We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ginormous pancake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manago Hotel & Restaurant

Manago Hotel & Restaurant
82-6155 Mamalahoa Hwy., Manago Hotel, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-323-2642
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Alameda, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ginormous pancake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We all ordered the 2 egg combination breakfast that came with eggs (your style), meat, toast, or rice, papaya or juice and coffee/tea. As expected, the food was delicious.

The daughter did not want eggs but wanted pancakes and the waitress recommended a half order. When the pancake arrived, it was one single pancake that was the size of the dinner plate and over 1 inch thick. It was perfectly done, very fluffy and delicious.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    66
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homestyle Hawaiian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Old fashioned Hawaiian style food.
Cooked well, served quickly in a great atmosphere and ambiance.
My girlfriend and I were given the tip to travel out of town to try this hidden restaurant of Hawaii, just 10-15min drive from Kailua.
The meals were super simple, all served with traditional Hawaiian salad of coleslaw and mac salad. The pork chop was awesome. They also serve local fish and beer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just a cute ole fashioned japanese style place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

a bang for the buck, old, cute and on the main road; walk around and see the flowers and the gardens across the street, watch alittle TV in the main room and enjoy

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were there for lunch and the pork chops were great!
We like it so much that we return for breakfast the next day! The prices are good too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Old Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We go out of our way every visit on the Big Island to eat breakfast at Manago's. No frills...just perfect food for inexpensive price. No menus- order off the reader board. I suggest the Portuguese sausage breakfast. You'll see some sweet locals, along with a few characters that makes the experience so memorable. Please go and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manago Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manago Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manago Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.