We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for an overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Torrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Torrington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Torrington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East Valley Road, PO Box 1153, Torrington, WY 82240-1153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torrington
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel for an overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped here on our way back to Denver from the Black Hills as it is the half way point. The hotel was clean and updated and the staff were friendly. It is located across the street from the train as other reviewers mentioned, but the town is so small that I don't think it would matter much where you stay, you would still hear it throughout the night. It is likely the best hotel in town (I have not stayed in others to compare).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
26
16
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Request a room on the north side of the building!!! The train tracks and the main road are on the south side and you will hear the trains ALL night. You can still hear them from the north, do I can't imagine how loud they must be. The room was updated and had nice bedding, flat screen tv, fridge and microwave. No elevator. Breakfast was fine. There is a fitness room with a couple of treadmills, not bad. Didn't use the indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm a platinum member with Holiday inn, This is a nce hotel with an above average staff. But as several reviewers mentioned the trains are noisy. Do you remember the train scene in "My Cousin Vinny" ?. Not quite as bad but the results are the same. Unless you are a heavy sleeper, you will be awakened several times during the night. It's a shame because it's probably one of the nicer properties in Torrington and it's an above average Holiday Inn property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff, hotel and almost the rest would make this a nice hotel. Except you will need to love trains. The hotel is next to the railway and we stayed at the railway side. Every hour throughout the night a train will pass whisling the horn heavily. Fortunately there wete earplugs provided although it did not help me for at least 5 times that night. Your partner may make more noice......for me it was a bad bad bad night. Can't complain about the rest.

Room Tip: Take at least a room at the other side of the railway. That might help a bit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were traveling from Denver to Mount Rushmore and planned to stay overnight in Nebraska. Alas, we called the hotel in Nebraska where he had planned to stay after we drove through Cheyenne, Wyoming. The hotel was booked, it was dark out and we were in the middle of nowhere late at night. We were desperate and ready to settle for anything but we lucked out with this hotel. The room was immaculate, the beds were comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for more and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Prior to our stay we had never even heard of Torrington but now we will always think of Torrington, Wyoming with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Let me start with the trains. Yes the hotel sits across from a train crossing which is pretty busy 24/7. During my stay, I was only awaken by the train two different nights, other than that, it did not wake me up. My room was in front side of the hotel, closest to the tracks. If you get a room on the backside of the hotel, you will still be able to hear the trains, but it should not be nearly as noticeable. The hotel will provides ear plugs on the night stands, but I did not use them for fear of not hearing my alarm.
The hotel itself is clean and in decent shape for its age. It is not brand new, but it works, especially for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Was quite surprised at how nice this hotel was. Friendly staff, clean room for the most part, tables and lamps needed to be dusted. Bathroom was clean. Yes, it is right across from a train track that stays very busy 24/7. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Torrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Torrington

Address: 1700 East Valley Road, PO Box 1153, Torrington, WY 82240-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Torrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Torrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Torrington, Wyoming , is ideally situated in order to make your trip to the Black Hill of South Dakota an enjoyable one. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY is located right off Highway 26, and is a comfortable drive away from Denver International Airport. There are numerous attractions near the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Torrington, WY such as Old Fort Laramie, Homesteaders Museum, Scottsbluff National Monument, Cottonwood Golf Course, plus some great places for hunting, fishing, and boating. Torrington is the home of the EWC Lancers. Eastern Wyoming College has many events throughout the year to enjoy while you are in town. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY has a comfortable lobby where you can sit and enjoy a book which are available in the lobby or visit with friends and family. We have a large parking lot to accommodate RVs and trailers with easy access. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY is a 100% non-smoking hotel with 67 rooms on two floors with an elevator. Every room comes equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, blow dryer, iron & ironing board and free high-speed Internet. Limited pet rooms. Must call hotel for availability on pet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Torrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Torrington Hotel Torrington
Holiday Inn Torrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Torrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.