We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B to your Saves list
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82-5889 Old Government Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

What a truly perfect place. Its only 30 minutes from Kona and a few minutes (drive) from the beach. Absolutely perfect in all ways. (Although, I would put a curtain on the skylight, I can imagine the sun waking me up in the summer :) ) The location also make sit great to visit the volcano, the lava, observatory and pretty much everything else the Big Island can offer.

The hosts were fantastic and every morning we had an AWESOME breakfast. If you need to know any information about the Big Island, just ask Kurt; he's like a walking encyclopedia of the place!

So, anything else to add? Well, not really. Just a highly recommended place.

Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
42
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Edge is located in a lush area of Captain Cook with absolutely breath taking views down to the ocean. The hosts are a charming couple, Kurt and Kana, along with their precocious young daughter, Jenna. They serve a customized breakfast every morning with a myriad of Hawaiian fruits and their fabulous Kona coffee.

They were helpful with planning what we wanted to do during our stay. We visited the nearby Ethnobotannical Gardens, the Place of Refuge and the Painted Church. They also steered us to some great local eateries. Kurt gave us a tour of the plants around his home and allowed us to tag along and learn about his harvesting of the coffee.

The Edge was clean, welcoming and relaxing. Yes, the place is a little difficult to find the first time in, but it was a fun adventure. I would recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the Big Island for a true taste of Hawaiian life.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Edge of the World. It was the first place we stayed on the Big Island and Kurt and his family made us feel welcome with their great breakfasts and Aloha spirit. The location was great. it was very secluded and lovely - a little tricky to get to, but follow the detailed directions and you'll have no problems finding the place, and it is definitely worth it. The view from the lanai was breathtaking! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

The owners, Kana and Kurt, do a great job making this a relaxing and beautiful place to stay. From the time we made our reservation until the time our visit ended, Kurt eagerly provided helpful information about things to do on Hawaii's west coast and beyond. He also gave helpful answers to our questions and suggested snorkel spots we had not considered (such as "Two Step," which we highly recommend).

Kana prepares delicious breakfasts (available in traditional, Japanese, or vegetarian). The breakfast includes local organic fruit, such as papaya, dragon fruit, and guava. It was the best tropical fruit I've ever had. The large lanai, where breakfast is served, has magnificent views of the ocean 1000 ft down the hill.

Although Kurt says there are no rules for guests, everyone was considerate of each other, and no problems arose. In accordance with the relaxed attitude, no one cleaned the rooms or provided fresh towels during our stay. Although the main rooms of the house were very nice, the room in which we stayed didn't feel as clean or up-to-date, and some of the pillows had an unpleasant smell. Guests can borrow beach towels, mats, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, hats, and any of the other beach items in the garage. Guests may store food in the fridge. The couple's amazingly adorable five year old daughter also loves to play with the guests.

The house is surrounded by coffee trees and tropical fruit trees. Kurt will gladly give you an interesting tour of the property. To get to the house, you must drive downhill on an extremely narrow road through beautiful, lush rain forest. It was scary the first few times. I highly recommend taking Kurt's advice to arrive before dark at the beginning of your stay. (That said, we discovered that similarly narrow roads are common on this portion of the island. For instance, they're a necessary obstacle if you want to go to many of the nicest snorkel spots.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The "Edge" is a wonderful located B´n´B which offers a breathtaking view over the nearby ocean. Three charming rooms and a lovely "staff" give you a warm welcome. A superb spot to explore the Big Island with its spectaculare landscapes and wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is a place where you feel welcome. Kurt, his wife and daughter Jenna offer a very cozy house with great breakfast, company, and wonderful views of the south Kona house. This is what a bed & breakfast should be. Somebody's house opened up to provide real hospitality and give you a feel of what it is like to live on a small coffee farm. I definately will come back. Our room was on the top floor and had a private balcony. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Delightful B&B with super friendly and interesting hosts! The 'Crow's Nest' room has a super view and private deck, breakfast is delicious and the location is lovely. It's so close to everything while still in a country location. We had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B

Address: 82-5889 Old Government Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremendous ocean views, peaceful, excellent snorkeling, ocean kayaking, beaches,hikes. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Up-scale quality and down-scale prices. Excellent value. English, Japanese, Korean, German and Spanish spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Beautiful Edge Of The World B&B Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.