We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts are a little uptight, but all in all a very pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hosts are a little uptight, but all in all a very pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

I can see how some people might react negatively to the hosts, Steve and Janice - they're always underfoot and somewhat to very uptight. Breakfast is at 8am and if you can't make it then, no dice. Check-in is between 3 and 5 and if you can't make it, well . . . you get the picture. But they are also very friendly and helpful in their anal-retentive way, and we ended up liking them quite a bit once we knew what we were dealing with. The rooms are very clean, the house is nice and the grounds are quite beautiful and relaxing. Breakfast was great. All in all, for the money, I'd say the place is a great value.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    19
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

We throughly enjoyed our stay with our hosts Steve and Janice Glass. They were very friendly with great conversation, but even more, they were extremely helpful in steering us toward those out-of-the-way sights that make the "Big Island" a must stop. This was our first visit to the island of Hawaii, and Steve and Janice made it even more special with suggestions and directions to great snorkeling beaches. They also provided underwater equipment and coolers as well. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and our room was one for the recordbooks. And wait until you see the grounds! Not only well manicured with different tropical fruit trees and palms, but equipped with an outdoor jacuzzi! If you are going to the Big Island and are looking for a taste of Hawaii - Areca Palms Estate Bed & Breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castile New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

We recently returned from our second stay at Areca Palms Estate B&B. Our first visit was 3 years ago . Found this delightful B&B on the internet and made plans to stay for 12 nights. Our stay was wonderful. We found our hosts Janice & Steve Glass to be very hospitable and helpful. Every morning started with the sounds of beautiful Hawaiian music and a delicious, very full breakfast served at a well set table. Never once during our stay was there a repeat of any of the breakfasts! In addition to the very clean accomidations we enjoyed luxury bed & bath linens. This year we decided to return to Areca Palms Estate B&B again for our winter vacation, with my mother joining us for part of our 10 day visit. We had raved to many about our first visit to this B&B and were looking forward to our return trip. We were not dissapointed, it was as wonderful as our first time! Janice & Steve were away for a few days (returning the next day) when we arrived and we were warmly greeted by their very capable "Inn Sitters" upon our arrival. Every thing at the B&B was just as beautiful & clean as we had remembered. Again we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts & the helpfulness of our hosts Janice & Steve . They were available to offer suggestions if we needed help in planning our days, directions, helpful hints as what to see, menu's for restaurants, etc. Also available beach towels,umbrellas, mats etc. ,snorkel equipment, boogie boards & coolers w/blue ice.

A stay at the Areca Palms Estate B&B will certainly spoil you for any other B&B!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

After having our Aloha spirit dampened by a very negative experience at another Kona area establishment, it was immediately renewed upon arriving at the Areca Palms.

Janice welcomed us with open arms and had arranged for our room to be ready early so that we could explore the local scenery and attractions. Throughout our stay, both Janice and Steve ensured that our visit to the western side of the Island was memorable: from recommendations of places to explore, to great eating experiences. The house was always filled with soft Hawaiian melodies.

Our room was nicely decorated with one of the most comfortable beds during our entire two week visit to the Islands. The morning breakfasts were lovingly and creatively made. The lush, tropical grounds and warm, cozy house are impeccably maintained.

We would recommend Areca Palms to anyone wanting to experience the true spirit of Aloha from warm and welcoming hosts

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

We just returned from 10 days on the Big Island of Hawaii. Staying in two large hotels and two B&Bs, we were most surprised favorably with the Areca Palms B&B.

Planning our trip on only three weeks notice, we discovered that finding reservations was more complicated than expected on the different coasts of the island. So, after becoming more flexible, breaking up our trip into smaller segments, plus carefully checking two state of Hawaii websites and 4 separate books, we made a 2-night reservation at Areca Palms near the end of our trip, the last week of May, primarily for the nearby snorkeling. And, are we pleased that we did.

The published and online information regarding Areca Palms is straightforward without embellishment. But, the impression one has upon arriving on the small estate is “Wow, this is so private, immaculate, they must have weddings here.”

I’m a bit of an adventurer and hate crowds. My gut told me “good choice” even before we entered the home.

Then, one meets the inn keepers, is given a brief tour, is told about the nearby town, area, Kona coffee growing farms, beaches and snorkeling, and gradually you become a part of the Glass family. Baked cookies, breakfast and all. With multiple common, garden, lawn and open areas, it is quiet and you can be alone if you wish. If “Mi casa es su casa” was ever appropriate, this is that house.

We’ve stayed in B&Bs in California, Oregon, Connecticut and Massachusetts. But, we’ve never been in a B&B that seems to have 3 cleaning services a day. Everything was so neat and immaculate, almost effortlessly. That’s constant attention by the inn keepers, both inside and the manicured grounds. And, is it so appreciated. Many other inn keepers could learn a few pointers on attention to detail from a stay here.

When we left, I told Janice Glass that I’d be happy to refer friends to Areca Palms. I guess I’m doing that with this review.

The $120 per night was extraordinary value. You feel as if you’re at home, without the details, without the work. Plus, very important to me, cell phone reception was excellent and internet access was available.

The only drawbacks appear to be if you don’t have a car, or don’t want to drive anywhere on your Big Island visit, or want a beach outside your door, or desire 24-hour room service, or require a larger room for more than two children. But, you might pay 2X-4X for that, which we did in the two hotels we stayed in on our visit.

Let me leave it at that. I want you to feel, too, “This is beyond expectations.”

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

My girlfriend and I just spent nine nights at the Areca Palms B & B. Janice and Steve Glass, the owners, made our 1st visit to The Big Island one we will never forget.

The Areca Palms had gorgeous rooms in a beautiful home on well-maintained grounds that could be used for a travel poster. The breakfast Janice served each day lived up to everything we had read in Frommers. Each meal was unique and the care she put in the presentation as well as the quality was a great way to start the day.

Their interest in providing a great experience for their guests showed from the beginning of our stay. We planned to get in some early snorkling and didn't expect to be back for breakfast so Janice made us a breakfast basket the night before so we would not have to rush back or miss breakfast. They even provided the snorkel gear as well as towels and ice chest.

We constantly picked Janice and Steve's minds on the latest activities available, where to rent kayak or get the best deal on Kona coffee. They gave us the locations on the best places for lunch and dinner and we were never disappointed.

Bottom line - with their help we were able to maximize our time doing and seeing the things that interested us.

Ron and Sara

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

Wonderful writeup in the guide book saying that Janice and Steve are more than happy to share their home with you. But they really aren't. Especially Steve. It's a burden and he lets you know if you arrive a quarter of an hour early or walk in the wrong part of the house or violate one of their many rules. Great property but not the warm, welcoming atmosphere one expects in the setting.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.