We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have done better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Teton Tree House

Save Saved
You added A Teton Tree House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
A Teton Tree House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6175 Heck of a Hill Road, Wilson, WY 83014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Wilson B&B and Inns
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could have done better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Based on other reviews, I thought this would be the perfect place for our 20th anniversary but quite honestly, I was disappointed. I wouldn't have been had the rooms been $80/night but this was not a good value for the money we spent. The room was average, and the bathroom was tiny. Our breakfast had absolutely no protein (and I was turned down when I asked for eggs) so that an hour later, both my husband and I were really hungry. I think this b&b can charge the rates that they do due to their proximity to Jackson Hole but unless you have money to burn, this wasn't worth it. We paid less in Casper for a MUCH more luxurious b&b stay with an enormous breakfast. I would not return here. On the plus side, our host was very knowledgeable and helpful regarding local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at A Teton Tree House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at A Teton Tree House are eager to improve and value all feedback. Now in our 30th year as a B&B we have always served a "Healthy Heart" (no meat or eggs) breakfast and try our best to make certain that our prospective guests are aware of this (and the 95 stairs to our entrance) BEFORE they book with us. The feedback from most of our guests is that our breakfast "sticks with them" longer as they tackle the many adventure activities of Jackson Hole and the Grand Teton National Park. Best wishes, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed here with my family in mid-August 2011 and it was a pleasant stay.

The room was nice. It was relatively spacious, had lots of books for browsing, and comfortable beds. Additionally, there was a large private deck with nice views through the trees of the valleys in Wilson. Soft robes were included and the wood smelled great throughout the house. However, the shades were basically sheer so in the morning the light would shine right into the room. This in combination with the kitchen being directly above our room made it difficult to sleep past 7:30 or so, which I guess wasn't too bad since breakfast was at 8 each morning. Also, there were very few places to store clothes in the room.

The breakfasts were good. They are heart-healthy, and Sally and Denny, the hosts, painstakingly create healthy fruit and granola creations and homemade juices. There are also cereals for kids if you want them. The conversation with other guests, as everyone sits around the table, is interesting. Since you sit at a big table with everyone staying, you certainly learn about other people from all over. Breakfast is also a good time to get in-the-know advice from Sally and Denny about hiking trails, white water rafting, or anything else you need to know. They are extremely knowledgeable and will gladly help you with whatever you want to know.

The location is great. It is in Wilson, a quiet town with a few shops 10 minutes from Jackson proper. It's up a quiet, windy road, which makes it silent at night which is wonderful.

Overall, Sally and Denny were very accommodating, helpful and welcoming. It's not for everyone (there are 95 steps from where you park to the treehouse where you'll be staying), but if you want a unique, homey experience, consider A Teton Treehouse.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft collins
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Sally and Denny make the BNB! They are 20-30 year veterans of the Teton area and know all the quiet, fun, good food spots and the right people to call if help is needed. They freely offer their time and expertise.
The homemade super healthy breakfast was perfect start for a full day of fun. Special fruit juices and fresh fruit was a common theme.
Our room was comfortable and spacious.
The home was 5 minutes from Wilson up a woodsy quiet road.

We had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

From the moment we stepped through the door, every part of our stay was better than the last. Denny and Sally have created a place that is welcoming, cozy, and with the perfect blend of character, luxury and synergy with the surrounding beauty. From the superb breakfasts, the emaculate rooms, and the expert counsel, we could not have wished for a better experience. Jackson and the vast Wyoming terrain offer many choices on what to do and where to go. Denny helped make us make good choices and his recommendations were wonderful. We ate well, slept well and experienced the thrill and beauty of the Teton/Yellowstone area in just the way we had dreamed. Even more, we had the chance to meet other wonderful guests, which added much to our experience. My two teenage kids described it as the best trip of their lives - and TetonTreeHouse was the centerpiece of our wonderful experience. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed a week at the Tree House and really enjoyed everything about it (even the 95 steps which are really quite manageable). Sally, Denny and the team made us feel a part of the local community, gave us lots of assistance in planning activities, recommended local restaurants and directing us to activities known only by the locals. They suggested scenic drives and great hikes ensuring that we saw an awful lot of wildlife, including moose just outside the inn. The breakfasts were delicious and conversation with other guests were always interesting. Sally and Denny have a great knack as hosts for ensuring that everyone felt included. The inn and rooms are very comfortably furnished with lovely views. We had great local meals at Nora's, and Picas and also at Genevieve's Cafe in Jackson. If you visit, be sure and do a whitewater raft trip - definitely one of our highlights.

We're planning our next visit to the Tetons and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had a great time during our 5 day stay at A Teton Tree Hous and shared many laughs with the wonderful hosts Sally and Denny. They are so knowledgeable about the area that it's like having your own personal guide. We went hiking, whitewater rafting, canoeing and cycling in Grand Teton National Park, and they helped us out with everything, including pointing out where to see the wildlife inside the park. We also saw animals around the Tree House from the big beautiful windows. While we ate breakfast, we saw deer wandering around the house. They also have bird and squirrel feeders and it's fun to spend a few minutes after breakfast watching the little animals have theirs.

Every morning there was a different and delicious healthy vegetarian meal with fresh breads and home made granola and hot cereals and fresh fruit. They even had rice milk for those who can't have cow's milk.

Our room had a lovely window seat and private balcony. I particularly liked the sleep sound machine in the room, so I slept every night to the sound of ocean waves. I liked the robes in the room as well - cozy plaid fleece that fit well with the style of the property. The bathroom could have used a bit more privacy from the bedroom area, but that's a small thing and didn't really interfere with our stay.

It is about 10 mins drive from Jackson and Teton Village, which we considered a bonus, because the setting offered more of a mountain atmosphere than the hotels in Teton Village or the centre of Jackson. We could see trees from every window - no streets or cars at all. Yet is very close to everything - Sally and Denny recommended a great restaurant called Nora's for dinner one evening in Wilson. We also really liked Nikai, the sushi restaurant on N. Cache in Jackson, which was great sushi at fantastic prices (compared to London or NYC).

Overall this was a delightful place to stay and we recommend it with highest marks!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We loved our stay at the Teton Treehouse; Denny and Sally were a great host and hostess. You truly felt like you were their "long, lost " relatives. They were very welcoming and fun to talk to And their B & B was very comfortable. They were , both, very knowledgeable about the area and sent us to the right spots to see wildlife.

  • Liked — uniqueness of facility and hospitality of owners
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Teton Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Teton Tree House

Also Known As:
A Teton Tree House Jackson Hole, WY - Wilson
Address: 6175 Heck of a Hill Road, Wilson, WY 83014
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Wilson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Teton Tree House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isolated on a hillside and yet close to Jackson and both the Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, A Teton Tree House is an ideal base for your trip to Wyoming. Enjoy the beautiful views from our window seats. Sip a glass of your favorite beverage on our decks while watching the sunrise or the sunset, or the moose wandering down the hillside. Share in the story telling at the breakfast table and let Denny help you plan your excursions with his 50+ years experience in the valley. Make yourself at home, settle in, Relax and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your A Teton Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Teton Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.