We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access with good snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kealakekua Bay

Kealakekua Bay
Honaunau-Napoopoo, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari
Ranked #3 of 20 Attractions in Captain Cook
Type: Historic Sites, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling
Attraction details
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easy access with good snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent the morning here on Feb.24th, our last full day in Hawaii, and loved it. It was easy to find with lots of parking(in the morning). It was very easy to get in the water. We snorkeled along the edges of the rocks where the fish were more plentiful. We saw many varieties of fish along with an eel. I felt very safe here. It wasn't too crowded. By the time we packed up to leave, the parking was fading fast. Wished we would have had time to come another day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    46
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling in all of hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Honestly, by far the best snorkeling i have ever witnessed in my life. My family and i had such an amazing day at the kealakekua bay. We got in touch with Ehu and Kai threw the hawaii revealed book. The service they offered us was amazing, we were originally planning on going on a kayak tour but Peter offered us his cultural canoe tour knowing we had a family, it took us about 25 minutes to get across the bay to the captain cooks monument. There were dolphins, fish, turtles, and the reef was so colorful. Peter taught us how to paddle the canoe and informed us about the history of the bay.
If you have a family or just looking for a good kayak i highly recommend Ehu and Kai.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Is there a more picturesque bay to sit and enjoy? I don't think so! This place has it all and some of the best snorkeling in the islands.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best snorkeling I've ever done! Thank you Aloha Kayaks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The water was clear. There were tons of fish, a pod of Spinner dolphins "performing" & whales breaching - what more could we ask.
This was a great time - the day we went we were the only people in the "group". Cricket led us over to the monument, there was some time to learn the history & then spend about an hour snorkeling, we then paddled back - all in all a great morning!
The day we were there the best "viewing" was almost right out front of the monument in the shallower water.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkeling, hike sucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Honestly, I am so glad we went but next time I plan on going on a kayaking tour. We hiked down from Napoopoo Road. The start of the hike is easy to find. The hike down has lots of loose rocks; I twisted my ankle. Snorkeling at the bottom was awesome! Very clear water and lots of fish. There are supposedly dolphins sometime but we didn't see any. The hike back up sucks so bring plenty of water, sunscreen, and a hat.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kealakekua Bay also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kealakekua Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kealakekua Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.