We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Shack

The Coffee Shack
83-5799 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-328-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You can't beat this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I have been going to the Coffee shack for each of our 3 trips to the Big Island, and we usually eat there more than once. This time, we ate twice and it did not disappoint either time. The food is some of the best on the planet (let alone the island), the prices are right, and the view is second to none. Go, you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    154
    33
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We came here on a recommendation from a local and were not disappointed. Great, fresh, filling sandwiches and truly delicious home-made pies in a cute little location right along the main road as you're heading away (south) from the Kona area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hit this place after Two Step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ran into some locals at Two Step who recommended the Coffee Shack, thank you! Great Reuben sandwich, excellent Key Lime Pie and even better coffee. We will eat here again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bay area, Ca
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is awesome. Really good, fresh food, with outstanding views from the bluff to the ocean. We had the special, fish sandwich on their house-baked bread, and it was great. House-made desserts—really good coconut cream pie. It was so good when we visited in 2008, that we hunted it down and found it again in 2013. Great place for lunch after a snorkel trip at “Two Step”/City of Refuge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had breakfast and dinner their over the course of our week in Hawaii. View of Kealakekua Bay is fantastic from the railing or the room in the back of the restaurant plus there is a huge avocado tree in the back. Food was very good - sandwiches and breakfast items offer a choice of some unique bread types. Bread is sliced thick and makes for a huge sandwich. Small green lizards seem to love the rail, enjoyable for me and my wife but might freak some people out. Pretty small place with limited parking out front and parking across the highway is tempting but clearly not encouraged. Might be difficult to find a parking spot and/or table at peak times. We were lucky to get last parking spot during both our visits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shack also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Coffee Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.