We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and delicious breakfasts in a truly unique property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Teton Tree House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A Teton Tree House to your Saves list
A Teton Tree House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6175 Heck of a Hill Road, Wilson, WY 83014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Wilson B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and delicious breakfasts in a truly unique property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had a great time during our 5 day stay at A Teton Tree Hous and shared many laughs with the wonderful hosts Sally and Denny. They are so knowledgeable about the area that it's like having your own personal guide. We went hiking, whitewater rafting, canoeing and cycling in Grand Teton National Park, and they helped us out with everything, including pointing out where to see the wildlife inside the park. We also saw animals around the Tree House from the big beautiful windows. While we ate breakfast, we saw deer wandering around the house. They also have bird and squirrel feeders and it's fun to spend a few minutes after breakfast watching the little animals have theirs.

Every morning there was a different and delicious healthy vegetarian meal with fresh breads and home made granola and hot cereals and fresh fruit. They even had rice milk for those who can't have cow's milk.

Our room had a lovely window seat and private balcony. I particularly liked the sleep sound machine in the room, so I slept every night to the sound of ocean waves. I liked the robes in the room as well - cozy plaid fleece that fit well with the style of the property. The bathroom could have used a bit more privacy from the bedroom area, but that's a small thing and didn't really interfere with our stay.

It is about 10 mins drive from Jackson and Teton Village, which we considered a bonus, because the setting offered more of a mountain atmosphere than the hotels in Teton Village or the centre of Jackson. We could see trees from every window - no streets or cars at all. Yet is very close to everything - Sally and Denny recommended a great restaurant called Nora's for dinner one evening in Wilson. We also really liked Nikai, the sushi restaurant on N. Cache in Jackson, which was great sushi at fantastic prices (compared to London or NYC).

Overall this was a delightful place to stay and we recommend it with highest marks!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We loved our stay at the Teton Treehouse; Denny and Sally were a great host and hostess. You truly felt like you were their "long, lost " relatives. They were very welcoming and fun to talk to And their B & B was very comfortable. They were , both, very knowledgeable about the area and sent us to the right spots to see wildlife.

  • Liked — uniqueness of facility and hospitality of owners
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

WOW.. This place was Fabulous!!! It truly is a Tree House!! Denny and Sally were wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast experience with them and the other guests!!! Sharing our experiences was Great!!!
We stayed 4 nights and would have stayed longer!!! Sally was very helpful in helping us plan our daily activities!!!

  • Liked — Unique setting (tree house)
  • Disliked — We had to leave!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

My husband and I had five nights at the Teton Tree House in Wilson WY. They were just perfect. It was our first visit to the Jackson Hole area and Sally and Denny, our hosts were so much fun and were so knowedgeable about the area and how to plan our days. Having breakfast with them and the other guests was lively and enjoyable and they provide a delicious breakfast. We had five glorious days in both Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons and hope to return to this most glorious part of our country and to the Teton Treehouse.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — the steps
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

I loved this place! My mom and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Tetons and it was one of the highlights of the trip (next to the beautiful mountains and up-close-and-personal bison encounters). First, this isn't the place for you if you want to stay right in the Jackson touristy area, but it's still close to just about everything. And don't say here if you have a physical disability - there are a lot of steps to get to the house, and steep steps all through the house. I would highly recommend it for everyone else. The owners are so welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Plus, they are just smart, interesting people. And the breakfast table was surrounded by other smart, interesting guests. You all feel like family by the end of your stay. I loved the simple, vegetarian breakfast (great oatmeal, granola, homemade jam and fresh fruit). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Owners, breakfast, location
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

I had to respond to the poor review someone else posted.
I stayed that the Teton Treehouse a few summers ago and had the BEST experience.
The two owners are wonderful and treat you like family. They are incredibly knowledgeable about the area and offer great tips and ideas as to what to do and places to see. The breakfast was delicious.
The house is built up on a hill and it DOES feel like you are in a treehouse. The house is very cozy and comfortable with plenty to do such as read and play games.
If you are looking for a unique get-away and experience in Wyoming- you should stay here. I can not think of any negative to say about this place. It's absolutely WONDERFUL!!!

  • Liked — scenery, location, design
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

My family stayed with Sally and Denny for 3 nights in August 2006. We loved the relaxed Western family-style decor, the great breakfasts and the comfortable rooms. The conversations at breakfast were always interesting, and Sally made sure to include everyone, including my two sons, ages 15 and 13. The boys enjoyed the array of puzzles and brain teasers set out in the living room. There were also books, games and a piano. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about the different activities, trails and wildlife viewing opportunities in the area. We would love to stay here again on our next trip!

Jackson highlights for us:

My husband and 15 year old son rented bikes for 3 days from Wilson Backcountry Sports, just a few miles from the B&B. There are many great, relatively flat bike trails around Jackson, and the store had maps and lots of gear.

My 13 year old son and I enjoyed the National Museum of Wildlife Art and the Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum.

We all had fun at the rodeo, which drew a large family crowd, and we enjoyed the 4 PM Barker Ewing float trip, during which we saw bald eagles, a moose, mergansers and a beaver. We have great respect for the oarsman!

Don't miss the great pies at The Bunnery!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and wonderful hosts
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Teton Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Teton Tree House

Address: 6175 Heck of a Hill Road, Wilson, WY 83014
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Wilson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Teton Tree House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isolated on a hillside and yet close to Jackson and both the Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, A Teton Tree House is an ideal base for your trip to Wyoming. Enjoy the beautiful views from our window seats. Sip a glass of your favorite beverage on our decks while watching the sunrise or the sunset, or the moose wandering down the hillside. Share in the story telling at the breakfast table and let Denny help you plan your excursions with his 50+ years experience in the valley. Make yourself at home, settle in, Relax and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A Teton Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Teton Tree House Jackson Hole, WY - Wilson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Teton Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.