We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Shack

The Coffee Shack
83-5799 Mamalahoa Hwy., P.O. Box 510, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-328-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great view, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Took a while to find somewhere for a good breakfast that wasn't a hotel restaurant but we were happy to finally discover The Coffee Shack! Amazing views, very good food and the service was great. Watching the resident gekos was also great fun!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    143
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“if I only ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

.... could have put that place into my pocket and take it home with me and put it on the corner of the street, right next to my place.
Good food, nice views, incredible coffee, cool vibe – what else to wish for. Mahalo, guys.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Breakfast on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love The Coffee Shack! Take friends there all the time for the awesome view, delicious and abundant food and great Kona coffee!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanelle, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great sandwiches, fabulous cheesecake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

How can you complain when you're in Hawaii, looking at a gorgeous view, and having a great lunch! I certainly can't! We had delicious sandwiches and a great waitress on our visit earlier in January. I'm sorry to say I can't remember her name. She recommended the cheesecake and it was out of this world. The view alone is well worth the trip as you are literally "hanging" onto the cliff while a beautiful vista is spread out below. The parking is a bit dicey but the gods were smiling on us and we pulled right in. A lovely spot to grab a bite in the middle of a full-day of sightseeing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice views, get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took the advice of the blue book and stopped here to eat breakfast. Got there early, so no worries on parking. The food was good, wait staff great, views great. I was used to the cost of eating out by the time I got here, so the cost was average for the Big Island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Coffee Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.