We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains, trains and more trains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Torrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Torrington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Torrington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East Valley Road, PO Box 1153, Torrington, WY 82240-1153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torrington
Raleigh, NC, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trains, trains and more trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice motel with clean, spacious rooms. Good breakfast with an automatic pancake machine that turned out two pancakes at the push of a button. Motel has interior room access with an elevator. Motel had a manager's reception with free wine, beer and snacks in the late afternoon on weekdays. The only problem is the location. The trains were frequent (even at night), and each train had to blow its whistle because of a road crossing nearby. The train tracks are right across the street from the motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Traveler035;

Thank you for the comments on our hotel. Those nasty trains are a pain and I am sorry that they bothered you. We know that this is a problem and do try not to put anyone on that side, but if we are running full that is hard to do. Hopefully by the end of the year the crossing whistles will be installed and the trains will not blow the horn all the way through town. Thank you for staying with us and if you are ever in the area again, feel free to stay with us!!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
26
16
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped in for a night as we were roadtripping. The front desk staff were awesome-friendly, efficient, helpful (recommended local pizza restaurant for us since we prefer local, but there are lots of chain restaurants nearby). When we got to our room, it was spacious and clean, and even had a microwave and mini fridge and more than enough in-room coffee and tea. The pool area was nice but crazy with loud kids. The hot breakfast was perfect to get us going, and the woman maintaining the area was also very friendly and did a great job keeping the area clean and stocked. I know others have gone on about the train but I never woke up once! Neither did my hubs or our 5 year old. If we ever passed through this area again, we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
julesheartsuk;

I want to thank you for your kind words. I take great pride in our staff and this just confirms that I am right. Thank you for saying with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Mt
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice, new hotel on east end of town, not far from Pizza Hut and Burger King. Friendly check-in and recognition of my Platinum status with water and small treats. Had a 2-queen room, which had a round table and two chairs also. As walked in the door, there was a microwave, refrigerator and large, usable vanity area; this was separate from the toilet and shower. The train tracks, with coal trains blowing their whistles, was across the street ... the hotel acknowledged this by providing ear plugs in the rooms. Even with earplugs, the trains woke us up numerous times during the night; at least the last 2 hours were quiet. If the hotel has room, you'd want to request a room on the back side. Lobby area very spacious with 2 modern business computers. The breakfast area was a very nice, large, separate room. Breakfast was very good, standard HIX fare. Pizza Hut and other fast food nearby. Safe location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on side away from trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, Holiday Inn Express at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel. Those pesky trains are noisy and we don't like the noise either. I know that this does not help this visit the City of Torrington is installing crossing whistles and the train will no longer be blowing its whistle at every crossing. That will be installed hopefully by the end of the year. We take great pride in this hotel and want to thank you for staying with us. If you are ever in the area again we would love to see you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Holiday Inn was very nice and new development is nearby with some fast food options but we opted for local restaurant in downtown area recommended by hotel staff. The staff were very friendly, room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast included hot food and fresh fruit and pool looked very nice. This town is close to Guernsey where we visited the Oregon Trail Ruts and Fort Laramie on our way to Black Hills.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, Holiday Inn Express at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel Our staff is the best and take great pride in providing the best customer service anywhere. I am glad that you got to see some of the great history that is around this area. If you are ever this way again please stop and let us take care of you again. Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When visiting my Mom in Torrington, I typically stay at the Holiday Inn. My stays are at least a week and it's a comfortable and relaxing place to reside. The staff have been friendly and helpful, and the amenities like breakfast, pool and exercise room are appreciated. I do know to request a room on the quiet side!

Wayne, Seattle

Room Tip: Request a room on the north side away from train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, Holiday Inn Express at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I want to thank you for the wonderful review on our hotel. We take great pride in making sure our guest get the best room and service. We are hoping to resolve the noise issue by the end of the year, and hope that will be better for our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Holiday Inn was very nice. It looked brand new and the staff was very friendly. Our room was nice and spacious and once we found it, it was in a good location. We did have to call the front desk and ask where they were because our GPS kept telling us the building should be at McDonald's, but when we got there she explained that most people do have to call because for some reason GPS's think it is there. Trains do go by at all hours of the night, but they provide ear plugs for their guests. We also really enjoyed their hot breakfast while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, IHG Champion at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Britkansas, I want to thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. I am sorry about the trains, although this did not help you when you stayed, we are working on a plan to help alleviate the train noise in the future. We hope to see you back in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If your intent is to sleep, move on up the road & stay somewhere else. The train goes past every hotel on this street every 30 minutes for early evening then every 13-15 minutes all night. It blows the whistle 4 times each passing for the cross roads warning. We were 2 couples in separate rooms with the same experience--not one wink of sleep all night. Very nice hotel with a terrible location. I fail to understand how previous reviewers failed to mention the train.

Room Tip: Enjoy Torrington, but find sleep in another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy W, Holiday Inn Express Torrington at Holiday Inn Express Torrington, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Cheryl611, I am so sorry that the trains kept you up all night. We know that the train noise is a problem and we are working on a plan to alleviate the train noise in the near future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Torrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Torrington

Address: 1700 East Valley Road, PO Box 1153, Torrington, WY 82240-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Torrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Torrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Torrington, Wyoming , is ideally situated in order to make your trip to the Black Hill of South Dakota an enjoyable one. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY is located right off Highway 26, and is a comfortable drive away from Denver International Airport. There are numerous attractions near the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Torrington, WY such as Old Fort Laramie, Homesteaders Museum, Scottsbluff National Monument, Cottonwood Golf Course, plus some great places for hunting, fishing, and boating. Torrington is the home of the EWC Lancers. Eastern Wyoming College has many events throughout the year to enjoy while you are in town. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY has a comfortable lobby where you can sit and enjoy a book which are available in the lobby or visit with friends and family. We have a large parking lot to accommodate RVs and trailers with easy access. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY is a 100% non-smoking hotel with 67 rooms on two floors with an elevator. Every room comes equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, blow dryer, iron & ironing board and free high-speed Internet. Limited pet rooms. Must call hotel for availability on pet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Torrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Torrington Hotel Torrington
Holiday Inn Torrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Torrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.