We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour and Tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Coffee Living History Farm

Kona Coffee Living History Farm
Hwy 11, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-323-2006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Attractions in Captain Cook
Type: History Museums, Farms, Ranch & Farm
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll through the award-winning Kona Coffee Living History Farm that tells the story of Kona’s coffee pioneers during the 1920’s. It is America’s only living history coffee farm where you may “talk story” with costumed historians and discover the history behind Kona’s gourmet crop. As an added treat you may sample and buy our 100% Kona Coffee grown here on our farm.Come join us! You won’t leave this place without feeling you have experienced a rare glimpse into Hawai`i’s colorful past.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tour and Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice short tour of the grounds, some information about the industry, plants, roasting. Tasting at the end was a nice finish.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Different perspective from the usual coffee tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this little coffee farm to be quite interesting and informative. It is set on the grounds of a Japanese family who ran the coffee farm and access includes a tour of their home which is a "living museum" set in the 1940's.
There were two costumed docents when we visited, one in the house and the other outside a.k.a. the "coffee farmer". Both these people really made the place come alive and both were clearly very passionate about the history of the farm and its former occupants.
Please note that this is NOT Greenwell Farm or museum - that is much farther up the road and not at all what this place is. This is run by the Kona Historical Society.
Admission $15 per person, coffee samples, free parking and an insight into a bygone way of life.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffee and Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is an older, established plantation that has a lot of history about it. The people who work there are very nice, low key, and willing to share and show you around. They appear to be very happy and welcoming. My husband and I always stop here when we come to Hawaii. We can sit and drink free coffee and talk to all of the other tourists. The establishment doesnt seem to mind. But then again, why would they? We usually walk about of there spending about $100. The coffee is very good, as are all of their products. The atmosphere is perfect.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Missed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to the Greenwell Museum but it was closed so we didn't get to see much but we had a great tour of the coffee farm/plantation and picked up a couple of free avacaado and orange that had fallen on the ground. The tour guide was short and sweet but the tasting of the different coffee was grand and the staff was more than willing to answer all questions and had a very homey feel to the place. We bought a few things there to bring home and the staff made sure we packed the honey in our checked luggage as she said it couldn't be carried on the plane good thing too because someone else had to throw theirs away after their luggage was already checked. too bad it is great honey. A Must see on your stay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great family-run coffee farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The people running this tour were just wonderful. We learned about coffee in a very relaxed and friendly environment. A real gem!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Coffee Living History Farm also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Coffee Living History Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Coffee Living History Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.