We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad costumer treatment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel

Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel
82-6020 Mamalahoa Highway, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
+1 808-447-0080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Captain Cook
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayak and snorkel tours offered at Kealakekua Bay and Capt Cook Monument - Hawaii's BEST snorkeling site! State of Hawaii permitted to provide both kayaking on Kealakekua Bay and to land at historic Ka`awaloa Cove in Kealakekua State Historical Park. In addition to paddling across beautiful and protected cobalt blue, warm, ocean waters and a 600' high pali (cliff), we commonly see Hawaiian spinner dolphins and dramatic tropic birds along our path. Join us in this amazing paradise...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Bad costumer treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We are very disappointed with the behaviour and atitude how they treat guests. They knew we had a gift voucher and only a little time left on the island and gave us just one date out of three possible days. Due to bad conditions they had to cancel the tour ... not their fault, but Jeff promised to get back to us by email to tell us if there will be a snorkeling tour next day - we organized our day to be able to check our mails ... but no message of him at all. When we called him, there was just a mailbox. Instead of excusing himself, he wrote us after our complaint a arrogant email to tell us about the importance of having a mobile phone.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresParadise, General Manager at Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We're sorry we couldn't schedule a trip for you. You left a skype number for us, not a telephone number or email address and we didn't have a Skype account to return your call. When you called us back, we provided you with the trip dates available, but you couldn't make any of them. Please know that we did our best, given the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    7
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst rip off ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Did not provide the tour as they described it. Jeff was super unfriendly and didn't want to help us at all. Gave us a voucher and our friends tried to book it and got ditched twice! Lost all our money and got treated like we have never got treated before. Super rude and not helpful. Don't wast your money, time or nerves! WORST TOUR EVER!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventuresParadise, General Manager at Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
You enjoyed the paddle and snorkeling but asked for a full refund at the end of your trip, because it was not what you expected. We offer a gift voucher to meet you half way in your request, and you say that would be very appreciated, but then give a scathing review. I guess it's true, no good deed goes unpunished. Nonetheless, we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I'm glad we took the tour and didn't just rent a kayak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed our kayak and snorkel tour with Adventures in Paradise. We did the first morning tour and we liked the fact that we were at the bay snorkeling for an hour before all of the tour boats showed up and it got crowded. I wasn't aware that the company has water shoes for you if you don't have your own and also wetsuits available if you get cold easily. Everyone was loaded in the van and taken down, we didn't drive separately. The water was very clear and there are a lot of different types of fish to see. There was a couple from Oahu in our group and they said the snorkeling here was better than on Oahu. One of our guides. Tyson, watched over a shallow rocky area that people would sometimes get pushed into by the waves unexpectedly (including my husband) and he would jump in and go help them get out safely. I noticed he also helped out others, regardless of whether or not they were actually in our tour group. We did see dolphins as we kayaked across the bay both times. There are restrooms near the landing area where we could rinse off and change before heading back to the meeting spot. Personally, I'm very glad we took a tour and didn't bother trying to kayak and snorkel on our own.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Amazing Guide and Best Value for Dollar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After researching all tour providers offering guided kayak trips of Kealakekua Bay (and even considering the shady, cheap, pier-side rentals), we decided to go with Adventures. Best decision ever!
First of all, after comparing prices, and tour length, we felt that Adventures offered the best bang for buck. Their tour was priced far more competetively than the other operators, and the tour was significantly longer in duration.
Our guide, Tyson, was a local fellow raised in the area, and he was absolutely fantastic! He really made the tour (in fact, he made this the highlight of our trip thus far). He was incredibly well versed in local human history, cultural heritage, and natural history of the area. He really provided us with a local's perspective and appreciation of the area. Tyson's committment to sustainable practises (not impacting the ecosystem in a negative way) was greatly appreciated. He was obviously very passionated about the area and his role in showcasing it in an educational, yet enjoyable way was wonderful. Of couse, he was also friendly, personable, and really took the tine to provide us with a very personalized tour.
I would strongly encourage everyone considering kayaking Kealakekua to book with Adventures!
Keep up the good work.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Kayak and Snorkel Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had an early start, 7:15AM, which helps with calmer water and beats the crowds in the big boats. It was a bit early for us as we had been up to 1:30AM due to a tsunami warning, which thankfully turned out to be a non-event.

The guides were very good about giving instructions and getting us into the water safely. Throughout the trip they were very good about being respectful of the environment and keeping us safe. There was a half hour paddle across the bay after getting in the water and it was a bit of work but even those who were novices made it across in good time. We were fortunate to be able to see some dolphins resting and a couple even were jumping in the distance, great to see. The snorkeling was excellent with lots of coral and fish to observe, we even were able to see a couple of spotted moray eels! This is one of the best snorkel spots that we had visited on big island.

The snacks and water hit the spot after an hour of snorkeling, the squares were a hit. Then it was back in for another snorkel, you would need a lot more time to see everything as it is a very large area. We all appreciated the guides for all the historical information, tips on what to see and do along with pointing out sights along the way as we motored to and from the kayak launch site.

Note there are restrooms at the kayak launch site along with showers.

Strongly recommend that you try this out to get a more intimate and personal experience on the big island!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Honalo, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventures in Paradise Kayak & Snorkel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.