We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Shack

The Coffee Shack
83-5799 Mamalahoa Hwy., P.O. Box 510, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-328-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited the Coffee Shack on our last day on the Big Island, next time we will go often! Fantastic food, beautiful view, probably the best (and biggest) coffee I had during our entire trip, and the staff was extremely friendly. The geckos were just a fantastic bonus. I didn't find it overly expensive as other people have mentioned. The portions were generous and it was all fresh and homemade.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    143
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Coffee Shack is well known to locals on the big island, but might be easily missed by visitors.
The food, choices portion sizes, service and view from the balcony are remarkable and leave you with an indelible memory. The staff is friendly, the food is handmade, and of course the coffee is great too. It's outside the city of Kona, but well worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Came for the geckos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were aiming for breakfast, but ended up there at lunch. Sandwiches were overpriced, bland and bread falling apart one you got into it. At least the geckos obliged.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

So many glowing reviews. i don;t get it. We went in just for a cup of coffee to go and it must have been right before they closed because the rude person at the counter made it very obvious we could not be seated even though we didn't ask to be. The coffee was really weak and bitter and not good. Too expensive for dishwater with an attitude. Also, I saw a $16 sandwich on the menu and it wasn't a huge Carnegie Deli sandwich, it was on normal sandwich bread. Rip-off for people with more money than brains. Yes, the view is nice but you can have a nice view all over the island. I will not be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stopped in here on the way to the volcano on the recommendation of a frequent island visitor. Fantastic breakfast, tasty homemade bread, and an outstanding view. The wait staff was efficient and courteous too. Parking is extremely limited, so be prepared to pass by a time or two if no spots are available. If you park across the road, you will be ticketed. This restaurant has a large sign that is partially blocked by foliage so keep your eyes open. Just remember it is on the ocean side of the highway. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Coffee Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.