We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilled our desire for a quiet place to kick back and relax.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
83-5605 Middle Keei Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fulfilled our desire for a quiet place to kick back and relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was our 5th visit to the big island staying with Pat at the Bayview Inn. We wanted to just take it easy and not race all over the island. We spent 12 days there this trip and Pat was there every morning with a very nice breakfast. For half the time we were the only guests and had the run of the place. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

I am very surprised that another reviewer was not happy here. But it appears I arrived after that reviewer left, and I think I have figured out what happened. The hostess mentioned that she had been laid up for a couple of days after a back seizure episode, and that she had been struggling to serve her guests. She does not seem like a complainer so she may not have explained to everyone that she was ill, but perhaps she was not able to drive and replenish supplies for a few days. She was a perfect hostess, although I think she was still in pain. I stayed in the Paniolo room, which is down at the end of the row of units. It takes a few moments for the hot water to get there sometimes. Nothing was broken as far as I know and we had no cold showers. Everything is very well maintained and the hostess does everything possible to make guests comfortable. I can only guess that her medical situation made it difficult for her to function for a day or two. This remains my favorite place in the area and I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

First the good: This B & B has an incredible view of the bay and great sunsets, with a clean room, and a pleasant lanai to sit out on and take it all in.
But the bad: The shower in our room had a broken faucet that only sometimes produced hot water. My boyfriend and I both endured cold showers as a result. The first breakfast of fresh fruit and french toast was nice, but the hostess ran out of coffee and had no cream or milk, just powdered creamer to use. Another guest provided his own coffee for the second cup. When I asked for some milk for my tea, she said she ran out and did not apologize. We told her we had to leave an hour before 8:00, the appointed breakfast hour, to catch our flight out the second day. She did not offer to make us breakfast, instead saying something about putting out coffee for us. There were no other guests that day so she would not have had to cook more than one meal. Nor did she offer any refund for the fact that we would not get breakfast. When we got up, there was some ground coffee and water in the pot to make a half pot of coffee. She had taken away the powdered creamer and not put out any milk or cream.
So although the view was great, I would say that any of the inns on the south Kona Coast - and we drove past quite a few in this neighborhood - would have that same view. Maybe Pat was having a bad day or is tired of being in this business, but she didn't impress as really caring about her guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We have stayed several times at Bay view Inn and we will certainly return. This is the real Hawaii of old, hard to find these days. The place is well laid out with large lanais connecting all the bedroom suites. Each suite has its own Hawaii theme and of course a nice en suite bathroom. Our room was cool, no need for air conditioning there,with a view looking out over the ocean and the Captain Cook monument. We are from Australia, Captain Cook has a special meaning for us as one of our founding our heros was eating there.

The area of Captain Cook is famous for its Kona coffee, Mac nuts, tropical fruits and lush tropical gardens. Pat ,the host makes sure the breakfast each morning is interesting, different and features good, healthy local produce. Pat is most welcoming and leaves guests to themselves.It was never suggested we should write a review or pushed into any promotion, not like some other places we have stayed..

We had another wonderful time at the Bay View Inn and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My two stays at the Bayview Inn have been delightful. The location is superb, nestled on a mountainside among lush farmland with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and Kealekekua Bay. One of my favorite island landmarks, the Cook Monument, is visible from the inn.

All rooms at the inn are very nice and include a nice outdoor seating area and lounge chairs, and the suite has a private lanai. A wonderful breakfast and coffee are served every morning, which is a nice time to compare vacation tips with fellow guests and the inn's owner, Pat.

The inn is secluded enough for peace and quiet both day and night, yet services (restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, etc.) are no more than fifteen minutes away via a scenic hillside drive. Hint: the informal Coffee Shack and fine dining at the Keei Cafe are short drives away.

The inn is a snorkeler's paradise. Two of the best snorkel spots on the Big Island, Kealekekua Bay and Two Step, are nearby (both can be seen from the inn's grounds). Pat will give you simple directions to both locations. For kayak rentals, I recommend Kona Boys, a fifteen minute drive from the inn. For hikers, the trailhead for the Cook Trail is ten minutes away.

Pat is an excellent hostess. She has a wealth of information regarding Kona Coast activities, and she's always made us feel right at home at the inn.

The Bayview Inn is ideal for travelers who want to enjoy a relaxing atmosphere on the beautiful Kona Coast. It's a fantastic base for exploring the island and is easy to reach from Kailua-Kona and its airport. Directions to the inn are simple and it's reached via well-kept roads (important on the Big Island).

The Bayview Inn is a member of the Big Island Bed & Breakfast Association, which is reassuring for travelers. In order to belong, members must be county licensed, inspected, and meet high standards. I discovered the inn via the B & B Association's brochure.

I've posted a few photos of the inn. Someone accidentally posted a few photos on the TripAdvisor site which are not the Bayview Inn, entitled Garden View, Garden View 1, and The Lodge. In case my photos didn't capture it, the inn and its grounds are lovely and the views are spectacular.

I heartily endorse the Bayview Inn and hope to stay there again next year for the third year in a row. If you stay there, pack your snorkel gear, some books for nighttime reading, and a few munchies to put in the guests' refrigerator and you'll have a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We chose Bayview on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disapointed. It's in a residential/agricultural area about 10-15 miles south of Kailua and about 1,000 feet up the side of the volcano. Great view of the ocean and a relatively short drive to a choice of beaches. Pat, the very nice owner/hostess serves a nice variety of breakfasts, heavy on great fruit, most of which she grows. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Not air-conditioned, but a ceiling fan and ocean breezes cool them pretty well. A number of good restaurants nearby if you don't want to drive back to the touristy part of the island for dinner. Warning: Don't scratch the Bayview cat's tummy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Captain Cook is an area with a real "old Hawaii" feel, and this quiet, comfortable small B&B (4 rooms) with stunning views out over the Pacific fits right into that mold. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped (but not fancy. they all open onto a big lanai and lawn that face that great view. the "deluxe" room (which we had) has a small, more private-feeling lanai as well -- worth the extra cost. It is run by the owner in a low key, un-fussy but very competent way. She is friendly and ready to share her knowledge of things local. Homecooked breakfasts served on the lanai included lots of fresh island fruit and plenty of good coffee (an essential for me). Staying here I slipped effortlessly into the laid-back, close-to-nature island mindset that is one of the reasons I love Hawaii. If you are looking for glitz and nightlife, this is probably not for you. But for a peaceful stay in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to the area attractions (snorkeling, kayaking, beaches, coffee and macademia plantations, the City of Refuge) and a peaceful place to return to to watch the sun set over the ocean, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 83-5605 Middle Keei Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and quiet country setting in a 40 acre macadamia orchard. Lovely villa style home with beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with ensuite baths and ocean view. Immaculate housekeeping, friendly and helpful hostess. Two miles to the best snorkeling and kayaking on the island. Hour and a half to the volcano, and several good hikes closer by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Bayview Inn Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.