

Four of us stayed at the Kohala Inn for one night. It is currently going under some renovations, besides this the stay was nice. Yes please be aware there is a smell of must when you get into the room, but it is so beautiful outside you just open up the windows and start up the ceiling fan and you are set. We did receive 15% off our bill since there was construction going on but we did not here a thing the whole time. The owner was very nice and recommended we go to a restaraunt down the road called the Sushi Rock. We of course were a little hesitant at first and tried to find another place to eat, but could not find anything else to our liking. Since the Sushi Rock did not open until 5:30pm we strolled the quaint little town and enjoyed all of the little shops along the strip and then went to eat. THE SUSHI ROCK IS EXCELLENT!!!! When first saw this little whole in the wall we thought, "yeah right this does not look like a good place to eat." I WAS COMPLETELY WRONG. IF YOU ARE IN HAWI, HI AND STAYING ANYWHERE NEAR THE SUSHI ROCK YOU MUST GO!!!! The food is excellent from appetizer to desert. We All Loved It. We Truly Believe Hawi, Hi. Is The Next Upcoming Town Due To The Sushi Rock And The Kohala Inn. Also I Know The Road To Hana Is On Maui And We Absolutely Hated The Road To Hana, But Take The Road To Hawi, Hi And It Will Be Twenty Times Worth It. The Upcountry Is Beautiful And The Roads Are Way Better Than Hana. We Definitely Did Not Expect What We Got Out Of This Little Stay In Hawi, Hi. It Was Great And The Views Along The Way Were Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2005

I stayed in the Kohala Village Inn (KVI) for 7 days and nights in June of 2005 and found the experience to be rather rustic but nonetheless very enjoyable. I had spent the previous 9 days at the all inclusive, four star Kona Village 40 miles to the south so the change in the level of amenities and overall service was dramatic, to say the least. At the same time, that should be expected because the KVI is about as far from a property like Kona Village as you can get. While the rooms are very basic and even the slightest bit "musty smelling", the whole property exudes the character that lives on from its previous life as a sugar cane plantation. Located in the heart of tiny Hawi, all the town has to offer is literally seconds away by foot, including a top notch (though very casual) restaurant located on property.

Even though Hawi and the neighboring town of Kappa'au have a large number of galleries and artists' shops, the area is by no means overcommercialized. I found the staff at the KVI and the Hawi locals to be very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend a stay at the KVI if for no other reason than the fact that it gives a good taste of what small town living in Hawaii is all about. If luxury and being pampered to death are your reason for being in Hawaii, I would definitely recommend one of the many huge resorts to the south, even though they will cost you several times what the KVI charges.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2005

There were ants, no clean towels, and the room smelled musty. do not recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohala Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Village Inn

Address: 55-514 Hawi Rd., Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
~E Komo Mai~ Loaded with comfort and amenities, the Kohala Village Inn is not only the finest choice in hotels, it is an outstanding value. We offer a wide selection of rooms to choose from, each with private bath, satellite television and ceiling fans. High speed internet access is available and kama'aina rates are offered where applicable. The Big Island's most beautiful beaches, historical sites and scenic areas dot the Kohala Coast and are all easily accessible from Hawi. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, local attractions, and the famous Kamehameha Statue is just down the road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kohala Village Hotel Hawi
Kohala Village Hawi
Kohala Village Inn Hawi, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohala Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.