We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO MUCH FUN!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zip Isle Zip Line

Zip Isle Zip Line
31-240 Government Road, Highway 19 & Leopolino Road (Mile marker 16), Hakalau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96710
888-947-4753
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zip Isle is the exciting new Eco Adventure of a lifetime on the Big Island. You will fly through the rain forest canopy on Hawaii's only accredited Zip Line. Segway of Hawaii is also located here for even more fun as a combo tour with the zip line. Glide the off road machines through the rain forest before or after flying the zip line. Located just 16 miles from Hilo, Zip Isle includes a 7-stage Zip Line and a suspension bridge, and it only takes about two hours.Zip Line lengths from 200 to 1,100 feet• Gift Shop, Snacks and Drinks• Transport to launch start• Safety training and all equipment provided• Zip Isle operates to the standards of the American National Standards Institute• Member: Professional Ropes Course Association (PRCA)Advance reservations are recommended, as space is limited. Walk up riders are welcome on a space available basis with registration at the visitor center at the World Botanical Gardens --- open 9:00am - 5:30pm daily.Who Can Ride - The Canopy Tour is designed for riders from 70 - 270 pounds. Impaired guests will not be allowed.What to Wear/Bring - Closed toed shoes, long pant/shorts, rain gear in wet weather. No dangling jewelry, piercings; secure eyeglasses and tie back long hair please.Directions - From Kona: Follow Highway 19 through Waimea and continue south towards Hilo. Three miles past Ninole, turn right at mile marker 16 and follow the signs.Directions - From Hilo: Take Highway 19 north 16 miles, turn left at mile marker 16 and follow the signs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SO MUCH FUN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I live in Hilo and several Zip line adventures were recommended for me while a friend was here from California. I found this tour through Groupon and got a great deal on the whole thing! The instructors and the staff were hilarious! They were also very knowledgable about some of the plants that you see along the trails for the zip line. They are very welcoming and make the whole experience amazing! Even though it rained during our tour, they still made light of the situation and made it a whole lot of fun!! I would HIGHLY recommend this as a vacation spot!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    13
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The zip line is very easy. The guides do the braking for you so all you have to do is look around and down! After, we walked through the Botanical Gardens and saw many varieties of palms and walked down to see the waterfall.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great zipline tour for beginners and Segway was fun, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a great zipline tour for beginners. The staff is excellent and the ziplines aren't too intimidating. The suspension bridge was actually the scariest part! What a great day doing both the zipline and their segway tour as a group. When we first arrived, we weren't all that impressed by the botanical gardens, but the segway tour is definitely the best way to do that as they also tell you a great deal about the plants.
As others have mentioned, definitely wear/bring bug spray.
For the zipline tour, if you tell them in advance you want the photo package, it's only $8. It's $10 if you purchase it afterwards. But, either way, it's a great value as they email you ALL of the photos they took of your tour for that price. This is really nice as many attractions take one photo of you and then charge $25 or more for one printed copy. And, given that you may not want to try to carry a camera or a phone, this is a great benefit.
You will not be able to carry anything in upper pant pockets. They do have fanny packs available to borrow if you have anything you need to put in them. Otherwise, they offer to lock up any valuables for you.
Also note that the restroom on the property is a portable unit. It's clean, but primitive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you want to expand your comfort zone, check off a couple of items from your bucket list and have the experience of a lifetime....try ziplining and riding a Segway through lush botanical gardens. Four of us (2 couples in or nearing our 70's) had the opportunity to do just that thanks to the skilled people at World Botanical Gardens/Zip Isle. While being novices and more than a little apprehensive about balancing on strange two wheeled machines and later being strapped into a harness that allows you to fly across the tree tops, Miles, Arnell, Pedro and Dovie made us feel confident and relaxed. You couldn't find a better instructor/guide than Miles - patient and knowledgeable. Our other guides, Arnell and Pedro were delightful, humorous and professional. Dovie was great too adding his touch of impish flair.
From our friendly welcome at registration with Kika and Haisley to our reluctant goodbye our visit could not have been more memorable. We'll be back!
Wally/Pam Adams Pat/Judy Murphy

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Zip Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I enjoyed this new experience near Hilo. At first I was apprehensive but the two young men who directed us were great, and put us all at ease. I am 75 years old and if I can do it, you can do it.
The first two lines are elementary, but then the exciting part comes. The hanging bridge was fun too. Woo Hoo....don't miss it.
My nephew rode on the side by side line and took a video. Priceless!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zip Isle Zip Line also viewed

 

Been to Zip Isle Zip Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zip Isle Zip Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.