We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teton Raptor Center

Teton Raptor Center
5450 W Hwy 22, Wilson, WY 83014
+1 307-203-2551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Wilson
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teton Raptor Center is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to helping birds of prey through education, conservation, and rehabilitation. We offer public programs throughout the year, during which visitors will learn about birds of prey and get to meet some of our beautiful resident raptors up-close. Thanks for giving a hoot!
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved the falcon the best. Absolutely amazing what these birds can do. The guys there have a passion that is undeniable and we definitely would go again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Educational Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Discovered this Center 5 miles from Jackson because of our daughter's interest in raptors. In a space of an hour, we were treated to an up close presentation of live disabled yet, beautiful birds including a Horned Owl, Golden Eagle, Kestrel, and Gyrfalcon as examples. We were shown examples of what makes a raptor unique including adaptations for their predatory behavior such as feather construction, talon details, and "bird-cam" videos to show their incredible speed. The Center is ably run by volunteers who really love the rehabilitation and protection of these creatures. Jason, the director, assisted by Mike, also demonstrated a Falcon's abilities outdoors with a moving target. We all learned valuable lessons and enjoyed ourselves even after Yellowstone and the Tetons. They have limited time for tours because of their work. Thanks to Amy, we were able to be accommodated. This is not to be missed by anyone who loves raptors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Way to See Raptors Up Close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just 5 minutes outside of Jackson Hole in the town of Wilson is a little gem called the Teton Raptor Center. They rescue and rehabilitate injured raptors and have a variety of raptors to see depending on who is currently being treated. We got about a 20 to 30 minute talk including a short video about raptors. They do have some permanent residents including a fantastic 8 year old Golden Eagle named Gus and a great-horned owl named Ollie. The director also has three trained raptors that he does falconry with, including a gyrfalcon, a Harrier hawk, and a Harris' hawk that he flew outside for us with a leather lure. They swooped down just above our heads and landed on his glove for a treat of quail (from the local supermarket!). This experience was a thoroughly enjoyable way to learn about some beautiful birds and contribute to this wonderful center's work saving these magnificent creatures. Well worth a visit for the entire family!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyed ourselves.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I visited the Teton Raptor Center while taking a day off from Snowboarding. We saw a few random pictures on instagram and decided to look them up.

For only $12 you spend a little over an hour learning about different raptors. One of our highlights was watching their falcon fly. He swooped over our heads and dove throughout the property. It was thrilling to watch! After we had a chance to meet a few other large birds including and owl and eagle.

The hour went by fast. We learned just enough without ever feeling bored. It was both informational and fun.

I would definitely recommend visiting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Great Side Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you want a little side trip for an hour or so, go here. Only a few minutes out of Jackson. That is if you are at all interested in Raptors. Eagles, Owls, Falcons. A nice little tour, where injured birds are cared for, and at some time (if possible) released back to the wild. You actually get to see up close, an owl, hawk, and golden eagle.Admission is charged. My wife and I went, just to see. Thinh about it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teton Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Teton Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teton Raptor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.