We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place with 'charm' to stop on a road trip around the big island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manago Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manago Hotel
Save
You added Manago Hotel to your Saves list
82-6155 Mamalahoa Highway, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a place with 'charm' to stop on a road trip around the big island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We were on a very short trip around the Big Island (three nights) starting in Hilo and were looking for a place to stay for one night on the West side of the Island. As we would arrive in the evening and leave in the morning, we would not have time to use any facilities offered by the many top end hotels in that area and our willingness to spend 300+ dollars for a night was close to zero.
Many other places needed 3 nights minimum stays and were no option either.
In this situation the Manago hotel fits in perfectly.
Already entering the reception area we were surprised by the charm the old hotel has; a real time travel. The kitchen and restaurant were bustling and we knew we found our place to stay for the night immediately. We stayed in the newer building in the back, mainly bc of the private ensuite and did not have a look at rooms at the older part.
The room (ground floor) showed some wear and tear here and there, but was absolutely clean and and in a lot better condition we had expected after entering the hotel. The bathroom was in good condition and clean as well.
It's very simply furnished, but everything suits the style and atmosphere of the whole place. No aircon (but a fan), but we certainly did not need it, no TV (if I recall correctly) either.
Check-out was at 11 am, what gave us time to go to Kealakekua Bay (Captain Cook monument - very close from the Manago) in the morning.

Service was friendly and efficient, no reason to complain there either.

I would summarize the Manago is a perfect Motel to stay for a night or two and it totally served our purpose!
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    76
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
93
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The rooms are clean and quiet and excellent value for money. The food in the restaurant is plentiful and also one of the best values you will find in the area. We would appreciate if WIFI were working instead of having to use an expensive pay-by-minute computer in the large public TV room. Also, we would have appreciated some flexibility regarding check-out time (we asked for 12:00 instead of 11:00 anr were declined an extension). Lastly we would have appreciated to be able to borrow some towels to use on the beach since close by is one of the best snorkeling spots on the Island. Some less considerate guests might just go ahead and use the room towels........ Summing it up, this hotel gives you the most bang for the buck and it's worth every penny, but a little more human touch would be icing on the cake and make it a lot easier to recommend this to others...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dogkahuna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This wonderful family-owned and operated hotel and restaurant is a historical landmark and has an atmospheric yesteryear feel. If you want ritz and superfluous amenities, pay $100s a night at a resort. If you don't need TV in your room, have your own cell-phone and would like to experience a part of Hawai'ian heritage, check this place out! The restaurant happens to serve THE best pork chops this 50-year old super-foodie has ever tasted--they made the Chop House chops seem amateurish.
The south Kona coast location is perfect as an island base and the price cannot be beaten. This is an incredible value for serious travelers who don't require obsequious service and have a taste for history!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripthelightfantaz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Old-timey place with lots of history. Loved it. Rooms are spartan but functional and clean. Could be a view of the ocean but we were socked in by fog. Nice farmer's market on weekend across the street. At elevation so watch yourself if diving. I think it was 1000 feet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed overnight, ate dinner in cozy restaurant with locals, contacted former friends and returned to Oahu after music festival...

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

The Manago hotel in Captain Cook was a fine place to use as a base while sightseeing and snorkeling along the coast south of Kailua. It's not glitzy, furnishings are simple but good quality, and our third floor room in the back building had nice views of the coast. The restaurant serves good food at a fair price and is obviously popular with local families. We still have things to see in that area and would be happy to return to the Manago. It is an excellent value. The owner has created a nice garden on the grounds, also.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

this is a historic hotel managed by the third-generation of the manago family. the hotel shows its age but still has some charm. the larger tatami room were not available and we ended up getting a small room (very basic with no TV).

the best part is that all the north-facing rooms have balconies overlooking the bay. and the location is conveniently located between Captain Cook Monument (kayaking with wild dolphins in the morning) and the Place of Refuge (nice place to have a sunset picnic). there is a good grocery store nearby and every Sun there is a farmer market across the street (awesome mexico food).

in short, do not expect 5-star hotel services and amenities here. but we were very happy for $75/night for three people. the hotel restaurant is also pretty good with affordable prices.

btw, if you do want to kayak to the Captain Cook Monument, visit the Pineapple Park Kayaking nearby. we got excellent services from Annie the owner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manago Hotel

Address: 82-6155 Mamalahoa Highway, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Manago Hotel Captain Cook
Manago Captain Cook
Manago Hotel Hawaii/Captain Cook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.