We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
82-5856 Napoopoo Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Los Angeles CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Back for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've returned less than one year later, and again what an excellent stay. Ken & Erin continue to provide high quality accommodations in lovely Captain Cook.
The Luana Inn is perfect for independent travelers who enjoy small, independent hotels, non-corporate hotels.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay. We will continue to return as long as possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ken and Erin are very gracious hosts. We have just returned from our 5th stay with them and this visit was just as good as all the others. No wonder we keep going back!

We love the feel of their property, as they make us feel very welcome without crowding us. The rooms are clean and have everything you could want, from beach towels, soap and shampoos to plates, cutlery and condiments. They also provide snorkeling gear, boogie boards, and coolers for to borrow while you are there, and have a library of novels and guide books to dip into. The pool and hot tub are great at the end of the day. We also enjoy the barbeque facilities for a less formal supper or lunch.

We like the location, a little away from the coast, where there is a gentle breeze to keep you cool. It is central to many of the highlights of west Hawaii and now close to pretty much everywhere on the island. The views from the lanai are wonderful, perfectly placed for those beautiful Hawaii Sunsets. There are 5 rooms each unique, so you can pick for your needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 6 days at the Luanna Inn. It was very difficult to leave. Beautiful views, scrumptious breakfasts. Erin and Ken were a perfect balance of warmth and hospitality without being intrusive. We will definitely be back and I can not say enough good things about it.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Erin and Ken are great hosts. There, friendly but not obtrusive. Took me a bit to get used to the tight window offered for breakfast (eight to nine with somewhat limited seating), but the breakfast itself was excellent every day. The location requires a winding drive up and down the hill to go anywhere but the reward is a view from poolside that is outstanding. Great place to sit in the hot tub and watch the sun set. The rooms are complete and clean. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Unless you need extra space, the poolside rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedale, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Luana Inn right before the holidays and found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable. The hosts, Erin and Ken, were fantastic and provided much information about the island and surrounding areas. Our original intention for staying at the Luana inn was to be close to Kealakekua Bay, but in the future our travels to Luana Inn will be due to the amazing hosts, delicious breakfasts and comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week-long stay on the Big Island at the Luana Inn. Much like the other reviews here, I can say without reservation that I highly recommend this rare gem. It is secluded and private, but also very close to Kealakekua Bay, which has incredible snorkeling. If you're lucky (we were), you can see and even swim with the resident Spinner Dolphins there. Ken and Erin are excellent hosts and make an amazing breakfast every morning to get your day started right. They are happy to direct you to local beaches that not everyone knows about and tell you the best places to do various activities. Their knowledge and advice really helped make this a memorable trip, full of magical experiences on the big island. We stayed in the Alaula Suite behind the main house, which offered lots of privacy. The rooms are clean and comfortable and nice to come back to after a day of fun activities. Mahalo to Erin and Ken for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy stay in one of the suites behind the main house. If you want to be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a week in October and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The rooms were really clean and well-stocked and the beds were incredibly comfortable. There's a pool and common barbecue area to enjoy and there are uncrowded local beaches with great snorkeling very close by. Ken and Erin were friendly and really knowledgeable about the island and local hot spots. And not to mention the delicious egg breakfasts with freshly baked Hawaiian bread- yummy!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luana Inn to your Saves list