We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwich with a superb view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Shack

The Coffee Shack
83-5799 Mamalahoa Hwy., P.O. Box 510, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-328-9555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 restaurants in Captain Cook
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great sandwich with a superb view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior: when you venture inside you are treated to a spectacular view. This is backed up by simple but great food. We both had sandwiches which were enormous, fresh and tasty. We didn't have room but saw others with great looking cakes and pies. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    263
    125
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not just coffee but lunch well done with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped there last year while we were on the island. We revisted the restaurant and it exceeded last year. We ordered the fresh fish sandwich on local made bread. It was fantastic and every bite was savored. We got the name from the "Big Island Revealed" and it has not disappointed us yet once. Our service was prompt and this was during the lunch rush. They sat a 14 person large group and had not drop in service or attention. The drinks are large glasses and with local water without asking for it. The local bread was sweet with a grain texture and brought out the flavor in the fish. I also had a green salad and it was large, I reccommend the house dressing. They served a pickle on the plate also. It was clean and with no negative items to share with you. The parking is tight but adaquate. They also have fresh coffees if you interested. We will make this a regular on our trips to Kona from now on. The view is fantastic. You get to dine with a great view of the bay below thru the trees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ahi Benedict!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly cooked eggs, ahi and purple onions with a nice hollandaise made for a very good breakfast. Good coffee, too. A what a view!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sick View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This coffee shack is located just by the cliff overlooking Kealakekua Bay and oh my god what a view. Their breakfast were excellent and restore our energy to do the hike to get to Kealakekua Bay

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The first thing that strikes you when you walk out to your table is the view! Wow! The food is excellent. The breads and pastries are made onsite and they are delicious. I think the one bread is called luau bread; do not miss that! If I find myself in Captain Cook again, I will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Coffee Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.