We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Wapiti, WY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park to your Saves list
Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   3324 Yellowstone Park Highway, Wapiti, WY 82414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wapiti
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Two nights in Wapiti, WY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a cabin at Yellowstone Valley Inn and found it to be very convenient to Cody and Yellowstone Park. The breakfast and dinners there were very good! After a day of sightseeing, we enjoyed sharing our adventures with other travelers in the lounge. Good base camp!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    19
    11
    17
See reviews for
59
46
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful scenery out every window, abundant wildlife, warm atmosphere that envokes the shyest of all to compete in karaoke, dancing and having a good ol time all night with that lively little social scene, and a super staff! We love it there!!! Can't wait to go back :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
You two were the life of the party and a joy to have around. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muncie, in
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here on Sept 20th and loved it. Everybody is very friendly. The cabin we stayed in was perfect. The room is big and the bathroom is too. The internet was fast. We had dinner there and it was very good. The waitress was very friendly and made sure everything was perfect. The free breakfast buffet was nice. I plan on staying here next time we head to Yellowstone. If you get a chance to stay here you should....you will love it too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We greatly appreciate it. Hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night only. The rooms were dirty. Realize out in country but should be dusted and vacuumed the day customers are arriving not the day someone leaves if going to be vacant a day or two. Not sure bed had clean sheets. All wrinkled. The double bed had queen size sheets on it .Sheets moved all over. Bathroom very small. Curtains didn't meet in the middle. One of the worst rooms we ever stayed in. The other couple we were with slept in their clothes. In fact the were tempted to sleep in the car. There room was worse than ours. The toilet seat in their room was all scratched up. None of us even showered. When we said something to the owner he seemed surprised by our comments. He didn't even say he was sorry that we were unhappy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I was very surprised when I talked to these folks as we've gotten excellent cleanliness reviews all summer and our head housekeeper Jim was standing right there and was him self surprised. after they departed he went immediately to both rooms and returned with a positive report. Yes the wooden toilet seat had a scratch but other than that was totally serviceable. My impression was these folks expected a 5 star facility for a 2 star price. Cody prices were ranging from $150-$325/ night. They said nothing about the beautiful views from their rooms and didn't stay to enjoy our all you can eat egg buffet breakfast. We make no excuses for our gravel settings as this is a high desert location and growing anything green here is my ongoing impossible dream. We sit on the old river bed. The up side is low humidity and no mosquitos along with our 360* mtn views and the beautiful Shoshone River right outside the hotel. As we've learned the last 8 yrs it's impossible to please everyone but we keep trying. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The so called cabins are rectangular wooden buildings with a thin wall and two tenents. You can hear everything on the other side. Our neighbor left a noisy bathroom fan on all night - shaking the whole building. The furnishings are on the par with the cheapest hotels. No table, no porch, no refrigerator, thin towels, and the shower faucet handle fell off when it was turned. The RV park and cabins are located on a gravel parking lot with not a bit of greenery. The views are good, but the property is fenced so you really can't walk around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Not sure what they expected as we post pictures of everything on our web site. I doubt the cheapest hotels have Denver mattress pillowtop beds, 95 channels of directv, coffee makers, hair dryers and air conditioners( we're 1 of only 2 in the entire 52 mi valley), free WIFI and the best egg buffet breakfast anywhere. Our cabins are superior to anything I've seen around Yellowstone Park at a comparable price and we continually monitor prices to insure we're one of the lowest. We are a seasonal business with about a 4 mo. season. We spend a large portion of our yrly cash flow improving the property. I do regret they had noisy neighbors as that's bad wherever you stay. I speak from experience. Last winter we spent 10s of thousands soundproofing our hotel with great results and the cabins are next. We will continue to offer clean comfortable rooms at a very low price with unmatched views, low humidity and no mosquitos. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked our stay at Yellowstone Valley Inn directly with the owner, Ron, who was very friendly and helpful as were all of the staff. He offered excellent travel advise for an enjoyable ride over the Big Horn Mts which included shortcuts that were easy to follow.
The Inn has a nice setting on the River and our 2nd floor room overlooked it. The room was rustic, very clean and was quite large.
The Hot breakfast which was included in the rate was buffet style and well prepared.
The internet connection was strong and easy to use.
We would definately return if in the area again.
The location allowed us a short drive to the east entrance to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words and be sure to come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great place to stay. Staff was excellent. Breakfast buffet was very good. Dinner menu was small but excellent. The ribeye steak was one of the best I've ever had. The room was big and comfortable. The views from the the inn were the best you'll ever have. Location to Yellowstone were as close as you'll find. Have a nice quite lounge for a drink after a long day's travel. Hat's off to YVI.

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony, looks out over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor56001, Owner at Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
thanks for the kind words. We're trying very hard to insure everyone has a good experience here in the wild west. Hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park

Address: 3324 Yellowstone Park Highway, Wapiti, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Wapiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wapiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
360 degree mountain views. high desert location means low humidity and few mosquitos during our summer season. World class trout fishing, river rafting, horse riding, hiking and site seeing. 30 minutes from Yellowstone's east gate and 20 minutes west of Cody, Wyoming.Heated pool, indoor hot tub, restaurant, saloon and public laundry. 35 rooms and 60 large, level RV sites. moderately priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Inn And Rv Park Hotel Wapiti
Yellowstone Valley Hotel
Yellowstone Valley Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.