We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Captain Cook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
Save
You added Luana Inn to your Saves list
82-5856 Napoopoo Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SFinOrotavaTenerife
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best place in Captain Cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

You can't find a better bed
And breakfast for the money.
Far exceeded our expectations.
Erin & Ken the warmest ,friendliest most accomodating
Host and hostess.
Perfect location to get away from it all.
In actuality, you're not far away
From things
Views breathtaking.
Clean as a whistle.
Driving up you don't realize it'll
Be a great as it is!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
220
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Makani Suite for 7 days in Oct 2013 - Unambiguously Outstanding. Perfectly located in the midst of Kona Coffee country, minutes away from the best snorkeling in Hawaii - Kealakekua Bay(walking distance, about 8/10ths of a mile), Manini Beach, Two Step, to name just a few. Just a 20 minute ride to downtown Kailua-Kona, but local shopping is closer in Captain Cook and Kealakekua village. Good local food nearby as well - Kalama's a 1/4 mile up the road - and on the main highway, Big Jake's BBQ and Super J's should not be missed

The Luana Inn has the three things we looked for in a BI B&B - Great Oceanview w/Sunset, pool, and a real breakfast. As many others have said, Ken and Erin are great hosts. It must be said, however, that they instill the same values in their sons. On Monday afternoon, I was in the common room when their boys came in; the older son came up to me and apologized for not being there to greet me at breakfast, as he had to go to school!

Well equipped, maintained, and comfortable room. In addition to the pool, my wife also greatly appreciated the hot tub.Suki the cat is friendly, but keeps her distance when on the lanai, and never, ever tried to slip into a guest room. (I'm allergic and had zero issues)

Breakfast from 8-9 worked perfect for us - we could run down and snorkel for an hour or so before breakfast, clean up, eat and then still have the full day in front of us.

I'll mention the snorkeling on last time - we intended to spend the week travelling all over the island, but after realizing how much there was to see, just snorkeling off the beach/shore, all within 1 to 10 miles of the Luana Inn, we threw out the plan, and went snorkeling at two or three different places every day, except for the one day we visited Volcano National Park.

We will be back. Again, and again, and again . . . . .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in the lovely Alaula suite in Luana's separate cottage. The hosts are wonderful cooks and their boys are darlings. It's a perfect location for the best snorkeling on Hawaii island. We are planning our return trip - same time next year.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

A genuinely chill and pleasant place to stay: clean, simple, comfortable, and with a spectacular view. Erin and Ken are thoughtful and knowledgeable hosts. Well-located to get to all sides of the island. The bay at the bottom of the hill is excellent for snorkelling. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ken and Erin are the most kind and accommodating people you could imagine. Our room was spacious, with a Japanese style feel to it. The view outside our sliding glass door was breath-taking, the breakfast was anywhere from yummy fritatas to dutch pancakes. I recommend them a thousand times over! I would absolutely go there again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moana room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spent 2 glorious weeks at Luana Inn and didn't want to leave. Quiet , peaceful, beautiful and close to excellent snorkeling. Erin and Ken were perfect hosts and the breakfasts excellent.
We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Luana Inn for 5 nights. Erin and Ken were wonderful hosts, truly interested in their quests having a great experience. Our room was spacious and had a view of the bay from the lanai. Their breakfasts were all home made with fresh fruit, home made bread and great egg dishes. Erin and Ken have a lot of knowledge about the island and desire to share this with you. The location is great - less than a mile from Kealakekua Bay with great snorkeling. Overall, a lovely introduction to the island and in a quieter place away from the busier and commercialized resorts to the north. A fine example of Aloha.

Room Tip: We stayed in a separate cottage away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.