We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being pampered? This is THE place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
81-1031 Keopuka Mauka, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Like being pampered? This is THE place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

Janice and Steve Glass are the quintessential hosts of Areca Palms Estate Bed & Breakfast in Captain Cook. My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying with Janice & Steve every year since Feb 2001. Obviously there are reasons why we return.
From the first day we met Janice and Steve, they offered not only their beautiful home, but their extensive knowledge of where to go and what to do, all tailored to the morning question of, what are your plans today?
The rooms are immaculate and the grounds well tended, this is truly a little bit of heaven on earth. Janice and Steve are thoughtful hosts and will give you suggestions based on your particular interests; far better than trying to glean through typical tourist enticements.
Janice's gourmet breakfasts will truly last until mid afternoon when you suddenly find yourself hungry again. Janice takes care to ask about any food allergies, likes and dislikes, e.g. if you are a vegetarian that is taken into consideration. There is much care in the presentation of the food, and the taste is to die for! There are no comparisons to the breakfasts that are served at Areca Palms. These are full fledged breakfasts - no "continental" pastries and juice.
Coming back to Areca Palms after a long day is a welcome relief - it's like coming home. There is hot tub for relaxing and a lanai to laze around, all with the sense that there is nothing to do but enjoy.
So, if you like hearty breakfasts, immaculate rooms, beautiful grounds, good travel advice and excellent company, call Janice and Steve Glass. You will not be disappointed and you will leave wishing for a quick return.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    16
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lake oswego
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

What a wonderful stay we had with Janice & Steve.
Immaculate home and they attend to every detail. Great advise on what to see and we did it all. We needed more than 7 nights. The property is so beautiful we wished we could of just stayed on the property and enjoyed the beauty. The room was so inviting and the breakfast were unbelievable..
We look forward to our return next year and will tell our friends our secret hideaway. They get full so we are planning well in advance. The guests from Europe were so fun to visit with and we hope to see them in Europe. What a great time..

Di and Mark

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

I can see how some people might react negatively to the hosts, Steve and Janice - they're always underfoot and somewhat to very uptight. Breakfast is at 8am and if you can't make it then, no dice. Check-in is between 3 and 5 and if you can't make it, well . . . you get the picture. But they are also very friendly and helpful in their anal-retentive way, and we ended up liking them quite a bit once we knew what we were dealing with. The rooms are very clean, the house is nice and the grounds are quite beautiful and relaxing. Breakfast was great. All in all, for the money, I'd say the place is a great value.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

We throughly enjoyed our stay with our hosts Steve and Janice Glass. They were very friendly with great conversation, but even more, they were extremely helpful in steering us toward those out-of-the-way sights that make the "Big Island" a must stop. This was our first visit to the island of Hawaii, and Steve and Janice made it even more special with suggestions and directions to great snorkeling beaches. They also provided underwater equipment and coolers as well. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and our room was one for the recordbooks. And wait until you see the grounds! Not only well manicured with different tropical fruit trees and palms, but equipped with an outdoor jacuzzi! If you are going to the Big Island and are looking for a taste of Hawaii - Areca Palms Estate Bed & Breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castile New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

We recently returned from our second stay at Areca Palms Estate B&B. Our first visit was 3 years ago . Found this delightful B&B on the internet and made plans to stay for 12 nights. Our stay was wonderful. We found our hosts Janice & Steve Glass to be very hospitable and helpful. Every morning started with the sounds of beautiful Hawaiian music and a delicious, very full breakfast served at a well set table. Never once during our stay was there a repeat of any of the breakfasts! In addition to the very clean accomidations we enjoyed luxury bed & bath linens. This year we decided to return to Areca Palms Estate B&B again for our winter vacation, with my mother joining us for part of our 10 day visit. We had raved to many about our first visit to this B&B and were looking forward to our return trip. We were not dissapointed, it was as wonderful as our first time! Janice & Steve were away for a few days (returning the next day) when we arrived and we were warmly greeted by their very capable "Inn Sitters" upon our arrival. Every thing at the B&B was just as beautiful & clean as we had remembered. Again we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts & the helpfulness of our hosts Janice & Steve . They were available to offer suggestions if we needed help in planning our days, directions, helpful hints as what to see, menu's for restaurants, etc. Also available beach towels,umbrellas, mats etc. ,snorkel equipment, boogie boards & coolers w/blue ice.

A stay at the Areca Palms Estate B&B will certainly spoil you for any other B&B!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

After having our Aloha spirit dampened by a very negative experience at another Kona area establishment, it was immediately renewed upon arriving at the Areca Palms.

Janice welcomed us with open arms and had arranged for our room to be ready early so that we could explore the local scenery and attractions. Throughout our stay, both Janice and Steve ensured that our visit to the western side of the Island was memorable: from recommendations of places to explore, to great eating experiences. The house was always filled with soft Hawaiian melodies.

Our room was nicely decorated with one of the most comfortable beds during our entire two week visit to the Islands. The morning breakfasts were lovingly and creatively made. The lush, tropical grounds and warm, cozy house are impeccably maintained.

We would recommend Areca Palms to anyone wanting to experience the true spirit of Aloha from warm and welcoming hosts

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

We just returned from 10 days on the Big Island of Hawaii. Staying in two large hotels and two B&Bs, we were most surprised favorably with the Areca Palms B&B.

Planning our trip on only three weeks notice, we discovered that finding reservations was more complicated than expected on the different coasts of the island. So, after becoming more flexible, breaking up our trip into smaller segments, plus carefully checking two state of Hawaii websites and 4 separate books, we made a 2-night reservation at Areca Palms near the end of our trip, the last week of May, primarily for the nearby snorkeling. And, are we pleased that we did.

The published and online information regarding Areca Palms is straightforward without embellishment. But, the impression one has upon arriving on the small estate is “Wow, this is so private, immaculate, they must have weddings here.”

I’m a bit of an adventurer and hate crowds. My gut told me “good choice” even before we entered the home.

Then, one meets the inn keepers, is given a brief tour, is told about the nearby town, area, Kona coffee growing farms, beaches and snorkeling, and gradually you become a part of the Glass family. Baked cookies, breakfast and all. With multiple common, garden, lawn and open areas, it is quiet and you can be alone if you wish. If “Mi casa es su casa” was ever appropriate, this is that house.

We’ve stayed in B&Bs in California, Oregon, Connecticut and Massachusetts. But, we’ve never been in a B&B that seems to have 3 cleaning services a day. Everything was so neat and immaculate, almost effortlessly. That’s constant attention by the inn keepers, both inside and the manicured grounds. And, is it so appreciated. Many other inn keepers could learn a few pointers on attention to detail from a stay here.

When we left, I told Janice Glass that I’d be happy to refer friends to Areca Palms. I guess I’m doing that with this review.

The $120 per night was extraordinary value. You feel as if you’re at home, without the details, without the work. Plus, very important to me, cell phone reception was excellent and internet access was available.

The only drawbacks appear to be if you don’t have a car, or don’t want to drive anywhere on your Big Island visit, or want a beach outside your door, or desire 24-hour room service, or require a larger room for more than two children. But, you might pay 2X-4X for that, which we did in the two hotels we stayed in on our visit.

Let me leave it at that. I want you to feel, too, “This is beyond expectations.”

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list