We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'awa Loa Plantation to your Saves list
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guest house, property and views of Kealakeua Bay are beautiful. We awoke every morning to the peaceful sound of birds and enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the lanai. Don't miss the outdoor lava rock shower.

The best snorkeling on the island is in the bay below Ka'awa Loa. Rent kayaks at the wharf and paddle across the bay to the Captain Cook monument. Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
224
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We can't recommend this place highly enough. Wonderful hosts, amazing property and a killer breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is by far my favorite B&B I have ever stayed at. First off, the house and property are gorgeous. The views are breathtaking - pictures don't do them justice. It's calm, quiet, comfortable. Greg and Michael are such great hosts - they are warm and friendly and make you feel so relaxed at at home (you know how some B&Bs can feel awkward? it wasn't like that at all). They grow all sorts of things on their land - coffee, guava, pineapple... and having just-picked produce at breakfast is such a treat. Also, the location is perfect. It's on the Kona side of the big island but not in touristy downtown Kona - so it's also near good, local restaurants, not tourist traps. At the B&B, there are also outdoor lava rock showers, and an outdoor hot tub and steam room too. Loved this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

This was the place of our holidays/honeymoon. We stayed there for 5 days, the first 3 in the cottage and the last 2 in the main house. The views are bird's eye, through a magnificent shore, the accommodation clean, cosy, quiet and romantic. But what made the difference was the service. Michael and Greg are warm and professional hosts, that made us feel at home. The delicious breakfasts, the jacuzzi under the starry sky, the sauna... were just perfect for this kind of trip. The decoration itself is wonderful (and meets our European style), with lots of little details (books around, candies, small lights, the ambience fragrance...) and even a fireplace heated every evening. Congratulation Michael and Greg for your nice B&B. Don't hesitate to stay there if you can afford it. We just love it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We spent a week of our honeymoon at the Ka'awa Loa Plantation in the cottage. The cottage is beautifully decorated and had a kitchen which was great. We even had our own private garden with banana trees and a lovely terrace which we had our supper on a few times. The main house is gorgeous and we were made to feel very at home and the hosts were so welcoming. When we arrived we dropped off our luggage and climbed into the open air hot tub with views over Captain Cook Bay. Ka'awa Loa can organise massages overlooking the bay and the eucalyptus steam room with stunning views and the open air lava shower were both amazing (especially the steam room). Everyday Greg made some food for the afternoon for everyone to help themselves. The baked cheesecake and lilkoi sauce was so delicious we had quite a lot... Not to mention Greg's breakfasts (including a pineapple cake for my birthday) which were delicious - and all made fresh when we got up and wandered over to the main house. They also grow coffee on their plantation.

Everyone at Ka'awa Loa made our honeymoon fantastic - helping us by booking up local restaurants and giving us tips for the best snorkeling, and where to visit. Its not far from Kona where there are some nice bars and restaurants, as well as being well placed for kayaking accross Captain Cook Bay.

I'd love to go back - this b&b was fantastic.

  • Liked — beautiful views, excellent food, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for a week and loved every minute. Gregory and Michael were the perfect hosts, the B&B is impeccably clean, the views are stunning. Breakfast every morning in their spacious kitchen included fresh fruit from the plantation, fresh bread, cereal, and a main dish (pancakes, quiche, eggs, etc.) which they rotate to keep things interesting.

If there's time, ask Michael for a tour of the plantation. They grow their own coffee and fruit, and they may even let you taste the noni, which according to locals cures just about everything.

The hotel has a hot tub, steam room, outdoor lavarock showers, veranda with comfortable armchairs to relax and enjoy the beautiful view, spacious living room with fireplace, and if you can tear yourself away from the location, the hosts have plenty of info on places to eat and visit.

Follow directions carefully, as the B&B is off the highway down a small winding road, and their driveway is narrow and very steep. Check them out in the Feb. 2009 issue of Sunset Magazine under Top 20 Romantic Getaways under $250.

  • Liked — Serene, private and beautiful location; smaller and friendlier than a chain hotel
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Ka'awa Loa. Greg and Michael are great hosts who go out of their way to be sure everything is just right. The breakfasts were healthful and plentiful. The accommodations were very nice - and also very clean. The view was fantastic. It was a very relaxing holiday. It would not be a place for children, but it is an excellent location for couples of all ages.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the hosts
  • Disliked — Possibly the long driveway and minimal parking - but it was not a big deal.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'awa Loa Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.