We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great view but $$$$$$$” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Shack

The Coffee Shack
83-5799 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-328-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food great view but $$$$$$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Share a sandwich it is expensive but fabulous! swear hard to park! people and food are exceptional! tryit

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    154
    33
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Just went to the Coffee Shack for breakfast with my family. It was great at a good price and much better than any resort breakfast we have encountered so far. Plus the views were amazing and the Geckos were great entertainment for the kids! Do yourself a favor and take the short drive to the Coffee Shack,,,

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Surly waitress, ok food, amazing view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We arrived and were seated quickly at a table with a great view out over the hillside and the ocean below the cafe. We ordered a couple pizzas, a salad and the daily soup. The food was ok, but nothing spectacular. Our main issue with the Coffee Shack was the service. Our waitress did not seem like she actually enjoyed her job. After she dropped off our food and drinks, she disappeared, and we were essentially ignored for 45mins. Luckily we were entertained by the little geckos running around on the railings around the deck! We finally were able to grab her attention and she rudely asked us if we wanted anything else. We ordered a slice of lime pie, which was pretty good. After the pie arrived, it again took a long time for the waitress to return with the bill, and she again didn't seem very interested in helping us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big Island Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I always try to hit the coffee shack when we're on the Big Island. We usually go for lunch. The sandwiches and daily specials are always good, but we leave room for the real treat: dessert. The Lilikoi Cheesecake is to die for, but so are the other pies and creations. If you like iced coffee, their iced Kona is wonderful too. This is truly one of my favorite restaurants in all Hawaii!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had the french toast, and it was incredible. The view was spectacular and we got lucky having a table right next to the cliff. Nothing like this cute little restaurant to get your day started!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shack also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Coffee Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.