We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, healthy eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Up Country Bakery & Cafe

Up Country Bakery & Cafe
82-6127 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-323-2253
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 restaurants in Captain Cook
Cuisines: Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Delicious & Organic Hand Made NY Style bagels and amazing sandwiches created on them! People Love our organic banana bread & organic pastries, juices and smoothies. Gluten Free & Vegan Friendly! Open 6 am to 4-ish pm Monday~Saturday. Sunday 9 am to 3 pm. Kitchen opens at 8:00 am and closes at 3:00 pm, however we are open til 4~ish for pastries and smoothies. Bagels sandwiches can be made after 3:00 at the discretion of our barista and the flow of the cafe. Loved by locals and visitors alike! Hope you'll come see us! Aloha!
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty, healthy eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

While we were staying in Captain Cook our B&B hosts at Lucky Farm told us to try the Café for lunch. We did, three times and enjoyed it each time. Once, with live entertainment which was great. We like to eat vegetarian and gluten free but gluten free was not available every time, there are also great dairy free alternatives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for visiting our cafe and for writing a review. We're happy you enjoyed enough to visit us on more than one occasion during your stay. We love John and Johnsie of Luck Farm B&B. That's great you had a chance to listen to them play music at the cafe. We are so appreciative to have them come and play every Sunday.
I'm sorry (and a little confused to hear) we didn't have gluten free items available every day. Perhaps it was our gluten free bagels, as we sell out of those quickly and can be out of stock on certain days. We do have brown rice tortilla wraps, pancakes and also many gluten free pastries to choose from on a daily basis. We do hope you were able to get a good fill on some of these.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the island!
Aloha!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    102
    18
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Healthy and delicious !

I felt at home the people are very friendly.
They have such a large selection I wanted to try so many things.
I will definitely come back to this delightful cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you had a wonderful visit to our cafe and you felt at home! Thank you again and we're glad to hear you'll be back.
Mahalo!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Friendliest service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We found this place easily after reading other trip advisor reviews. Luckily, we came at 9:30 in the morning on a weekday and had no lines. We ordered a loaf of the banana bread with chocolate chips and macadamia nuts. The server offered to slice it for us. So yummy. We also ordered the Lava Flow smoothie and the Witches Brew smoothie. Great breakfast stop as we made our way around the south part of the island.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.
We hope you enjoyed your Lava Flow & Witch's Brew Smoothie!
Our Lava Flow is made taken real pineapple that we chop and freeze and then blend it with coconut milk, coconut water and a dash of organic agave nectar. We then pour it in a cup drizzled with homemade strawberry puree.
Our Witch's Brew is made using pressed apple juice, frozen strawberries and local bananas with a dash of "Superfood" Spirulina! It's a spooky looking smoothie but delicious and filled with vitamins, iron and protein.
We also hope you loved your banana bread.
Mahalo again and hope you'll visit us again on your next visit to the island!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love it! Healthy organic vegetarian good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a friend take me here in November. I loved it! Great options for health conscious vegetarians like myself and the prices weren't bad . Cool funky atmosphere and nice staff!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha!
Mahalo for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your visit!
Our family are dairy free vegetarians and know how challenging it can be to find a place to eat that has many options. We're glad you found us and hope you'll be back on your next visit to Hawaii!
Aloha!
Antonette & The Up Country Bakery & Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Long wait but SO worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The review in the tourist book we were following said...long wait but worth it. We thought we would try it out. We waited for quite awhile for our sandwiches but they were so worth it! Sandwiches (on the most delicious bagels), smoothies, coffee, banana bread and cookies....all delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on our cafe.
We're happy you found that our bagels were delicious along with our baked goods, coffee and smoothies and found it was worth the wait.
We continue to review and redo our schedule and have recently hired another barista in order to move things along a bit more quickly. When currently have a staff of 5 on hand. We definitely want to keep a balance between getting our meals out in a timely fashion and making sure we don't over staff.
Mahalo again and we hope you'll be back to visit us on your next visit to the Big Island!
Sincerely,
Antoiinette & The Up Country Bakery & Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up Country Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Up Country Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up Country Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.