We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akiko's Buddhist B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hakalau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
P.O. Box 272, Wailea, Hakalau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hakalau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
“Akiko's Buddhist B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Regardless of its name, we found that ALL guests are welcome and need not be Buddhist to enjoy a unique stay at Akiko's Buddhist B & B. There are no religious strictures, proselytizing or even mentioning of religion except for little uplifting sayings placed at appropriate places through out the place. However, if you are into  Zen or any other kind of  Buddhism, there is a separate Zendo for meditation. 
We found Akiko's a reasonably priced, clean, and unpretentious B&B in refurbished sugar plantation era homes.  It is for people interested in a restful stay, untroubled by the pace of modern life. You are invited to events at the little town of Wailea with an opportunity for immersion in local culture, if you wish. There you meet the elders who lived the plantation life for a weekly sponsored lunch (Donations are appreciated.) or at a unique multicultural farmers market. The neighbors we encountered in our walks and my morning photographic forays  were delightfully friendly. Newbies in the area take organized group walks.
The B&B imparts to guests the ambiance of living in a sugar plantation home of the past.  In this it succeeds. Situated  in tropical rain forest vegetation, visitors can take a short stress reducing walk under overarching tall trees to a river and the ocean at sea cliffs. Consequently, there are many opportunities to enjoy nature as many of the residents do.
Akiko herself is a most welcoming, hospitable and friendly person. She is college educated, a former dancer and artist. The spirit of her thoughtful attitudes and  beliefs permeates the grounds. She energetically maintains the facility with the willing help of her neighbors and friends. It is a nucleus for the evolving rejuvenation of this little plantation town. 
We sincerely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there which was enhanced, in no small measure, by the especially generous, locally grown, delicious and healthy breakfasts provided by her. We plan to return.
Clinton Kawanishi, Ph.D and Parthena Martin, Ph. D

Room Tip: A new "green" addition is being built. It is situated away from the house and would seem l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Papaaloa, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Akiko's BB is a true treasure in the midst of a rare hawaiian micro climate. For the first 22 miles traveling North of Hilo on hwy 19 you will be able to find numerous waterfalls, pools and streams- including the Great Akaka falls - here there is more water flowing than anyplace in hawaii. Akikos is right in the middle, and her mind is like the water flowing all around.. Within the grounds are pathways that remove you from the world and surround you with flowers, fruit, coconuts, and tall trees with a little hale here and there. Go for it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

On my very first trip to Hawai'i - and I went somewhat reluctantly! - I had the great good fortune to find myself at Akiko's BBand B. I had no idea that such a refuge could still exist. It was better than I could have even imagined from the web site - and that's pretty good! Akiko herself is a remarkable woman and her skillful, artistic hand is evident everywhere, from the garage -gallery, to the off-kitchen garden, to the sweet rooms, to the bathroom/shower with a view of deep red anthuriums growing freely. Of course, I, like so many, fell in love with the great beauty of this special place, in this special place, Hawai'i.

Room Tip: I have slept in all the rooms and each has a different, interesting feel, but I prefer the small bac...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The first thing that you notice when you arrive at this rare and secret jewel on the Hilo coast is that Akiko’s heart beats with the deep spirit of Aloha. Yes, this is the Hawai`i that you have dreamt about!

If you are seeking simplicity, ethereal beauty, inspiration, peace, laughter, and a life- transforming experience, this is IT! Akiko’s sacred space occupies another dimension and time, where seeds of loving kindness are nurtured and inner truth is revealed.

Here, you will awaken surrounded by lush gardens, perfumed with the sweet scent of plumeria, gardenia, sacred Chinese blossoms, birdsong and fresh morning dew. Light breezes will touch your skin, while ancient chants and smoky incense ribbons float in the wind. You will be transported by the resonance of the ancestral temple bell which Akiko rings at morning and night.

You will savor Akiko’s gourmet farm-to-table breakfasts, with exotic delicacies served on antique Japanese porcelain, while engaging in enlightening conversation with your fellow guests. He or she might be an artist from New York, an attorney from Switzerland, a healer from Germany, a filmmaker from California, a couple from Honolulu, or, on blessed occasions, a Hawaiian villager elder.

Time stops here, and you are free to design your own personal retreat, limited only by your own inner spirit: Sit quietly, walk mindfully, swim in cool streams, practice tai chi, work in the garden, immerse yourself in a pile of books, move your creative juices, or, if you’d like, sleep deeply for days. Nourish your heart, soul, mind and body at Akiko's B&B for a fraction of what might spend at a luxury resort.

Akiko Masuda is beautiful, joyful (her laugh is infectious), artistic, intelligent, talented, loving and respectful. Her spirit of ho`okipa (gracious hospitality) has touched thousands of visitors, and her name is known around the globe. Many guests return again and again, on an annual pilgrimage.

I have stayed here on business, with my family, with friends, solo and as a couple. And, on every occasion, I am sad to leave. However you choose to spend this precious moment at Akiko’s B&B, I assure you that you will will find the key to lasting peace and be very happy that you came.

Aloha Pumehana!

Kehau

Room Tip: Fitness can come from working on the `aina. Swimming is just down the road in the cool mountain str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Several times a year I return to Akiko’s Buddhist Bed & Breakfast without knowing exactly what kind of magic I will find. Just 15 miles from Hilo, all of East Hawaii and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park are nearby for your exploration. The variety of accommodations can easily be tailored to your needs. The Monastery House is more traditional with futon-on-the-floor single rooms on the second floor that span out around a stately old Zen meditation room. Here silence is observed from sunset to sunrise and group meditation with Akiko’s thoughtful style of instruction is available if you would like to join in.

Each of the other buildings is also unique. If you are lucky you may meet Akiko’s dear friend and professional Hilo painting contractor Eric Sakihara as he brings new life to the Temple of the Ancestors and the Pu’uhonua House. Here you will find bright rooms with Western beds, community spaces and a full kitchen. Perhaps you are in transition and would feel renewed by one of the two just-off-the-grid screened studios tucked quietly into the jungle. This is as close as you will ever come to nature without a tent. Or the privacy and comfort of the artist studio located above the old Motonaga Garage may be your choice for longer stays. The garage was built in 1935 during the heyday of the sugar cane era in Hawaii and is now an amazing gallery for local artists. With WiFi, one of my favorite pastimes is sitting in the old garage listening to the soothing sounds of wind chimes and water fountains while working on my laptop. Here I can recharge my computer as well as my soul as I watch the ever-changing light. Akiko also has a beautiful new vacation rental for you and your friends or family right across the street from the original buildings. Check it out online.

Breakfast is a time of community with other guests and nutritious offerings to power up your day. There will be homemade jams, fresh morning breads and seasonal fresh fruit from the village. Akiko’s signature porridge or French toast or farm eggs along with Kona coffee will keep you coming back for more. Although Akiko’s B&B is nestled into the sleepy little village of Wailea, there are endless daily classes, weekly markets and monthly hikes and events to satisfy your spirit of adventure close by. Hilo is a town of wonderful restaurants, beautiful harbors, parks, dramatic beaches and fun surf breaks.

If you appreciate a fresh alternative to our busy world, Akiko’s is a wonderful choice. The web site offers great photos and descriptions and Akiko is reliably available for questions or concerns via phone or email. She will help you find the perfect experience for you.

Susie Dorian
Holualoa, Hawaii
October 21, 2013

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I have the most memorable stay with Akiko. The room was fantastic with rain falling on the roof while thousands of tree frogs sang in chorus as we fell alsleep. The breakfast was a relaxing experience consisting of wonderful eggs, homemade bread, and fruit along with remarkable stories of days gone by. This a place for relaxation and quiet contemplation.

I would highly recommend staying at Akiko's. Its worth staying here just to meet and interact with Akiko. Its truely the old Hawaii with a flavor of Japanese sprinkled in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Some friends and I stay at Akiko's several years ago. It was a wonderful experience! A real peaceful environment nested in the rolling hills of the Hamakua Coast of the Big Island. Lush vegetation surrounds this little retreat in a quaint little town that reminds one of old Hawaii with period plantation era buildings. Akiko is very in tune and involved with her environment which includes her warm relationship with her neighbors, and friends from near and far.

Jon
photographer and wood turner
Honolulu

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 272, Wailea, Hakalau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96710
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hakalau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hakalau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.